Post Reply

Verizon now charging $300 for non 0/0 que

OP richsapf

10th April 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #1  
richsapf's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
I looked for a similar thread.

I am swapping out my Droid 4 today, sd card reader died. and one of the FIRST questions from TechII was "Have you rooted your device?"....."You will be charged $300 if your que is not 0/0. You will have "voided warranty" Thankfully I had not.
Then she went on to say they used to just let it go but as of 2013 they starting cracking down...

Just an FYI...
Rich
10th April 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #2  
bofis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by richsapf

I looked for a similar thread.

I am swapping out my Droid 4 today, sd card reader died. and one of the FIRST questions from TechII was "Have you rooted your device?"....."You will be charged $300 if your que is not 0/0. You will have "voided warranty" Thankfully I had not.
Then she went on to say they used to just let it go but as of 2013 they starting cracking down...

Just an FYI...
Rich

Does the Droid 4 even keep track of that? Whenever I FRUed my phone I'd always SBF it back to stock, which unrooted it and reverted it back to day 1...I wasn't aware there was anywhere that they could check to see if it had ever been rooted at that point?
10th April 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #3  
richsapf's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bofis

Does the Droid 4 even keep track of that? Whenever I FRUed my phone I'd always SBF it back to stock, which unrooted it and reverted it back to day 1...I wasn't aware there was anywhere that they could check to see if it had ever been rooted at that point?

Yeah, It is in the Recovery Menu(blue list) look towards the bottom. It's yellow and is supposedly coded in the firmware(beyond my scope), supposedly not hackable(?) but it reads as follows:

que 0/0... that means no root & never rooted

que 0/1 ...." " no current root but was rooted at one point.

que 0/2........"....." " " " twice..etc..

que 1/1....means phone is currently rooted.

Anything except the 1st que 0/0 will cost $300. According to Verizon TechII 4/10/14.
The Following User Says Thank You to richsapf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th April 2014, 08:59 PM   |  #4  
bofis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Lame! At that point, just seek out a refurbished Droid 4 on eBay or elsewhere for less and don't deal with Verizon's equally refurbished replacements.
The Following User Says Thank You to bofis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2014, 04:26 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Santa Cruz
Thanks Meter: 11
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Couldn't one just claim ignorance? "My *what* isn't 0/0? I don't know what that is, I bought this phone from a friend" etc.

Or would they just use the fact that the que is not 0/0 to deny a FRU? My earpiece speaker died recently and, needless to say, my phone has been rooted many times... I went to the VZW store and was informed that because the D4 is an older model, they can't guarantee another one (even with my TEP insurance) because there simply might not be any left in the warehouse. I'm gonna try fixing the speaker myself, replacement part is on the way...
19th October 2014, 04:57 AM   |  #6  
richsapf's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Hi Khiraji
I know its been 6 months since last post about fixing your speaker on your D4, but did that ever work? Amazing, working on hardware on smartphones now is becoming more popular, very cool even attempting it. I just went from a D2-D3-D4,, and now I have a LG G3(Sorry D5, I waited)..MAN am I happy!!.. Thought I would hate a non hard slideout-keyboard but not with a 5.5" screen. I am now phasing out my laptop. G3 has slide-able split screen..Phone connection is crisp, loud.

If the root counter on the D4 is in recovery menu as "que=0/0" , would be in a similar fashion on other phones?
24th October 2014, 08:05 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Santa Cruz
Thanks Meter: 11
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by richsapf

Hi Khiraji
I know its been 6 months since last post about fixing your speaker on your D4, but did that ever work? Amazing, working on hardware on smartphones now is becoming more popular, very cool even attempting it. I just went from a D2-D3-D4,, and now I have a LG G3(Sorry D5, I waited)..MAN am I happy!!.. Thought I would hate a non hard slideout-keyboard but not with a 5.5" screen. I am now phasing out my laptop. G3 has slide-able split screen..Phone connection is crisp, loud.

If the root counter on the D4 is in recovery menu as "que=0/0" , would be in a similar fashion on other phones?

It worked for about a week, then the buzz came right back
This was with 3 separate replacement speaker units - I tore my phone apart 3 times, and I was getting pretty good at it before I finally just gave up, SBF'd back to stock, and went to the VZW store hat in hand. I talked to a higher-up at the store, and it turns out VZW has a huge stash (almost 8k units as of July) of D4s for exactly this situation. They overnighted me a CLNR phone and only in the past week has the goram buzz started up again...

I think the writing is finally on the wall for my D4. I went back into the store today to look at the latest offerings and the Droid Maxx is pretty sweet. With the Droid Turbo launching in a few weeks (which has a HUGE battery, updated specs), D4 might finally be getting retired. My upgrade is up in February, so maybe she'll hold out until then. Quite sad, really... I wanted a D5 so badly, because the keyboard form factor RULES and is superior to touchscreens in every way, but looks like that won't ever happen =/
24th October 2014, 06:14 PM   |  #8  
Recognized Developer
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 255
 
813 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Wow, earlier this year I had my D4 replaced (under insurance) because the accelerometer was dead. The first replacement they sent me, the phone wouldn't detect the SIM card. Sent it back, waited, they said they had no more D4s in stock. A couple days later they sent me another D4, last one available at the time. It has a flaky /? key on the keyboard, doesn't work most of the time. I would have sent it back again as well, but sometimes if you hit it repeatedly it eventually works, and I didn't want to give up and switch to some other phone.
Yesterday, 11:49 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Santa Cruz
Thanks Meter: 11
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
I've spent many days pondering the future of my D4, and the writing on the wall is becoming clearer... for me, an upgrade is coming sooner than later. The Droid Turbo is looking quite sweet indeed and while I will forever mourn the loss of my keyboard, one must adapt to survive sometimes. I know I'll hate it for the first couple of weeks, but if the Turbo turns out to be as fast as my friend's HTC One M8 then it'll be dang close to a physical keyboard in landscape mode.

Oh well. It sucks.
Today, 01:54 AM   |  #10  
richsapf's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
I've had my g3 for over a week now and love it. I just did not use my physical keyboard on my D4 for the last couple weeks I had it to get use to not having them. Now with a 5.5" screen there is lots of space to type on the screen.
Everything is so much faster and smoother, it was way worth it for me.
I still can't find the secret menu code dial #. I have tried a few but doesn't work. Getting ready I'm getting ready to ioroot.

Rich

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes