Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] stock contacts: multiple linked google accounts in "Myself"

OP LordHelmchen138

18th June 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Greetings!

The "Myself" entry in my contacts has tons (could be around 20) links to the same google account (which is the only google account on the phone). This, appart from being unnecessary, slows editing the entry down to almost force-closing. Does anyone have an idea how to remove the duplicates?
Stock xperia 4.4 contacts app, in case it matters... Will gladly provide more details if you tell me what you need to know
20th June 2014, 03:32 AM   |  #2  
Xaeons's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manila, PH
Thanks Meter: 31
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordHelmchen138

Greetings!

The "Myself" entry in my contacts has tons (could be around 20) links to the same google account (which is the only google account on the phone). This, appart from being unnecessary, slows editing the entry down to almost force-closing. Does anyone have an idea how to remove the duplicates?
Stock xperia 4.4 contacts app, in case it matters... Will gladly provide more details if you tell me what you need to know

You can merge contacts through your browser and google.com/contacts. Or you can download an app in the play store to merge the contacts (like Contact+) Personally, I prefer the former as it gives me more options to select the difference between multiple duplicate contacts and either discard or merge them. Or you can merge them in bulk without checking.
20th June 2014, 10:19 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
I'm sorry, but you seem to have misunderstood my situation. This is not multiplie contacts, but multiple associated google accounts to the same contact:
In the contacts, there's the "Myself" entry. This looks normal on first sight, but when I go to edit it, there's one tab with the contacs information that is stored on the phone, and then there is tabs with the gmail address. The problem is that there's not one, but (I recounted) more like a hundred of them, all with the same info (mail address and name). There's a button to "Unlink contact", but apparently there being so many of them, using the button and clicking "Done" is too much work for the contacts app (not responding, I gave up after "wait"ing four times).

Going through google.com/contacts does not help, as I have moved all contacts to phone storage.
Contacts Optimizer does not detect the duplicate tabs, probably because they're not seperate contacts.
I will try contacts+ as per your reccomendation, though.

EDIT: nope, contacts+ dos not even display the "Myself" entry, so no chance to edit it through that one.
Last edited by LordHelmchen138; 20th June 2014 at 10:35 AM.
18th October 2014, 07:07 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Hi,

I'm not sure if you have already solved your problem or not, but if you haven't, clearing the data of Contacts Storage (Settings->Apps->All->Contacts Storage->Clear Data) did the trick for me.
However, if you have any other contacts that aren't linked to your Google Account, please remember to back up your contacts first! (I think the links wouldn't be backed up so your problem should not come back)

I am also using Xperia Z1 Compact. I had the same problem as well and I have been searching around until I found this thread...didn't think I'd run into someone who has exactly the same problem, not to mention the same phone model!

I hope this solves your problem, if you haven't figured this out yet, of course.
Last edited by AbandonPhuwan; 18th October 2014 at 07:12 AM. Reason: Reformatting paragraphs to be easier to read
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
contacts, duplicate accounts, gmail
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes