Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Sim Card detection Error (m8)

OP shuaibalali

3rd December 2014, 07:43 AM   |  #11  
mashk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nairobi
Thanks Meter: 30
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

This section is for the M8, not the M7.

---------- Post added at 01:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:21 PM ----------



I think you mean "firmware" instead of "kernel". The kernel for the ROM will flash automatically along with the ROM.

I'm talking about a kernel. Say, you have a Verizon m8 and you flash ARHD 22.1, you'll need to flash the kernel.zip specifically designed for the Verizon m8 since it has CDMA which is yet to be supported by ARHD 22.1!

Note that custom ROMS dont come with corresponding firmware. You must flash that separately.
3rd December 2014, 03:13 PM   |  #12  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,349
 
7,710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mashk

I'm talking about a kernel. Say, you have a Verizon m8 and you flash ARHD 22.1, you'll need to flash the kernel.zip specifically designed for the Verizon m8 since it has CDMA which is yet to be supported by ARHD 22.1!

Note that custom ROMS dont come with corresponding firmware. You must flash that separately.

I know you need to flash firmware separately. Do you have the Verizon variant? Because the CDMA variants are more the exception to the rule. Broken WiFi is most commonly caused by outdated firmware, not wrong kernel.
4th December 2014, 07:02 PM   |  #13  
mashk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nairobi
Thanks Meter: 30
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

I know you need to flash firmware separately. Do you have the Verizon variant? Because the CDMA variants are more the exception to the rule. Broken WiFi is most commonly caused by outdated firmware, not wrong kernel.

Yes I've the Verizon variant and you must flash both. An updated firmware without the corresponding kernel wont work.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes