Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ToolKit] Acer Iconia v0.8.5 ***New: Supporting A1-810 with Kitkat***

OP entonjackson

8th December 2014, 09:04 AM   |  #3951  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Hi there!

I've got a new A3-A20FHD with KK4.4.2 and Mediatek chip MT8127. Any chance of rooting the device?

Thx, _Tallis_
15th December 2014, 01:02 PM   |  #3952  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
help
Starting: Intent { act=android.intent.action.MAIN cat=[android.intent.category.LAUNCHER] cmp=com.mediatek.connectivity/.CdsInfoActivity }
Warning: Activity not started, its current task has been brought to the front
Successfully started Telnet server on your Acer Iconia A1-810 / A1-811 / A3-A10 / B1-711 / B1-720 running KitKat.

/data/local/tmp/busybox telnet 127.0.0.1 1234 | cat /proc/dumchar_info

exit

exit

127.0.0.1 1234 | cat /proc/dumchar_info <

Part_Name Size StartAddr Type MapTo

preloader 0x0000000000c00000 0x0000000000000000 2 /dev/misc-sd

mbr 0x0000000000080000 0x0000000000000000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0

ebr1 0x0000000000080000 0x0000000000080000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0p1

pmt 0x0000000000400000 0x0000000000100000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0

pro_info 0x0000000000300000 0x0000000000500000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0

nvram 0x0000000000500000 0x0000000000800000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0

protect_f 0x0000000000a00000 0x0000000000d00000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2

protect_s 0x0000000000a00000 0x0000000001700000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0p3

seccfg 0x0000000000020000 0x0000000002100000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0

uboot 0x0000000000060000 0x0000000002120000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0

bootimg 0x0000000000600000 0x0000000002180000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0

recovery 0x0000000000a00000 0x0000000002780000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0

sec_ro 0x0000000000600000 0x0000000003180000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0p4

misc 0x0000000000080000 0x0000000003780000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0

logo 0x0000000000300000 0x0000000003800000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0

expdb 0x0000000000a00000 0x0000000003b00000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0

android 0x0000000040000000 0x0000000004500000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0p5

Creating system.img.gz (this will take about 7 minutes) ...
/data/local/tmp/busybox telnet 127.0.0.1 1234
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 bs=4096 skip=17664 count=262144 | gzip > /cache/system.img.gz
shell@mango:/ $ /data/local/tmp/busybox telnet 127.0.0.1 1234
telnet: can't connect to remote host (127.0.0.1): Connection refused
96 skip=17664 count=262144 | gzip > /cache/system.img.gz <
/system/bin/sh: can't create /cache/system.img.gz: Permission denied
/dev/block/mmcblk0: cannot open for read: Permission denied
1|shell@mango:/ $ exit
/data/local/tmp/busybox telnet 127.0.0.1 1234
chmod 777 /cache
chmod 777 /cache/system.img.gz
shell@mango:/ $ /data/local/tmp/busybox telnet 127.0.0.1 1234
telnet: can't connect to remote host (127.0.0.1): Connection refused
1|shell@mango:/ $ chmod 777 /cache
Unable to chmod /cache: Operation not permitted
10|shell@mango:/ $ chmod 777 /cache/system.img.gz
Unable to chmod /cache/system.img.gz: Permission denied
10|shell@mango:/ $ exit
opendir failed, Permission denied

fail



THIS KEEPS HAPPENING!
22nd December 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #3953  
Atrax2010's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Zagreb
Thanks Meter: 140
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Exclamation Bricked A1 810
Can someone help me here, yesterday I tried to make an official update for my 810, I downloaded the official KitKat from Acer website, but it couldn't update, said I have wrong model number.
After that the tablet wouldn't restart, I had bootloop.
So I downloaded the proper 4.2 version for my model (ww_gen1) from Acer website, flashed it from SD card, everything went well, I restarted and the phone was again in bootloop, it would get to "Updating applications" and then restart.
So I entered recovery again, made factory reset and from that point on I can't turn on the device.
When it's plugged in i can hear it's connecting to PC but it isn't recognized, then disconnects immediately.
It also doesn't charge at all. When I started the procedure the battery was about 90% so I don't think it's the dead battery.
I had similar issue with my OneX, it was a faulty motherboard, so I'm worried my tablet is hardbricked.
But it makes no sense, it wasn't rooted, I wasn't doing anything dodgy, everything from official software and official guides.

Can I fix this somehow?
Thank you in advance.
Cheers
22nd December 2014, 03:55 PM   |  #3954  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nieuwegein, NL
Thanks Meter: 411
 
2,142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atrax2010

Can someone help me here, yesterday I tried to make an official update for my 810, I downloaded the official KitKat from Acer website, but it couldn't update, said I have wrong model number.
After that the tablet wouldn't restart, I had bootloop.
So I downloaded the proper 4.2 version for my model (ww_gen1) from Acer website, flashed it from SD card, everything went well, I restarted and the phone was again in bootloop, it would get to "Updating applications" and then restart.
So I entered recovery again, made factory reset and from that point on I can't turn on the device.
When it's plugged in i can hear it's connecting to PC but it isn't recognized, then disconnects immediately.
It also doesn't charge at all. When I started the procedure the battery was about 90% so I don't think it's the dead battery.
I had similar issue with my OneX, it was a faulty motherboard, so I'm worried my tablet is hardbricked.
But it makes no sense, it wasn't rooted, I wasn't doing anything dodgy, everything from official software and official guides.

Can I fix this somehow?
Thank you in advance.
Cheers

Hi Atrax2010,

Did you try the following guide:
Firmwares for flashing - [EN]

I have used it in the past and it worked perfectly. Simply choose the right ROM for you device and flash it with spflashtool and you're good to go. I have also seen some posts where they mentioned to fully discharge the device, or remove the battery (which is a bit more difficult in a tab)...

Let us know what happens with the guide

One more thing, it looks like you only used proper Acer firmwares. In that case my advice would be to contact local Acer support, because using the above firmwares is officially unsupported...

Regards,

Nika.
The Following User Says Thank You to nikagl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd December 2014, 07:21 PM   |  #3955  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Iconia B1 A71
Hi there,

I'm wondering if you could help me, please. I've followed the bootloader unlock, patch and root instructions for the B1 A71 to the tee and as far as I can tell it all went perfectly. The trouble is, after completing I can no longer switch the screen on. The Windows 7 PC I'm using can still recognise the device over adb (though not mtp) and I was even able to run the unroot successfully, but I can't switch the screen on to actually use the tablet. Has anybody got any ideas on how to proceed?

Edit: on trying to run root again it is still recognised over adb and copies busybox. I get as far as being asked to unlock the screen, which I can't do and attempting to simulate it doesn't work.

All the best and thanks for any help you can give,

Paradroid87
Last edited by Paradroid87; 22nd December 2014 at 07:25 PM.
22nd December 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #3956  
Atrax2010's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Zagreb
Thanks Meter: 140
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikagl

Hi Atrax2010,

Did you try the following guide:
Firmwares for flashing - [EN]

I have used it in the past and it worked perfectly. Simply choose the right ROM for you device and flash it with spflashtool and you're good to go. I have also seen some posts where they mentioned to fully discharge the device, or remove the battery (which is a bit more difficult in a tab)...

Let us know what happens with the guide

One more thing, it looks like you only used proper Acer firmwares. In that case my advice would be to contact local Acer support, because using the above firmwares is officially unsupported...

Regards,

Nika.

Hello sir. I will try with this guide first. My warranty is not valid anymore either way because I was opening the device before, and changing the screen on my own and so on, so I have to fix this on my own.
I will let you know if I succeeded with this guide.
Thank you.
Cheers.
23rd December 2014, 12:12 AM   |  #3957  
Atrax2010's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Zagreb
Thanks Meter: 140
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikagl

Hi Atrax2010,

Did you try the following guide:
Firmwares for flashing - [EN]

I have used it in the past and it worked perfectly. Simply choose the right ROM for you device and flash it with spflashtool and you're good to go. I have also seen some posts where they mentioned to fully discharge the device, or remove the battery (which is a bit more difficult in a tab)...

Let us know what happens with the guide

One more thing, it looks like you only used proper Acer firmwares. In that case my advice would be to contact local Acer support, because using the above firmwares is officially unsupported...

Regards,

Nika.

I just went through the procedure. The tab seems to be flashed OK, I'm an now charging it in the wall charger for 15min as said by instructions, the charging screen is showing so that's a good sign. That's should be it, thank you so much sir.
Tell me one more thing, is there a way for me to upgrade to an official kitkat without rooting? My model ww_gen1 isn't officially supported, but I was wondering if I can flash the 4.4 rom just as I did this one via spft? I really would like kitkat on my device 'cause I've read that it's a lot better with it.
Either way, thank you very much for the help

EDIT: Yup, everything seems to be working, and upon the bootup the phone immediately found a kitkat update. It wasn't finding any before.
I am about to root the device, I only want to remove bloatware.
Does it matter which one system.img.gz I download? I see a few of them for ww_gen1 and I don't know which should I choose. My Image version is RV0HRC03_WW_GEN1. Is it ok to use the RV27RC03_WW_GEN1 for my device?
Cheers
Last edited by Atrax2010; 23rd December 2014 at 02:15 AM.
23rd December 2014, 09:11 AM   |  #3958  
Optimissimus99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I would first install all updates, then unlock under KitKat, install cwm and root and THEN remove bloat

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
acer iconia, acer iconia a1-810, acer iconia b1-710, acer iconia b1-a71, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes