FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] S5 shows error in recovery when wipe cache partition

265 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By asjdwf, Senior Member on 26th June 2014, 02:43 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Just as the heading says when I try to wipe cache partition in the menu after doing the hold the volume button up + home + power I get an error message. Is this normal? I used to do this with my S3 and never got an error message. This is a semi-new phone to me.

Thank you in advance,

AJ
 
 
29th October 2014, 04:51 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Arrow Same problem
Is there anyone that could answer this question? I have exactly the same problem. I wipe the cache in recovery mode and below the Android dude it says "error." Any thoughts?
Thanks in advance!
29th October 2014, 05:39 PM |#3  
Quote:
Originally Posted by asjdwf

Just as the heading says when I try to wipe cache partition in the menu after doing the hold the volume button up + home + power I get an error message. Is this normal? I used to do this with my S3 and never got an error message. This is a semi-new phone to me.

Thank you in advance,

AJ

Why are you wiping cache in the stock recovery? ??

"And on that bombshell it's time to end the show!"
Sent from my VisionX powered G900A Rockin Blue XKRome
The Following User Says Thank You to s7freak For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift s7freak Ad-Free
29th October 2014, 07:05 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Why not? There are numerous places on the Web that recommend doing this. Also, why resurrect my post since it's so old? Are you being a jerk on purpose or ais that just who you are?
29th October 2014, 07:55 PM |#5  
gregsarg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag B.F.E.
Thanks Meter: 4,056
 
More
He may have been under the impression you were using safestrap recovery on your device..
In which case....using the stock recovery could cause issues and/or error messages....

And so you know...anytime you enter stock recovery on this locked bootloader device...the warning triangle appears...but the wipe can still be performed...

If the stock recovery won't allow the wipe....then a closer look may be needed....(did you purchase the device new or used)...and if used then it may have been altered prior...

S5 is no jerk....rather...he's one of the most helpful users we have in this section...

So I'm sure he was attempting to help given the lack of responses in the thread...

I'd tell him "thank you".....for taking the time....and then place a "solved" in your thread title if the issue has been resolved ....g
The Following User Says Thank You to gregsarg For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gregsarg Ad-Free
29th October 2014, 08:51 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
You know what I thought about that after I posted my snarky comment. . I apologize..... Not the best. Week.

AJ
The Following User Says Thank You to asjdwf For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift asjdwf Ad-Free
31st October 2014, 02:25 AM |#7  
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregsarg

He may have been under the impression you were using safestrap recovery on your device..
In which case....using the stock recovery could cause issues and/or error messages....

And so you know...anytime you enter stock recovery on this locked bootloader device...the warning triangle appears...but the wipe can still be performed...

If the stock recovery won't allow the wipe....then a closer look may be needed....(did you purchase the device new or used)...and if used then it may have been altered prior...

S5 is no jerk....rather...he's one of the most helpful users we have in this section...

So I'm sure he was attempting to help given the lack of responses in the thread...

I'd tell him "thank you".....for taking the time....and then place a "solved" in your thread title if the issue has been resolved ....g

@gregsarg thank you sir I appreciate your kind words

"And on that bombshell it's time to end the show!" Sent from my VisionX powered G900A Rockin XKRomeBlue
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes