Lollipop for OnePlus One Enters Testing Stage

Cyanogen just announced on their twitter that their CyanogenMod Lollipop build for the OnePlus … more

Xiaomi Business Model Unlike Usually Conceived

This article explains how Xiaomi sells phones not just to be a mobile OEM, but also to seed … more

Note 4 Launcher Theme Collection

If you like the features and integration of the TouchWiz Launcher on your Note 4, FrenchFamousTeam put … more

Verizon Allows Customers to Opt Out of Supercookies

Following the controversy that Verizon’s zombie “supercookies” … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HTC One M8 MHL cable?

OP naurto75

28th April 2014, 09:24 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Hey guys Im looking for a good quality USB to HDMI MHL cable, that will work with the M8. Any good suggestions?
28th April 2014, 09:30 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Acworth, GA
Thanks Meter: 50
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by naurto75

Hey guys Im looking for a good quality USB to HDMI MHL cable, that will work with the M8. Any good suggestions?

I order one it should be here soon Ill let you know how it works out.
28th April 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by young0ne

I order one it should be here soon Ill let you know how it works out.

Thanks, mind linking the amazon so I can take a look?
28th April 2014, 09:46 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Acworth, GA
Thanks Meter: 50
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by naurto75

Thanks, mind linking the amazon so I can take a look?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/351000448039...84.m1439.l2649



this is where i got mines
9th July 2014, 06:30 PM   |  #5  
doczeuhl's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 3
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Did your MHL cable work for the M8?
10th July 2014, 08:21 AM   |  #6  
ou2mame's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
I have a cheap one I got for my Samsung s3, and it has an adapter that goes between the phone and the cable and if I don't use that adapter it works fine. I think the Samsung interface has a switched wire that's why it needs it. So not all cables are the same but if the universal one had a removable adapter it will probably work.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
11th August 2014, 04:55 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Braga
Thanks Meter: 85
 
961 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
How did you guys got it to work? I bought two different MHL 5pin adapters and none worked. The MHL symbol does appear on the phone but there is no image on the TV. I dont undestand and I am getting desperate, does someone has any tips?

Cheers
20th August 2014, 11:50 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Wellington
Thanks Meter: 252
 
1,609 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
A "cheap" MHL cable will probably be MHL 1.0, which won't support 1080p (1080i @ 30Hz max rather than the 1080p @ 60Hz that MHL 2.0 supports)

Most MHL cables are also designed for use with recent Samsung devices, which use a proprietary MHL implementation, which is NOT compatible with non-Samsung devices.

The MHL "standard" is almost totally useless, mostly thanks to Samsung creating this confusion, plus the fact that almost no-one ever categorically states what version of the format (1.0, 2.0 and now 3.0) their devices are.

The new Sony devices support MHL 3.0, if they use a standard implementation then their adapters might be the way to go, assuming they eventually turn up and don't cost an arm and a leg.
10th November 2014, 11:18 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Braga
Thanks Meter: 85
 
961 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Anyone with T-Mobile firmware can please confirm if MHL works?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes