Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Stuk on No Signal after *228

OP fdafan

22nd April 2014, 10:42 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
While traveling away from home, I noticed a large area with no coverage, so I tried to update my roaming capabilities through *228.
The phone rebooted and has been showing "no Signal" since. I could be standing right below a tower and still get the no signal message.

I'm not trying to reflash it, but always get the same problem. I reflashed various versions of boot.img, recovery.img and of the ROM, but always with no luck, the phone is always stuck in No SIgnal mode. Wifi runs fine, so I assume it's not an antenna problem. I'm running the TWRP tools 4.2.3.1 and the x3reme Sense ROM. I can connect it to my computer, and send adb or fastboot commands, not problem.

One problem may be that when I try to wipe the phone clean, I get an error message "can't mount /sd-ext" and the script aborts. So I never fully wipe the phone.

How can I fully wipe the phone? is this what I should be doing? Do I need to go back to CDMA tools to reconfigure?

Thanks in advance!
22nd April 2014, 12:39 PM   |  #2  
kvestas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdafan

While traveling away from home, I noticed a large area with no coverage, so I tried to update my roaming capabilities through *228.
The phone rebooted and has been showing "no Signal" since. I could be standing right below a tower and still get the no signal message.

I'm not trying to reflash it, but always get the same problem. I reflashed various versions of boot.img, recovery.img and of the ROM, but always with no luck, the phone is always stuck in No SIgnal mode. Wifi runs fine, so I assume it's not an antenna problem. I'm running the TWRP tools 4.2.3.1 and the x3reme Sense ROM. I can connect it to my computer, and send adb or fastboot commands, not problem.

One problem may be that when I try to wipe the phone clean, I get an error message "can't mount /sd-ext" and the script aborts. So I never fully wipe the phone.

How can I fully wipe the phone? is this what I should be doing? Do I need to go back to CDMA tools to reconfigure?

Thanks in advance!

Interesting things can happen when trying this function:
http://forums.androidcentral.com/ver...prl-228-a.html
I don't say you have damaged your sim card already but it's might be worth testing with different one rather than changing kernels and roms.
The Following User Says Thank You to kvestas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd April 2014, 06:34 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvestas

Interesting things can happen when trying this function:
http://forums.androidcentral.com/ver...prl-228-a.html
I don't say you have damaged your sim card already but it's might be worth testing with different one rather than changing kernels and roms.


Interesting point. Thanks.

I should add that I have a CDMA phone (Verizon/VM/PP...) flashed for Page Plus.
Still, I suspect something was written over and this is why I may have to use CDMA workshop to look into this.
Or wipe it and start over.

Does anyone know?
1st December 2014, 01:39 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Talking
As an update, turned out the problem was in the PRL file.
Using CDMA tools, I reloaded the pageplus.prl file and the system came back alive!

I hope this helps someone else.
The Following User Says Thank You to fdafan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes