Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

"Failed to create the account" ActiveSync error

OP ek001

11th June 2014, 05:32 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Trying to set up HTC One M8 (Verizon) with my corporate ActiveSync account and having a miserable time.

1. I go to Settings-> Accounts & Sync -> + -> "Exchange ActiveSync" -> Manual Setup
2. I enter all my settings and credentials (see Screen1)
3. The device checks my credentials with the server (I see it in the server logs) and presents me with Screen 2. I click Next.
4. I type a name of my ActiveSync account and click "Finish Setup". This is when I typically get a prompt that I need to allow this device to be controlled by ActiveSync policy, etc (on other devices).
5. I get an error "Failed to create the account. Please try again later" (see Screen 4).

Exchange server logs indicate that the provisioning is not occurring (Code 142 stands for "DeviceNotProvisioned").

RequestBody :
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<Settings xmlns="Settings:">
<DeviceInformation>
<Set>
<Model>HTC6525LVW</Model>
<OS>Android 4.4.2</OS>
<FriendlyName>HTC6525LVW</FriendlyName>
<IMEI>************8858</IMEI>
<PhoneNumber>Not Available</PhoneNumber>
</Set>
</DeviceInformation>
</Settings>

AccessState :
Blocked

AccessStateReason :
Policy

ResponseHeader :
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
MS-Server-ActiveSync: 15.0


ResponseBody :
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<Settings xmlns="Settings:">
<Status>142</Status>
</Settings>

ResponseTime :
06/10/2014 22:08:48

A few more pieces of info:

* I have a Nexus 10 tablet running 4.4.3, an Asus P1801 tablet running 4.2.1 and a Moto X phone running 4.4.2 - all devices work perfectly with the same settings/credentials.
* We have both Exchange 2013 and Exchange 2007 servers and I tried using an account on both - getting the same error.
* Our default Exchange policy requires device encryption, but I created several test policies that do not require either passwords or encryption - getting the same error.
* Our ActiveSync policies allow non-provisionable devices.
* I am using client certificates (issued by a private corporate CA) for ActiveSync authentication.


I tried to call Verizon and HTC - both support organizations are clueless. I cant even see email debug logs on the device because HTC's proprietary email client does support enabling debugging (via using d@d.d username).

Please help. I really like this phone, but without ActiveSync email support its as good as a doorstop to me, so I will have to return it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen1.JPG
Views:	202
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	2791844   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen2.JPG
Views:	173
Size:	41.8 KB
ID:	2791845   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen3.JPG
Views:	153
Size:	29.7 KB
ID:	2791846   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen4.JPG
Views:	171
Size:	31.3 KB
ID:	2791847  
11th June 2014, 04:53 PM   |  #2  
GermanGuy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 118
 
1,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
More
try to put in "master" for domain (without the "")
11th June 2014, 06:41 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanGuy

try to put in "master" for domain (without the "")

I tried what you suggested and could not even get past Screen 2 (where I type in my credentials). I get an error "Authentication failed. Please verify username and/or password.

This makes sense because my ActiveDirectory domain name is different.
Last edited by ek001; 11th June 2014 at 06:44 PM.
21st October 2014, 11:21 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Hi,
I've updated my firmware today to enable the new HTC software, the mail app has been updated to 8.1.810518 and you can now proceed past this error.
It warns you that policies will need to be applied to the Exchange server, however I had this working on my HTC One M7, I'm an Exchange Domain Admin and I can now bin off that bloody aweful Airwatch client

Regards,
Jim
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes