Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

GPS on N9005 solution that worked for me!

OP Daxded

20th August 2014, 07:38 PM   |  #11  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Cool ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngblood68

hello guys , I really home this will work for me because I have tried everything and no gps signal at all ? please put download links that I need to do , this is the last I am trying and ....thank you

---------- Post added at 08:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:29 PM ----------

will this work for my N9005 ? I live in Tenerife and it wont let me download it form playstore ,anyone with a link please

hey bro...sorry for delayed answer...been busy little bit...can you post your gps.conf file here?
...I'll gladly help if I can...by the way...some guys already posted the solution with service code *#0011#...search xda a little...I am sure you will find it
...anyhow...if you found better solution for fixing the GPS issue then this one I've posted...you can share it with others here...best regards... cheers!
17th September 2014, 11:24 AM   |  #12  
Member
Flag Prishtina
Thanks Meter: 6
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I have a problem where TopNTP is not writing to my gps.conf.

Even though I'm rooted . . .
17th September 2014, 11:49 AM   |  #13  
Dioky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Manually editing?
Hi there,

Indeed, TopNTP is'nt changing/editing the file gps.conf in my phone either.
Has anyone tried editing it manually with the lines TopNTP suggests?
Would that be possible at all? Or is there some checksum that won't cooperate?

Regards,
17th September 2014, 01:13 PM   |  #14  
Member
Flag Prishtina
Thanks Meter: 6
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dioky

Hi there,

Indeed, TopNTP is'nt changing/editing the file gps.conf in my phone either.
Has anyone tried editing it manually with the lines TopNTP suggests?
Would that be possible at all? Or is there some checksum that won't cooperate?

Regards,

I did edit gps.conf with those lines but it didn't really help with GPS Issue.
I guess I'm missing something.
17th September 2014, 08:26 PM   |  #15  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Cool ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colide

I did edit gps.conf with those lines but it didn't really help with GPS Issue.
I guess I'm missing something.

...hello bro...try this file...it is extracted from TopNTP settings...

...you need to copy original file first on your external sd card, then copy text from this file to gps.conf...reboot your phone...and report me back what is happened...I hope it will work... cheers!
Attached Files
File Type: txt topntp.gps.conf.txt - [Click for QR Code] (1.1 KB, 50 views)
Last edited by Daxded; 17th September 2014 at 08:28 PM. Reason: ...forgot to upload file...
18th September 2014, 10:07 AM   |  #16  
Member
Flag Prishtina
Thanks Meter: 6
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daxded

...hello bro...try this file...it is extracted from TopNTP settings...

...you need to copy original file first on your external sd card, then copy text from this file to gps.conf...reboot your phone...and report me back what is happened...I hope it will work... cheers!

I did find the file yesterday and copied it to \etc.

Didn't really help
19th September 2014, 07:38 AM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
I solved my problem by tightening the screws in the back of the phone around the gps area (left of camera when looking at the back) they where a little loose ever since then it's worked perfectly
19th September 2014, 02:43 PM   |  #18  
Member
Flag Prishtina
Thanks Meter: 6
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by vz_commo

I solved my problem by tightening the screws in the back of the phone around the gps area (left of camera when looking at the back) they where a little loose ever since then it's worked perfectly

Already tried that. I even opened the back side completely to check for the pins contact.

My phone works perfectly in other countries. It's just here at home that doesn't.
It did work perfectly until I upgraded to KitKat
1st December 2014, 10:45 PM   |  #19  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Lightbulb ...update to the old post...
...Hello to all people on xda forum...
...I just want to add one update to my post for all guys that still have problems with GPS and didn't solve the issue...here is a solution...I hope you will hit thanks button
...this is only for those people which have strange problem when gps hardware works, for example you can update your weather on weather widget, but somehow you can't catch any satellites when you want to find your way in the city...then problem is definitely could be fixed...I did it with several N9005 devices and always was successful...

The real credit goes to @SchecterRocker, where he posted how he solved the issue...actually you can follow his post here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9322&nocache=1 THANK YOU MAN!!!

First, as optional is to update your modem and bootloader according to your baseband.
Second, retrieve your default gps.conf file. Now you can go with tearing apart your device...just follow instructions that @SchecterRocker posted...or you can follow it here...ADAPTED LITTLE BIT

[[ INSTRUCTIONS ]] (See attached pics for details)
1. Remove the back cover, battery, stylus, SIM, and microSD.
2. Remove the 12 Phillips screws on the back.
3. Carefully remove the inner plastic shell (clipped in).
4. Take your time!!! DO NOT HURRY!!! Gently open around the edges until all edges and clips are loose ( you can use guitar pick ).
5. Observe the leaf pin locations shown below. photo01.jpg
6. This leaf is clearly related to the GPS, because bending it back restored my GPS to perfect functionality. TRUE!
7. Extra Carefully!!!! bend the leaf pin back into position, if you find a dislocated leaf pin. photo02.jpg
8. ALSO CHECK THE REST OF LEAFS!!! Replace the inner plastic shell, making sure to not damage the leaf pins.
9. Replace the 12 screws.
10. Replace the SIM, microSD, stylus, and back cover. START THE MACHINE!!! ...working isn't it???

Cheers!!!

THANK YOU @SchecterRocker (hope you won't blame me for using your photos and instructions) AND @xda-developers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo01.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	247.7 KB
ID:	3043396   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo02.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	247.4 KB
ID:	3043397  
The Following User Says Thank You to Daxded For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd December 2014, 02:23 AM   |  #20  
SchecterRocker's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daxded

THANK YOU @SchecterRocker (hope you won't blame me for using your photos and instructions) AND @xda-developers

I don't mind a bit! Spread the word - it's already helped an estimated 20 people on the AT&T Note 3 boards. Need evidence and more details? Check it out here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9322&nocache=1

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes