Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to force the M8 to output MHL HDMI at full 60hz?

OP captainreynolds

27th April 2014, 07:20 PM   |  #1  
captainreynolds's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
643 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I've been playing around with the One M8's MHL HDMI out capabilities on several TVs:

It seems to normally want to output at 30hz on most if not all HDTVs. Not sure why, but this essentially really slows down the OS and it only runs at most 30fps, with noticeable lag in display and with any touch inputs. However, I plugged it into one of my computer monitors last night and it ran at full speed (I assume 60hz, not sure). It may be that my monitor simply does not provide the option for 30hz, but I don't think that is it as it is 30hz capable.

Does anyone know how I can force the HTC One M8 to output at full speed (60 Hz) on all HDTVs? Could kernel support allow us to change whether or not the One mirrors the displays, or the output resolution/refresh rate?
27th April 2014, 08:29 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainreynolds

I've been playing around with the One M8's MHL HDMI out capabilities on several TVs:

It seems to normally want to output at 30hz on most if not all HDTVs. Not sure why, but this essentially really slows down the OS and it only runs at most 30fps, with noticeable lag in display and with any touch inputs. However, I plugged it into one of my computer monitors last night and it ran at full speed (I assume 60hz, not sure). It may be that my monitor simply does not provide the option for 30hz, but I don't think that is it as it is 30hz capable.

Does anyone know how I can force the HTC One M8 to output at full speed (60 Hz) on all HDTVs? Could kernel support allow us to change whether or not the One mirrors the displays, or the output resolution/refresh rate?

Bump bump, im interested in this as well.
27th April 2014, 08:32 PM   |  #3  
captainreynolds's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
643 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by combatmedic870

Bump bump, im interested in this as well.

Flar2, who makes the elemental kernel for our phone, is checking it out now! In the meantime, if anyone else has anything to add please do!

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to captainreynolds For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2014, 09:53 PM   |  #4  
captainreynolds's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
643 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Why is this Question marked as answered? It isn't yet!
2nd June 2014, 07:18 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
I know I'm bumping a sort of old post at this point but this thread is still very relevant. I just picked up a standard powered 5-Pin MHL Adapter for my M8 so I could hook it up to my 37 inch 120Hz Samsung TV, however I'm running into the exact same issue where it's running at 30Hz and causing everything basically run at half speed and have huge input lag. But same as captainreynolds, the moment I plug the adapter into my ASUS monitor, everything runs at 60Hz with no problems what so ever, pretty damn annoying since I'd rather be playing games on the big TV rather than my PC monitor.
11th November 2014, 06:38 AM   |  #6  
captainreynolds's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
643 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Bumping my old thread to see if anyone has a solution yet?
11th November 2014, 07:52 AM   |  #7  
OMGMatrix's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 116
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainreynolds

Bumping my old thread to see if anyone has a solution yet?

If you read the reply above yours, this appears to be an issue with your Monitor and not the phone.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes