FORUMS

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

I/O Summary: Google Photos App

At I/O 2015, Google tackled the information problem in mobile once more, this time through … more

I/O Summary: Development, Play Store, The Next Billion

VP of Engineering Jen Fitzpatrick began talking about what Google is doing to … more

I/O Summary: Google Now on Tap

Google is all about organizing the world’s information to make it universally useful, and these … more

[GUIDE] HOW TO Enable Wi-Fi Tether on stock Kit Kat 4.4.2

Thanks Meter: 27
 
By TheFuzz, Senior Member on 4th March 2014, 05:25 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
1st April 2014, 02:42 AM |#51  
NewZJ's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, Wa
Thanks Meter: 455
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by keko jones

Quick question, i'm running PA and on the ROM it gives you a hotspot option. Since is not the TMobile hotspot, died it count against the available tether allot it?

No. PA tether is already hacked and won't show tether usage. This thread is for stock roms
 
 
1st April 2014, 06:10 AM |#52  
TheFuzz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Yes it counts. It still uses the built in tether app.

Sent from my LG-D801 using xda app-developers app
10th June 2014, 09:02 PM |#53  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 347
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivanprskalo

Wait, is it not easier way to do this:
(if you have root)
1. download SQlite editor app from G.Play (pay for it few bucks)

2. search for com.android.providers.settings and open it

3. open "settings.db" then "global" and under "tether_dun_required" change 1 to 0,

save and turn on tethering without any limits.... Just after reboot you need to set 1 to 0 again to make it work...
I saw it somewhere around and that worked for me!

(Didn't have to change or create new APN.

(This is possible solution for NON-T-mobile users of D801 model, because I'm one..)

This method works on the Rogers D803. Just used it last week to stream Netflix HD movies to my laptop (hotel wifi was only 1 Mbps and Netflix SD looks horrible on a 720p laptop screen 12" from your face). Gotta love a 6 GB data plan on the last day of the monthly time period.

Thanks for the info!!

Oh, and this was on Mahdi ROM (June 03 version), not stock LG ROM.
7th July 2014, 05:16 AM |#54  
tonyec7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag El Paso
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
For PA do I have to do anything to tether without going over my limit?

Sent from my LG-D801 using XDA Free mobile app
10th November 2014, 01:40 AM |#55  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
I am using both methods at the same time (New apn with foxfi and together dun set to 2, 0 doesn't work for me). Either way I get an upsell message from time to time. Last time I changed tether dun to 1 and then back to zero. When it works it works and there is no need for to change user agent. When upsell message comes up, user agent makes no difference.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
lg g2, t-mobile, tether, wi-fi
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile G2 General by ThreadRank