Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOW TO] [ROOT] [APK] Root for NC5 OTA (All Kitkat devices) without PC!!!

OP npjohnson

14th October 2014, 11:15 PM   |  #251  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
Are any of these methods working on the new NG6 update? Tried the "normal method" and it didn't work.
14th October 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #252  
Nergal di Cuthah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by asalkowskineo

Are any of these methods working on the new NG6 update? Tried the "normal method" and it didn't work.

Highly unlikely
17th October 2014, 05:54 PM   |  #253  
OP Senior Member
Flag St. Augustine, FL
Thanks Meter: 123
 
217 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by asalkowskineo

Are any of these methods working on the new NG6 update? Tried the "normal method" and it didn't work.

Check the general forum, it has a method that flashes the NC5 kernel, roots, then flashes the NG6 kernel.
21st October 2014, 08:22 AM   |  #254  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzman54

Download this zip file (same one linked in the OP of this thread) to your device and unzip it. All you will need is the framework-res.apk file inside. Use a root file explorer to copy the unzipped framework-res.apk file to /system/. Change the permissions on the framework-res.apk file to rw-r--r-- (644). Now copy this same framework-res.apk file from /system/ to /system/framework/. Reboot and you'll have tethering.

why is it that i used this same zip file in safestrap and it DID NOT enable tethering........ ?

any idea?

should I do it manually?
21st October 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #255  
OP Senior Member
Flag St. Augustine, FL
Thanks Meter: 123
 
217 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidus636

why is it that i used this same zip file in safestrap and it DID NOT enable tethering........ ?

any idea?

should I do it manually?

Permission error probably. Just do it manually.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes