Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more

Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more
Post Reply

[Q] Cant get Vanir 4.4.2 working S7710 xcover2

OP BallStone

21st July 2014, 11:25 AM   |  #31  
5n00p3r's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BallStone

Did u flash skomer test2 cwm what is in the main thread or 6.0.4.7 from other source?

Yes, I flashed the skomer test2 cwm from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2689519
18th August 2014, 09:17 PM   |  #32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Have had the same issue for a few days now, I flashed the phone with an older Factory ROM I had, XXAMB6, then wiped and reflashed CM via CWM...et VOILA!! I now have baseband and IMEI working fine, seems stable so far
11th September 2014, 11:00 AM   |  #33  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
I can confirm that flashing the XXAMB6 modem will work. Because all the warnings I read everyhwhere I didn't try this with XXAND2.

-First I flashed CWM to the phone, reinstalled CWM to the Vanir suggested CWM.
-Next rooted the phone with SuperSU.
-I flashed the S7710XXAMB6_S7710OXXAMB2_NEE (from sammobile.com) image to the phone usin ODIN.
-Booted to recovery, wiped all userdata and then dalvik cache
-Flash the newest vanir (4.4.4.090814)
-Installed the pa_gapps pack
-And then again reinstalled SuperSU from zip

There are steps that are redundant, but since I am a newbie on Android, I just write this to help others.

I would post this to Vanir main thread, but because I just joined I cannot.

-Niko
The Following User Says Thank You to KoalaNalle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2014, 08:32 AM   |  #34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoalaNalle

I can confirm that flashing the XXAMB6 modem will work. Because all the warnings I read everyhwhere I didn't try this with XXAND2.

-First I flashed CWM to the phone, reinstalled CWM to the Vanir suggested CWM.
-Next rooted the phone with SuperSU.
-I flashed the S7710XXAMB6_S7710OXXAMB2_NEE (from sammobile.com) image to the phone usin ODIN.
-Booted to recovery, wiped all userdata and then dalvik cache
-Flash the newest vanir (4.4.4.090814)
-Installed the pa_gapps pack
-And then again reinstalled SuperSU from zip

There are steps that are redundant, but since I am a newbie on Android, I just write this to help others.

I would post this to Vanir main thread, but because I just joined I cannot.

-Niko

I have the same problem with Vanir. Phone says "No service. Emergency calls only", but it still recognize what is my operator (DNA). Last night on home I tried manually search networks, phone find DNA but says something about "canīt connect on this time, try again later". Today morning on home phone did not find that DNA network at, and on workplace it did not find any networks.

Now I flash everything like that guide above. Network connect is good with S7710XXAMB6_S7710OXXAMB2_NEE rom, but now with Vanir same thing, "No service. Emergency calls only". I think my phone with Vanir not "listen" the antenna on full power or something about that.
17th September 2014, 11:51 AM   |  #35  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henkar

I have the same problem with Vanir. Phone says "No service. Emergency calls only", but it still recognize what is my operator (DNA). Last night on home I tried manually search networks, phone find DNA but says something about "canīt connect on this time, try again later". Today morning on home phone did not find that DNA network at, and on workplace it did not find any networks.

Now I flash everything like that guide above. Network connect is good with S7710XXAMB6_S7710OXXAMB2_NEE rom, but now with Vanir same thing, "No service. Emergency calls only". I think my phone with Vanir not "listen" the antenna on full power or something about that.

Is there any help on my problem? Now I'am tried about 8 times flash the Vanir, sometimes I'am flashed first older rom sometimes tried csc-change. Nothing seems to help. Always samething "no service", some places it seems to find networks but cant connect. With original rom there is right service everywhere with 3G.
26th October 2014, 02:53 PM   |  #36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BallStone

Holy cow! I did it.
I got everything working exept baseband it says now xxxx but that doesnt bother me cause i can now make phone calls and messages.
Dont know about how right my method was but it worked, i copied efs folder and modemfs folder from stock rom to my ext sdcard and flashed vanir then with root browser i deleted everything from those folders and replaced with copies i made... sounds weird but im happy

I tried that, too, but to avail: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0&postcount=13

Quote:
Originally Posted by KoalaNalle

I can confirm that flashing the XXAMB6 modem will work. Because all the warnings I read everyhwhere I didn't try this with XXAND2.

So all I need to do is downgrade the modem firmware? I thought that is what stored is in /modemfs/ and by copying it from stock we're back in business? Or is the more recent firmware incompatible with current KitKat and only older firmwares have something that works on KitKat??
Last edited by cymophobic; 26th October 2014 at 03:06 PM.
26th October 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #37  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Solved it: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=977

Mind this: My stock modem is a XXAND2 but I had to downgrade to XXAMB6

1. Apply ODEX XXAMB6 (not! XXAND2) according to @TheBoegl root guide
2. Reboot to ODEX
3. Apply ODEX 20140112_cwm-6.0.4.6_skomer_fixed.tar.md5
4. Reboot to CWM
5. Apply cwm_skomer_test2.zip (CWM 6.0.4.7)
6. Reboot to CWM
7. Apply vanir_skomer_4.4.4.101714.zip + pa_gapps-modular-pico-4.4.4-20141019-signed.zip

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank