Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unable to mount /system, Error mounting /system!

OP Fidelator

24th May 2014, 01:47 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
So guys, I downloaded the latest CM nightly through the CMupdater app, I rebooted into recovery TWRP 2.6.3.0 at that moment I think, when I tried to flash my update it said "Unable to mount /system" and just stood there, I rebooted into recovery again and tried to mount it from the mounts menu without result.

Next I updated to the latest TWRP but the problem persisted, changed to the latest CWM and that too, is unable to mount /system displaying the message "Error mounting /system!"

I seriously don't want to lose my data as this was a simple update so I didn't make a backup but I don't know what the hell else I'm supposed to do.

Oh and BTW, trying to boot to system leaves me at the Google screen for an indefinite amount of time.

Thanks in advance


Edit:Turns out formatting system doesn't delete my data, I got impatient and did that, problem solved.
Last edited by Fidelator; 25th May 2014 at 11:26 PM.
24th May 2014, 06:30 AM   |  #2  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Muti-Verse
Thanks Meter: 1,774
 
2,206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelator

So guys, I downloaded the latest CM nightly through the CMupdater app, I rebooted into recovery TWRP 2.6.3.0 at that moment I think, when I tried to flash my update it said "Unable to mount /system" and just stood there, I rebooted into recovery again and tried to mount it from the mounts menu without result.

Next I updated to the latest TWRP but the problem persisted, changed to the latest CWM and that too, is unable to mount /system displaying the message "Error mounting /system!"

I seriously don't want to lose my data as this was a simple update so I didn't make a backup but I don't know what the hell else I'm supposed to do.

Oh and BTW, trying to boot to system leaves me at the Google screen for an indefinite amount of time.

Thanks in advance


Turns out formatting system doesn't delete my data, I got impatient and did that, problem solved.

Can you add SOLVED to the thread title..

Glad to see everything is ok

Thx Josh
The Following User Says Thank You to lj50036 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st November 2014, 07:10 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag So Cal
Thanks Meter: 111
 
974 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
So, i just started getting this same error after updating to TWRP 2.8.2.0, I tried wiping the system and still got the error? I downgraded to TWRP 2.8.1.0 and wiped system again, and that seemed to fix the issue. Not sure if it was my own bug or 2.8.2.0 but just wanted to leave feedback for the next person who may be searching for help.
The Following User Says Thank You to Izeltokatl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes