Don’t Fear Flashing with I Don’t Want You!

The XDA message boards are full of various modifications, with many of these helping … more

Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Cant get Vanir 4.4.2 working S7710 xcover2

OP BallStone

21st July 2014, 12:25 PM   |  #31  
5n00p3r's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BallStone

Did u flash skomer test2 cwm what is in the main thread or 6.0.4.7 from other source?

Yes, I flashed the skomer test2 cwm from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2689519
18th August 2014, 10:17 PM   |  #32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Have had the same issue for a few days now, I flashed the phone with an older Factory ROM I had, XXAMB6, then wiped and reflashed CM via CWM...et VOILA!! I now have baseband and IMEI working fine, seems stable so far
11th September 2014, 12:00 PM   |  #33  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
I can confirm that flashing the XXAMB6 modem will work. Because all the warnings I read everyhwhere I didn't try this with XXAND2.

-First I flashed CWM to the phone, reinstalled CWM to the Vanir suggested CWM.
-Next rooted the phone with SuperSU.
-I flashed the S7710XXAMB6_S7710OXXAMB2_NEE (from sammobile.com) image to the phone usin ODIN.
-Booted to recovery, wiped all userdata and then dalvik cache
-Flash the newest vanir (4.4.4.090814)
-Installed the pa_gapps pack
-And then again reinstalled SuperSU from zip

There are steps that are redundant, but since I am a newbie on Android, I just write this to help others.

I would post this to Vanir main thread, but because I just joined I cannot.

-Niko
The Following User Says Thank You to KoalaNalle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2014, 09:32 AM   |  #34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoalaNalle

I can confirm that flashing the XXAMB6 modem will work. Because all the warnings I read everyhwhere I didn't try this with XXAND2.

-First I flashed CWM to the phone, reinstalled CWM to the Vanir suggested CWM.
-Next rooted the phone with SuperSU.
-I flashed the S7710XXAMB6_S7710OXXAMB2_NEE (from sammobile.com) image to the phone usin ODIN.
-Booted to recovery, wiped all userdata and then dalvik cache
-Flash the newest vanir (4.4.4.090814)
-Installed the pa_gapps pack
-And then again reinstalled SuperSU from zip

There are steps that are redundant, but since I am a newbie on Android, I just write this to help others.

I would post this to Vanir main thread, but because I just joined I cannot.

-Niko

I have the same problem with Vanir. Phone says "No service. Emergency calls only", but it still recognize what is my operator (DNA). Last night on home I tried manually search networks, phone find DNA but says something about "canīt connect on this time, try again later". Today morning on home phone did not find that DNA network at, and on workplace it did not find any networks.

Now I flash everything like that guide above. Network connect is good with S7710XXAMB6_S7710OXXAMB2_NEE rom, but now with Vanir same thing, "No service. Emergency calls only". I think my phone with Vanir not "listen" the antenna on full power or something about that.
17th September 2014, 12:51 PM   |  #35  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henkar

I have the same problem with Vanir. Phone says "No service. Emergency calls only", but it still recognize what is my operator (DNA). Last night on home I tried manually search networks, phone find DNA but says something about "canīt connect on this time, try again later". Today morning on home phone did not find that DNA network at, and on workplace it did not find any networks.

Now I flash everything like that guide above. Network connect is good with S7710XXAMB6_S7710OXXAMB2_NEE rom, but now with Vanir same thing, "No service. Emergency calls only". I think my phone with Vanir not "listen" the antenna on full power or something about that.

Is there any help on my problem? Now I'am tried about 8 times flash the Vanir, sometimes I'am flashed first older rom sometimes tried csc-change. Nothing seems to help. Always samething "no service", some places it seems to find networks but cant connect. With original rom there is right service everywhere with 3G.
26th October 2014, 03:53 PM   |  #36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BallStone

Holy cow! I did it.
I got everything working exept baseband it says now xxxx but that doesnt bother me cause i can now make phone calls and messages.
Dont know about how right my method was but it worked, i copied efs folder and modemfs folder from stock rom to my ext sdcard and flashed vanir then with root browser i deleted everything from those folders and replaced with copies i made... sounds weird but im happy

I tried that, too, but to avail: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0&postcount=13

Quote:
Originally Posted by KoalaNalle

I can confirm that flashing the XXAMB6 modem will work. Because all the warnings I read everyhwhere I didn't try this with XXAND2.

So all I need to do is downgrade the modem firmware? I thought that is what stored is in /modemfs/ and by copying it from stock we're back in business? Or is the more recent firmware incompatible with current KitKat and only older firmwares have something that works on KitKat??
Last edited by cymophobic; 26th October 2014 at 04:06 PM.
26th October 2014, 07:37 PM   |  #37  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Solved it: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=977

Mind this: My stock modem is a XXAND2 but I had to downgrade to XXAMB6

1. Apply ODEX XXAMB6 (not! XXAND2) according to @TheBoegl root guide
2. Reboot to ODEX
3. Apply ODEX 20140112_cwm-6.0.4.6_skomer_fixed.tar.md5
4. Reboot to CWM
5. Apply cwm_skomer_test2.zip (CWM 6.0.4.7)
6. Reboot to CWM
7. Apply vanir_skomer_4.4.4.101714.zip + pa_gapps-modular-pico-4.4.4-20141019-signed.zip
13th December 2014, 10:26 AM   |  #38  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
GSM signal problems
Hi,
I'm pretty new to the forum so I couldn't post on the main thread about Vanir 4.4.4 for xcover2 but maybe someone here can help me.

I've tried everything that's written about it in the main thread and I still have intermittent GSM signal (doesn't matter if 3G or 2G). And now even reverting back to stock ROM doesn't help, it's intermittent even on stock ROM. I did the procedure with flashing to XXAMB6, applying set of commands in terminal and then flashing Vanir. The "find" command was not working so I did this set. No improvement. Signal goes up and down in places where it should be stable on maximum.
Have I done some deep changes to efs / modemfs that even reverting back to stock doesn't help? Are there any commands that could fix it or is the hardware now damaged and I need service?

Please help.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
xcover-2
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes