Post Reply

Easy guide to root your tablet and keep your warranty

OP Stirius

22nd September 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #41  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 179
 
768 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
But this is a very old firmware version. You should flash the most recent one.
23rd September 2014, 10:48 AM   |  #42  
temka's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 14
 
211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hasenbein1966

But this is a very old firmware version. You should flash the most recent one.

You're right, I got confused by the numbers. Interestingly my tablet never alerted me about software updates. Device bought in Singapore, currently lives in UK

UPD: flashed latest firmware, rooted, all worked like charm.
Last edited by temka; 24th September 2014 at 01:24 AM.
25th September 2014, 09:30 AM   |  #43  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by guhvanoh

When I updated my Z2 fone to the 314 rom, I needed to reroot. My /system couldn't be mounted rw. I tried multiple ways to remount it rw and none worked. Installing XZDualRecovery solved my problem. No wipe was necessary, nor was one performed. No data was lost either.


HTH

Sent from my SGP311 using XDA Free mobile app

Finally, my device is now fully rooted after Installing XZDualRecovery! Thanks
25th September 2014, 06:12 PM   |  #44  
Junior Member
Flag Portland, OR
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Can I Still get OTA's?
I'm receiving my Tablet Z2 in the mail today and I am excited to be able to have root access without losing warranty. With Root access via the steps outlined in the OP, will I still be able to get OTA updates? If I want to upgrade to the latest version, am I good to go or do I need to unroot and restore to factory, do the OTA and then re-root?

Thanks for your time!
2nd October 2014, 03:34 AM   |  #45  
Senior Member
Flag Albuquerque
Thanks Meter: 7
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Followed the OP's steps and everything worked great, thanks!

Problem is I can't figure out how the hell to move apps to my SD card now. I know this functionality was limited in Kit Kat but I thought being rooted would allow me to get around that. Really annoying since I have 32GB just waiting to hold all my apps and data.
2nd October 2014, 08:44 AM   |  #46  
kulvertti's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kernodle

Followed the OP's steps and everything worked great, thanks!

Problem is I can't figure out how the hell to move apps to my SD card now. I know this functionality was limited in Kit Kat but I thought being rooted would allow me to get around that. Really annoying since I have 32GB just waiting to hold all my apps and data.

For that I use app called FolderMount.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...evasque.fmount
The Following User Says Thank You to kulvertti For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th October 2014, 11:15 AM   |  #47  
myeepad's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam_rl

1. Charged up tablet
2. enable usb debugging
3. enable install unknown apps
4. downloaded easy root
5. connected tablet
6. run easy root
7. reboot
8. install super su
9, install busybox
10. install root check

check root? yes!

THANK YOU!!!

Followed OP's link and steps as outlined here, it worked like a charm in my SGP512 and I have restored all my installed apps from Titanium Backup. Thank you folks.
13th October 2014, 01:10 AM   |  #48  
blaze82's Avatar
Member
Flag new aiyansh
Thanks Meter: 24
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
I keep getting this message when I restart the tablet
"unfortunately the process android.process.acore has stopped"
And not sure at which step it happend as I did each step one after the other. I'm thinking it was the sdfix but not sure, any advice would be much appreciated
16th October 2014, 11:25 AM   |  #49  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,124
 
7,350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Verified working on build 17.1.2.A.0.314

Just some tips.
1) Copy towelroot apk first to the folder.
2) Set display timeout to 5 minutes max
3) Verify ADB works by typing adb devices in the CMD window. Don't forget to confirm on the tablet
4) Make sure you confirm (on the tablet) when running the bat file (probably will ask you a couple of times.
5) Run the bat file 2 or 3 times until it finishes properly (I had to do this 3 times)
6) Make sure you install SuperSU from market. Reboot if needed
7) I used root explorer to set the /system to RW.
8) SuperSU should update binary when you open it.
18th October 2014, 10:12 PM   |  #50  
Junior Member
San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
My personal experience with Sony support suggests they have a tool which detects changes to the OS after a restore. I restored my system after root and still couldn't get service. Please correct me if I am mistaken if this tool does something dual recovery tool does not. Beware if sending in for RMA.

Sent from my SGP511 using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z2 Tablet General by ThreadRank