Post Reply

[Q] Must cycle Airplane mode between texts

OP mdphoenix

23rd September 2014, 05:31 AM   |  #131  
Senior Member
Fayetteville, NC
Thanks Meter: 151
 
418 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
idk if this has been suggested yet, I kinda jumped in at the end, but has anyone tried loading the stock hboot and recovery, then doing a factory reset? Using this method I was able to fix a problem I had with not being able to connect to 4G. I was kinda stuck in 1x. Also when I was on lte, it was good till I sent an sms. Send one, ok. send two, no sim/unknown sim. I actually RUU'd and still had the problem. But after a stock factory reset from stock hboot, I have no issues. IIRC the stock reset wipes data and updates NV. Currently on Viper and loving it. If this does not pertain to this issue, then I appologize for wasting your time. But what do you have to lose? You never know if you haven't tried.

--X
23rd September 2014, 02:29 PM   |  #132  
mdphoenix's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bel Air, MD
Thanks Meter: 9
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by I.M.famous XMAN

idk if this has been suggested yet, I kinda jumped in at the end, but has anyone tried loading the stock hboot and recovery, then doing a factory reset? Using this method I was able to fix a problem I had with not being able to connect to 4G. I was kinda stuck in 1x. Also when I was on lte, it was good till I sent an sms. Send one, ok. send two, no sim/unknown sim. I actually RUU'd and still had the problem. But after a stock factory reset from stock hboot, I have no issues. IIRC the stock reset wipes data and updates NV. Currently on Viper and loving it. If this does not pertain to this issue, then I appologize for wasting your time. But what do you have to lose? You never know if you haven't tried.

--X

Before I go through all of this, does the fact that a stock root ROM works just fine affect this suggestion at all?

I'll try it. But my limited knowledge about the back end of all this makes me ask a lot of questions.

I can restore my NAND backup right now and I'll be back to having working SMS. Which wouldn't be bad if I could have tethering, too.
23rd September 2014, 05:30 PM   |  #133  
mdphoenix's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bel Air, MD
Thanks Meter: 9
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

Ruu isn't necessary.
But you have the rest correct.
I would just flash my stock odexed rooted Rom and stock recovery.
Then do a reset from settings.
Back everything up first to a pc that you want saved.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

So, I've just done this again. Texting works. Tethering obviously does not, yet.

What's the next suggested step? Do I flash a new recovery? If so, which one?

After that, a new ROM?
23rd September 2014, 05:31 PM   |  #134  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 9,047
 
6,574 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdphoenix

So, I've just done this again. Texting works. Tethering obviously does not, yet.

What's the next suggested step? Do I flash a new recovery? If so, which one?

After that, a new ROM?

Yes, flash recovery and Rom of choice.
23rd September 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #135  
mdphoenix's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bel Air, MD
Thanks Meter: 9
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

Yes, flash recovery and Rom of choice.

It didn't work.
23rd September 2014, 07:33 PM   |  #136  
mdphoenix's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bel Air, MD
Thanks Meter: 9
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdphoenix

It didn't work.

Is there a way to send SMS over Data? Or some other avenue? Maybe that could be a workaround?
23rd September 2014, 09:56 PM   |  #137  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Frying the SIM and dealing without 4g is the only way so far that I found... *228 opt1.
I think this is an issue of sms being incorrectly routed to the 4g network. I wonder if turning data off in the settings if sms would then go through. Obviously mms has to use data so that would not work there until data is turned back on.
24th September 2014, 12:53 PM   |  #138  
mdphoenix's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bel Air, MD
Thanks Meter: 9
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KohanTech

Frying the SIM and dealing without 4g is the only way so far that I found... *228 opt1.
I think this is an issue of sms being incorrectly routed to the 4g network. I wonder if turning data off in the settings if sms would then go through. Obviously mms has to use data so that would not work there until data is turned back on.

I went back to 4.1 It works beautifully.

I have SMS
I have tethering
I even have Google Now

I wish the quick settings menu was available at the top, but such is life.
Today, 04:51 AM   |  #139  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Message Not Sent
Here is my $.02

I had this same problem of not being able to send more than one text without cycling thru airplane mode or rebooting. Send one text: fine. Send a second text would fail "message not sent". I was running EOS 4.4.x when it happened. I tried full wiping/clean installing several other 4.4 roms including CM and MoKee. I also tried flashing some different 4.4 kernels. Nothing seemed to help. I still had the "message not sent" error on my second text. I did not have any 3G/4G issues. Finally I flashed this radio and sense ROM and my sms problem was solved:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2560010

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2698088

Finally, my texts would go through, one after the other with no problem. However, I discovered that my MMS group texts were not going to all recipients. So I figured I would try to flash back to an ASOP ROM and see if the problem would come back. I did a clean/ full-wipe install of the current 4.4 MoKee and my SMS problem came right back. Now I only can send one text at a time, then must cycle airplane mode or reboot.

The funny thing is that I was running the same ASOP rom for EOS for a couple months before the problem started. And if I put my sim card in my old stock Galaxy S3, I have no texting problems at all.

I'm currently restoring back to my backup of the sense rom. Hopefully sms problem will not came back. Problem is that I hate sense, and I love the clean ASOP android.

Thoughts?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
airplane, cycle, sms, text
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes