FORUMS

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] Is it possible to remove verizon by flashing HTCDev RUU

27 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By mukeshd, Junior Member on 18th May 2014, 06:37 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have purchased Verizon HTC One M8(Carrier unlocked) from eBay. And I found following
1. Lot of Verizon bloatware crap installed.
2. Lots of stock apps like FM Radio, Broswer etc not installed.
3. Cant find any file explorer to delete files from external SD card.
3. In software updates section I see msg : "Software Update only work in CDMA Mode" which really pisses me off.

Is it possible to flash international RUU from HTCDev and convert my phone into International version(HTC-WWE) so that
1. I get all stock apps
2. No bloatware from Carrier including stupid boot animation.
3. Direct updates from HTC
Last edited by mukeshd; 18th May 2014 at 07:13 AM.
 
 
18th May 2014, 01:01 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Oklahoma City
Thanks Meter: 146
 
More
You could just s-off, root, remove all the bloat, and install everything that's missing.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
24th May 2014, 10:58 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jova33

You could just s-off, root, remove all the bloat, and install everything that's missing.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

umm...but what about the updates?
I would like to have updates from HTC for some time at least.
25th May 2014, 01:50 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
Not possible. Not now anyway.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
27th May 2014, 02:08 PM |#5  
mashk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nairobi
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mukeshd

umm...but what about the updates?
I would like to have updates from HTC for some time at least.

Just root and install custom ROMS.
23rd October 2014, 09:24 AM |#6  
DSF's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
any updates?
i got also the verizon version and have the same problem as the OP.
Any solution for a conversion to "international one" so I can use GPE with OTA and receive official unbranded HTC updates?
I live in Europe.
23rd October 2014, 04:57 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Is there an international cdma?I think the problem you will run into is not having a gsm radio. There is no official gpe for cdma, so flashing custom roms might be your only choice
23rd October 2014, 05:34 PM |#8  
DSF's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
the verizon variant supports gsm network too (data works too, GSM/UMTS.. without LTE i think)... the problem are the updates, lack of features and bloatware, as the OP already stated.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes