Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[FIX] Wifi + Bluetooth Error

OP nSavage

2nd June 2014, 06:10 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 4
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Background:
I recently bought an HTC One S for testing purposes & received it with the following specifications.
HTC ONE S[4] unlocked, s-off with cid -1111111 / stock tmobile / jelly bean
Unfortunately, it came with with the infamous wifi / bluetooth error.
At first I thought it was an hardware issue but after opening it up and examining it, I came to the conclusion that its software based and probably caused by a bad flash.
---
It took me about 2-3 days to fix this issue which included flashing ruu's, firmwares, hboots, recoveries, radios & infinite s-on / s-off / locked / unlocked / cid variations.


What is the Wifi + Bluetooth error?
When you try to turn on Wifi or Bluetooth from the settings, it just states that its turning on but then that quickly turns into "error".
Basically, your Wifi and/or Bluetooth are messed up and non-functional due to a bad flash.

The Fix
--- Step 1 ---
You need an all in one utility for the HTC One S - I used the following one,
[TOOL] HTC One S All-In-One Toolkit v4.0
You can download it by clicking [Link removed, I didn't know it wasn't allowed on XDA - Sorry, you will just have to do the steps manually via fastboot / cmd or find a kit on your own] It's pretty easy to do manually, just look for a fast boot tutorial, there are more than a few floating around.

--- Step 2 ---
I received the phone with supercid 111111 which I changed to stock T-MOB010 using the all in one tool and then flashed the proper carrier RUU for my cid (RUU_Ville_U_TMOUS_1.53.531.16_Radio_0.16.31501S.0 2 _10.18.31501S.08L_release_262073_signed.exe)

You will now need to flash the very first RUU available for your specific One S model / 1.53 is ideal, if you don't have access to that then maybe 1.78 might do the trick.

- Preparation -
(Important) You need: Locked bootloader, stock cid and the very first RUU.exe that was released for your device - In my 7 tests so far, the 1.53 ruu has always worked eventually. (read the 3rd post for an example on this)

Boot up into the bootloader by holding power + volume down.

You can lock the bootloader, change back to stock cid from the All in One tool while booted up in fastboot.

CID LIST + Help: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2139447

RUU's: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2200930

--- Step 3 ---

(Locked & Stock Cid)
Boot into fastboot, run the 1.53 (1.78?) RUU.exe

Success? Then go ahead and perform the next step in order!

--- Step 4 ---
power up the phone with an activated sim card with data.

during the initial set up, select use mobile data option instead of Wifi

Finish the set up using mobile data

power down the phone, remove sim

boot into recovery & clear cache
(power + volume down into bootloader
select recovery, let it fully go into recovery
in recovery press power+volume up
select clear cache from the drop down menu
Reboot)

Do not insert the sim back yet

--- Final Step: The Fix ---

Go into settings & hit the wifi on switch only once and leave it

Now, it will attempt to turn the wifi and it will either turn on or after a few attempts the phone will reboot...

If it does reboot on its own it will seem like it is stuck in a boot loop but don't panic - it's not.

It will do a few loops and then boot back into sense and your wifi will work.

------------

Hope it works for you and make sure you follow the steps exactly as I listed them because that is the variation that worked for me and six other devices with the same exact problem. This also fixed not having 4G / hspa on one of the devices but there are two extra steps needed to fix that issue.

From the research I collected, it seems this issue is caused by a specific ota update from tmobile that was released a while back.
Last edited by nSavage; 3rd June 2014 at 03:36 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to nSavage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd June 2014, 06:53 PM   |  #2  
dd98's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,471
 
1,365 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Just a friendly tip, your not allowed to use hasoon2000's toolkit for certain reasons (not sure why myself) but it was banned by xda moderators so you should probably remove it before you get reported
3rd June 2014, 03:23 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 4
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dd98

Just a friendly tip, your not allowed to use hasoon2000's toolkit for certain reasons (not sure why myself) but it was banned by xda moderators so you should probably remove it before you get reported


Thanks for the heads up, I will remove the download link. I was also wondering why there were no links on the official thread since it had so many hits. I've been using his kits with success since the sensation =\
3rd June 2014, 03:28 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 4
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Also, I fixed another wifi problem on another one s for someone. I followed with the same steps.

But, this time... After the very last few steps (flashing 1.54 ruu, etc...) once I finally turned the wifi on, it sent the phone into a boot loop for 45 minutes (usually its just 10-20 minutes max) it eventually fixed its self.

I think that the RUU + stock recovery in the initial release has a unique file check system that automatically runs when it encounters a crash on the first boot and just goes crazy until it gets done fixing all the abnormalities.

So, don't panic or give up if your phones just looping for a long time, just leave it plugged in for as long as you can. Specially after if it starts looping when you turn the wifi on for the very first time.
Last edited by nSavage; 3rd June 2014 at 03:40 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to nSavage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th September 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by nSavage

Background:

Hope it works for you and make sure you follow the steps exactly as I listed them because that is the variation that worked for me and six other devices with the same exact problem. This also fixed not having 4G / hspa on one of the devices but there are two extra steps needed to fix that issue.

From the research I collected, it seems this issue is caused by a specific ota update from tmobile that was released a while back.

Please, can you tell me which extra steps needed to fix 3g/4g issue? I only can connect 2g. Thanks.
10th October 2014, 11:45 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
I take place here, maybe i will test this theory soon.
I guess the devices can be s-off through this process, true?
edit:It was other problem, seems it's working.
Last edited by edge540T; 13th October 2014 at 01:33 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bluetooth fix, htc one s, stuck on 2g, wifi error
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes