Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to Access Phone Info to Change Network Mode?

OP ghamdan103

10th February 2014, 08:16 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 3
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Please help how to access phone info to change network mode?

I'm trying to change network mode from CDMA auto PRL to CDMA only. I used to change it through phone info app but after upgrading to I535VRUCML1, it is not working anymore. I have seen in the Google play a note from the developer "sc@taiwan" that the app is not working with Samsung 4.3.
I have also enabled the hidden menu but the code *#*#4636#*# is not working.
My device is already Rooted.
The reason why I want to change from CDMA Auto PRL to CDMA only is that in some areas in my country (in Yemen) the battery will drop very quickly if I'm not on CDMA only.
10th February 2014, 08:36 AM   |  #2  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 810
 
1,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghamdan103

Please help how to access phone info to change network mode?

I'm trying to change network mode from CDMA auto PRL to CDMA only. I used to change it through phone info app but after upgrading to I535VRUCML1, it is not working anymore. I have seen in the Google play a note from the developer "sc@taiwan" that the app is not working with Samsung 4.3.
I have also enabled the hidden menu but the code *#*#4636#*# is not working.
My device is already Rooted.
The reason why I want to change from CDMA Auto PRL to CDMA only is that in some areas in my country (in Yemen) the battery will drop very quickly if I'm not on CDMA only.

Navigate to system/efs/carrier and text edit the hidden menu.

It'll say off, delete it and write on in all caps. Reboot your phone and you'll be able to access the hidden menu.

This should work, but the file might not be in that location. if it doesn't work let me know.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2014, 11:58 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 3
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername

Navigate to system/efs/carrier and text edit the hidden menu.

It'll say off, delete it and write on in all caps. Reboot your phone and you'll be able to access the hidden menu.

This should work, but the file might not be in that location. if it doesn't work let me know.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

I have already donethat beside adding on line "sys.hiddenmenu.enable=1" to /system/build.prop . I can access some hidden menu like enabling DM mode ##366633#, *#06#, *#1234# and some other codes but not *#*#4636#*#*.
10th February 2014, 06:12 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 3
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Finally I managed to change the network mode through DFS but it would be a lot easier with phone info

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to ghamdan103 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2014, 06:46 PM   |  #5  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,628
 
5,449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghamdan103

Finally I managed to change the network mode through DFS but it would be a lot easier with phone info

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using xda app-developers app

You should provide step by step details here in order to help others...
The Following User Says Thank You to buhohitr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2014, 05:21 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 3
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
How to Change Network Preferred Mode Through DFS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

You should provide step by step details here in order to help others...

If you are running 4.3 ROM I535VRUCML1
  • Enable hidden menu by Navigating to system/efs/carrier and edit the hidden menu file by writing ON instead of OFF. also add this line "sys.hiddenmenu.enable=1" to /system/build.prop and then reboot.
  • Enable DM mode by dialing ##366633# and choose enable DM
  • Now from the DFS navigate programming then NAM and in preferred setting scroll Pref Mode to choose which mode you want for example I wanted to change to CDMA Only so I chose CDMA_IS2000.
Note; If you can not connect through DFS the send 000000 SPC through CDMA workshop and then you can use DFS
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DFS.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	192.4 KB
ID:	2572158  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ghamdan103 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2014, 03:06 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
My device is not rooted and I would like to use phone info app. Is there a work around? Also what is DM mode?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
17th September 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Flag Sana'a
Thanks Meter: 3
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
You can use easier way by using advanced Signal Status app but you have to be rooted.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using XDA Free mobile app
17th November 2014, 08:40 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 5
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghamdan103

Finally I managed to change the network mode through DFS but it would be a lot easier with phone info

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using xda app-developers app

Thanks alot it works..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes