FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

[Q] Three button headsets?

112 posts
Thanks Meter: 25
 
By jimmyhauser, Senior Member on 4th June 2014, 01:38 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.
 
 
4th June 2014, 02:05 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 309
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser

Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.

Forget those designed for iPhone (volume buttons won't work), but there's a chance Samsung stereo headset with volume buttons will fully work according to past experience with LG phones (OT, L9).
4th June 2014, 09:24 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser

Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.


It seems to be same g2. Its name quadbeat2 is written on package. You can find review by googling
4th June 2014, 11:27 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingkee

Forget those designed for iPhone (volume buttons won't work), but there's a chance Samsung stereo headset with volume buttons will fully work according to past experience with LG phones (OT, L9).

I know the iphone headphones won't work. But the made for android 3-button headsets worked with my GS3, GS4, HTC One X, as well as my windows phones.
None of the android 3button headsets worked with my Nexus or Moto X. I have never had an LG phone so I was just wondering.
5th June 2014, 09:49 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser

Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.

The QuadBeats 2 that comes with the phone have three buttons on them. and i'm assuming that they should work perfectly with the phone. i'll test them out tonight and report back.
6th June 2014, 12:59 PM |#6  
akash.mahadeshwar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Smile use these
well u can use this.. They are built for g3.. http://www.phonearena.com/news/LG-in...Kardon_id56237
13th August 2014, 03:36 PM |#7  
pvine's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Syracuse
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyhauser

Does anyone know if the G3 will work with three button headsets? As much as I loved my Moto X, the lack of three button functionality killed it for me. I really want to get a G3, but if it won't support 3 buttons, that's a deal breaker for me.

I know stock and stock-ish android doesn't support it, while the skinned versions like touchwiz generally do (all my galaxy and HTC phones did) so I am hoping LG's does.

Apatronix earbuds work, all three buttons I just tried them out. They were about 16 bucks on Amazon. Sound quality won't change your life give it is solid for a $16 pair of buds.
13th August 2014, 04:38 PM |#8  
czechu01's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
There's an xposed module which allows you to assign those 3 buttons to different actions, I used it for iphone-designed headphones with HTC One and it worked. http://forum.xda-developers.com/xpos...l-1-8-t2620777

@jimmyhauser
@mingkee
2nd December 2014, 08:30 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 309
 
More
Actually, you can pay few bucks to get Samsung HS130 and test out.
I bought few of them and did modification with different headphones/headsets including Bose FreeStyle.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes