ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How To Break A Bootloop

OP alershka

24th April 2014, 01:17 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
134 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I had two bootloops today. One was when I was restoring a nandroid in TWRP that froze restoring data, the other was after doing a fast reboot when I installed an exposed framework module. In both cases, it took me almost an hour of holding down my power button and then getting to recovery by pressing the vol+ and power button.



So I am wondering if I have a bad power button or if something else could have caused my problem. I tried pressing the button firmly then loosely. I am not sure what I did differently to get it actually to work but I am concerned. Is there a technique to use to effectively break a bootloop?



I am rooted with S-off. I updated to the latest Verizon firmware a few days ago. I am running the GPE rom release from 4/13. I was thinking of going to a stock based rom in case this was related to GPE but I am wondering if I would be setting myself up for another prolonged bootloop.



Thanks in advance for any assistance.



Sent from my T100TA using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to alershka For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2014, 01:37 AM   |  #2  
netboy3's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by alershka

I had two bootloops today. One was when I was restoring a nandroid in TWRP that froze restoring data, the other was after doing a fast reboot when I installed an exposed framework module. In both cases, it took me almost an hour of holding down my power button and then getting to recovery by pressing the vol+ and power button.

Check my thread regarding [Q] getting to hboot with fastboot flag. My last post gives you a step-by-step on how to get to the bootloader even when fast-reboot is set.
24th April 2014, 02:19 AM   |  #3  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 1,765
 
2,366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Volume Up (hold) plus tapping power gets me in.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW
26th April 2014, 04:55 PM   |  #4  
Tigerstown's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 1,256
 
2,721 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Donate to Me
More
Plug into pc an type adb reboot-bootloader always works for me

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
richii0207
26th April 2014, 07:35 PM   |  #5  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Holding power, vol up, and vol down button for 10 seconds is a hard power off just like if you were to take out the battery. You can do this when the phone is doing anything like bootlooping, in recovery, on, etc.
If it does not work for you, then the power button is faulty.


Do this to turn your phone off. Then vol up + power to boot directly into recovery. Problem solved.


Sent from my HTC6525LVW using xda app-developers app
26th April 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Avon
Thanks Meter: 81
 
520 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I had this issue and was advised to hold power and vol +, well after a while that didn't do anything so I tried the good ole power and vol - and it rebooted to hboot immediately -_-

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
24th November 2014, 10:11 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by x70xchallengerx

I had this issue and was advised to hold power and vol +, well after a while that didn't do anything so I tried the good ole power and vol - and it rebooted to hboot immediately -_-

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

How did you get around this issue? The same thing is happening to me. A quick response would be greatly appreciated.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes