Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Roaming Indicator Off

OP andrewlima

30th June 2014, 06:11 AM   |  #1  
andrewlima's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Hey all,

I recently bought an (AT&T) LG G2 off eBay, as my iPhone 5S just wasn't cutting it for me.

The day before it came I went into AT&T and asked for a new nano-SIM, it was given to me with no questions asked. The next day, I got it, put the SIM card in, and called to activate it. Everything went fine with customer service, and it activated with no problem, or so I thought.

Everything was looking good, and before I got off the phone with AT&T, I rebooted just to be positive. Once it was back on, I realized in the status bar in the top left it said "Roaming Indicator Off". I told the rep, and he said that was very weird, so we began troubleshooting. Around a half an hour into this, I received a text, I went to go respond to it and when I pressed send it said "No USIM Card". I told him about this as well, so we began troubleshooting both issues.

After about an hour he bumped me up to Android technical support, where I painfully continued with troubleshooting. During all of this I accidentally tried to make a call, and voila, it all went away. The status bar now said "AT&T" and I was able to send texts just fine. I told him about it and just said "That's weird, but awesome!". I rebooted the phone one more time just to make sure, and what do you know, it did it again. The same message came up in my status bar, as well as the inability to send texts.

There was a lot of things tried to fix it, including a master reset, the manual configuration of APN's, and a different text message center address. Trust me when I say, we've done just about everything possible. In fact, the next day he called me back with an LG rep on the line, they too couldn't figure it out.

At first they thought it was a hardware problem, but since making one phone call after a reboot fixes everything, they're leaning toward software. However, there was nothing else they could do.

I guess it isn't really that big of a deal, considering I can just make a call everytime I restart my phone. But I'd really like to get rid of the problem completely.

Thanks for any help you may be able to offer!

-Andrew
30th June 2014, 07:01 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
had this problem with my att g2 also whenever i rebooted my phone, the way i got rid of it was just to make a phone call or call voicemail and it went away
The Following User Says Thank You to theteam For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 07:51 AM   |  #3  
andrewlima's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by theteam

had this problem with my att g2 also whenever i rebooted my phone, the way i got rid of it was just to make a phone call or call voicemail and it went away

You never fixed it? Are you still using your G2, and does it still occur?
30th June 2014, 08:13 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewlima

You never fixed it? Are you still using your G2, and does it still occur?

Not a permanent fix, It only occur when I reboot my phone which I rarely do. I am still using it.
27th August 2014, 07:51 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Hopewell
Thanks Meter: 78
 
1,598 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Eifes phone just started having the same issue. Mine however does not but, Its not the OEM OS either... Maybe i'll have to root hers too....
31st October 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
Thumbs up awesome thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by theteam

had this problem with my lgg2t g2 also whenever i rebooted my phone, the way i got rid of it was just to make a phone call or call voicemail and it went away. Immediately. Tyvm

what a relief its easily fixable.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes