Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Porting Android Auto to existing Windows CE car headunits

OP sykozylot

26th June 2014, 07:50 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Hey folks. Apologies if this is in the wrong area. Now that Android Auto is announced (http://www.android.com/auto/), I know there are lots of folks with Windows CE-based car headunits. I'm wondering if we could start a conversation about getting Android Auto set up on those head units. I have no idea what would be involved, but I want to see if it's a possibility for discussion.
9th December 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #2  
Pilz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Middle of nowhere
Thanks Meter: 547
 
2,359 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
I would also be interested in this if it is possible to port it to other windows or Microsoft based systems.
14th December 2014, 11:15 PM   |  #3  
nissanskylinebam's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 112
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Yeah I'm bumping this for sure - I've got Microsoft Sync in mine, but it's the non-touch version, so I'm not sure if Android Auto could be configured for that hardware...
Yesterday, 06:44 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
You can pretty much forget about this idea right now guys. Even the most advanced and most recent CE head units use hardware that is so outdated that even 1st gen android phones look cutting edge in comparsion (typically 400-800mhz single core processors and 128-256mb of ram). Even if it was somehow done it would be a serious pain in the behind to use.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes