Should You Get Wear? Wearer’s Practical Observations

Wear is said to not offer enough for mass adoption, even though its been in … more

SlimRoms: Updates on the Horizon

SlimRoms’ website has been experiencing technical difficulties for the last month or so, but … more

Your Favorite Wireless Charger?

Wireless charging is becoming more and more common as many OEMs are now starting to include this feature … more

ASUS US Invites Developers at XDA to Special Event

ASUS has built a solid name over the years for their computer components, but in the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Galaxy S4 - XLTE

20th May 2014, 09:24 PM   |  #11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gt5oh

How do we know if our rom is taking advantage of XLTE / AWS spectrum?

Also, should we be running the network on Global or LTE/CDMA ?

Advice appreciated thanks

The galaxy was already getting these aws network for a while. Like they say u need to bein MJ7modem or above to access it. But her is a thread that started a while back.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2502716
20th May 2014, 10:05 PM   |  #12  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
440 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
I am running Eclipse 4.2.2 Rom

Baseband I545VRUEMK2

Build # JDQ39I545VRUAMDK

Which of these desginates what modem I am on?
20th May 2014, 10:19 PM   |  #13  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,613
 
3,808 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gt5oh

I am running Eclipse 4.2.2 Rom

Baseband I545VRUEMK2

Build # JDQ39I545VRUAMDK

Which of these desginates what modem I am on?

Baseband

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
14th December 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
XLTE vs LTE on the Galaxy S4
Quote:
Originally Posted by gt5oh

How do we know if our rom is taking advantage of XLTE / AWS spectrum?

Also, should we be running the network on Global or LTE/CDMA ?

Advice appreciated thanks

I have just performed 2 out of 3 video tests I plan to do with my Galaxy S4 to address this very issue. All are on the same device. Video #1 is LTE test and, just a few minutes after, Video #2 is testing XLTE.

I have yet to find a "Application" that shows properly Band 4 or Band 13 so we can tell, but the Service Menu DOES TELL! You just have to unlock it. Also, I had previously thought that XLTE was using both bands to double it's bandwidth. This of course is NOT the case. The device switches over entirely from one band to the other. The Service Menu shows that Band 4 mode is utilizing 20Mhz as apposed the original 10Mhz on LTE Band 13. Double the Mhz bandwidth, that explains it!

Video of Test #1 (LTE) : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=va3EDL_TdhQ

Video of Test #2 (XLTE): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5oFPKdct1U4
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes