MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Is it possible to remove verizon by flashing HTCDev RUU

OP mukeshd

18th May 2014, 07:37 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I have purchased Verizon HTC One M8(Carrier unlocked) from eBay. And I found following
1. Lot of Verizon bloatware crap installed.
2. Lots of stock apps like FM Radio, Broswer etc not installed.
3. Cant find any file explorer to delete files from external SD card.
3. In software updates section I see msg : "Software Update only work in CDMA Mode" which really pisses me off.

Is it possible to flash international RUU from HTCDev and convert my phone into International version(HTC-WWE) so that
1. I get all stock apps
2. No bloatware from Carrier including stupid boot animation.
3. Direct updates from HTC
Last edited by mukeshd; 18th May 2014 at 08:13 AM.
18th May 2014, 02:01 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Oklahoma City
Thanks Meter: 142
 
790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
You could just s-off, root, remove all the bloat, and install everything that's missing.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
24th May 2014, 11:58 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jova33

You could just s-off, root, remove all the bloat, and install everything that's missing.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

umm...but what about the updates?
I would like to have updates from HTC for some time at least.
25th May 2014, 02:50 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Not possible. Not now anyway.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
27th May 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #5  
mashk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nairobi
Thanks Meter: 30
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mukeshd

umm...but what about the updates?
I would like to have updates from HTC for some time at least.

Just root and install custom ROMS.
23rd October 2014, 10:24 AM   |  #6  
DSF's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
815 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
any updates?
i got also the verizon version and have the same problem as the OP.
Any solution for a conversion to "international one" so I can use GPE with OTA and receive official unbranded HTC updates?
I live in Europe.
23rd October 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
More
Is there an international cdma?I think the problem you will run into is not having a gsm radio. There is no official gpe for cdma, so flashing custom roms might be your only choice
23rd October 2014, 06:34 PM   |  #8  
DSF's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
815 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
the verizon variant supports gsm network too (data works too, GSM/UMTS.. without LTE i think)... the problem are the updates, lack of features and bloatware, as the OP already stated.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes