Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] HTC One M8 keeps rebooting after AT&T Software Update

OP howyodoing

21st June 2014, 06:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hi, android noobie here, I have a rooted m8 that keeps rebooting after updating the at&t software.

I get the pop up that says AT&T software is available. If I clicked on continue it reboots to teamwin during boot up and once i reboot to system it just reboots itself every 30 secs or so.

I had to do a factory reset just to get my phone working again. But now the update screen is popping up again and I have to keep it under 35% so it doesn't auto update and keep pressing remind me later.

How do I disable this auto update? or is there an easier way to make the phone go back to stock since I really don't have any use of a rooted device besides watching MLB games...

Thanks for the help.
21st June 2014, 06:02 PM   |  #2  
APatte111's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston, TX
Thanks Meter: 133
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by howyodoing

Hi, android noobie here, I have a rooted m8 that keeps rebooting after updating the at&t software.

I get the pop up that says AT&T software is available. If I clicked on continue it reboots to teamwin during boot up and once i reboot to system it just reboots itself every 30 secs or so.

I had to do a factory reset just to get my phone working again. But now the update screen is popping up again and I have to keep it under 35% so it doesn't auto update and keep pressing remind me later.

How do I disable this auto update? or is there an easier way to make the phone go back to stock since I really don't have any use of a rooted device besides watching MLB games...

Thanks for the help.



If I'm not mistaken, you would need to un-root your phone prior to installing any OTA Updates from AT&T. Also, you should only install the OTA Updates while using the stock recovery. So, you should re-flash the stock recovery and then attempt to complete the OTA Update. After that, you could re-install TeamWin, re-root and prosper.

Refer to this link on reverting back to stock... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2721435
Last edited by APatte111; 21st June 2014 at 06:05 PM.
22nd June 2014, 02:25 PM   |  #3  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 217
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by howyodoing

Hi, android noobie here, I have a rooted m8 that keeps rebooting after updating the at&t software.

I get the pop up that says AT&T software is available. If I clicked on continue it reboots to teamwin during boot up and once i reboot to system it just reboots itself every 30 secs or so.

I had to do a factory reset just to get my phone working again. But now the update screen is popping up again and I have to keep it under 35% so it doesn't auto update and keep pressing remind me later.

How do I disable this auto update? or is there an easier way to make the phone go back to stock since I really don't have any use of a rooted device besides watching MLB games...

Thanks for the help.

Flash factory recovery, take the update, flash twrp back
or..
Titanium backup to freeze att update
22nd June 2014, 09:06 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by an0ther

Flash factory recovery, take the update, flash twrp back
or..
Titanium backup to freeze att update

Just downloaded titanium back up. How do I freeze the update?
22nd June 2014, 10:46 PM   |  #5  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 217
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by howyodoing

Just downloaded titanium back up. How do I freeze the update?

Try searching next time.. I see you are new here so i'll at least give you a link this time
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2752718
23rd June 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #6  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,363
 
7,760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by howyodoing

Hi, android noobie here, I have a rooted m8 that keeps rebooting after updating the at&t software.


Good rule of thumb, do not install OTA updates on any modded Android device, without at a minimum doing thorough research on what will happen.

Depending on the device and the update in question, attempt to install an OTA on a modded device will remove root, possibly plug existing exploits (and render the phone unable to be rooted), or put you in a boot loop (as you have experienced).

In particular, OTAs require stock recovery in order to install. So if you have custom recovery installed, this is why the OTA install is failing (and why it keeps booting into TWRP).

Also, there is little (if anything) contained in the OTAs that doesn't get posted in a safe format (flashed from custom recovery) in the Development section soon after the OTAs start to roll out.
19th November 2014, 07:44 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2014
Solution for HTC OneM8 (continous restarting after update)
Quote:
Originally Posted by howyodoing

Hi, android noobie here, I have a rooted m8 that keeps rebooting after updating the at&t software.

I get the pop up that says AT&T software is available. If I clicked on continue it reboots to teamwin during boot up and once i reboot to system it just reboots itself every 30 secs or so.

I had to do a factory reset just to get my phone working again. But now the update screen is popping up again and I have to keep it under 35% so it doesn't auto update and keep pressing remind me later.

How do I disable this auto update? or is there an easier way to make the phone go back to stock since I really don't have any use of a rooted device besides watching MLB games...

Thanks for the help.

Hi, i have a HTC One M8, and when my first update popped, i was very enthuziast.
I accepted to download the update, installed it, and... the problem appeared. The phone made his restart after update... and continued to do so over and over again. (Vibrate/HTC screen on for 30 secs/screen off and so on)
I checked the HTC website for solutions, i entered live chat with a consultant, and he asked me to start the Hard reset procedure. To do that, while turned off, you have to press both volume keys, and press the power button. The phone will enter in the Bootloader menu where you have some options. But... tell me, how to do that if the phone restarts continously? you have about 1-2 seconds to do that, while the screen is off. It gave me a hardtime to do that... Finnally, i managed to enter the Bootloader menu.
There... you have 2 options: (using volume up/down to select, and power button to select) you can select to poweroff(shutdown) the phone - and the phone will shutdown,
or you can turn off the fastboot, and the phone will restart normally.
The thing is that when you restart your phone normaly, while fastboot on, the phone skips some steps, and go directly to to turn it on and show you the startscreen.
When you make a major update, like system upgrade, when the phone restarts, he needs to load all the boot setting. And here is the problem. If you have fastboot on, and make a major update, the phone will enter in this ****ty cicle of continous restarts.
Remember to deactivate this Fastboot before you update!
19th November 2014, 08:05 PM   |  #8  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,363
 
7,760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sergiu.dragan25

I checked the HTC website for solutions, i entered live chat with a consultant, and he asked me to start the Hard reset procedure. To do that, while turned off, you have to press both volume keys, and press the power button.

This is not correct. To force a reboot, you hold power and vol up (not both vol buttons). Then, when its restarting (the moment the screen goes dark and before the white boot screen appears) you let go of both those buttons, and only hold vol down.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sergiu.dragan25

But... tell me, how to do that if the phone restarts continously? you have about 1-2 seconds to do that, while the screen is off.

In the case of a bootloop (phone keeps restarting), all you need to do is hold vol down during one of the reboot cycles. The timing doesn't matter in this case. Just sit on the vol down button until the bootloader screen appears.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sergiu.dragan25

There... you have 2 options: (using volume up/down to select, and power button to select) you can select to poweroff(shutdown) the phone - and the phone will shutdown,
or you can turn off the fastboot, and the phone will restart normally.
The thing is that when you restart your phone normaly, while fastboot on, the phone skips some steps, and go directly to to turn it on and show you the startscreen.
When you make a major update, like system upgrade, when the phone restarts, he needs to load all the boot setting. And here is the problem. If you have fastboot on, and make a major update, the phone will enter in this ****ty cicle of continous restarts.
Remember to deactivate this Fastboot before you update!

First, the FASTBOOT selection in bootloader is not the same as "Fast boot" in Settings>Power. The latter just makes the phone start faster from power OFF. The former is an adb (Android Debug Bridge) special mode that allows you to flash partitions from a computer.

Second, in bootloader, you should have the following selections:

FASTBOOT
RECOVERY
FACTORY RESET
SIMLOCK
CHECK SMARTSD
IMAGE CRC
SHOW BARCODE

Of course, its the FACTORY RESET option you want if you want to wipe the phone. Scroll down to (using vol keys) and select with power button.

On the bootloader screen, the active selection is the blue box with white text below the green phone info (hboot number, radio number, etc.). FASTBOOT should only be the default "active" selection if your phone is connected to a computer by USB. Otherwise the default selection in bootloader should be HBOOT.

Third, the "Fast boot" option in Settings>Power does not make a restart "faster" by skipping any steps. It just makes a start from power OFF faster. Its kind of a trick, where power OFF is not really off, but just a deeper sleep mode. A restart is always a restart, regardless of whether "Fast boot" is selected or not in Settings>Power.
Last edited by redpoint73; 19th November 2014 at 08:12 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes