Consolidated GApps Central

Following the retirement of Paranoid Android GApps Provider TKruzze and subsequent deletion of … more

Samsung Galaxy S4 I9505 Receives CyanogenMod 12.1

Released in 2013, the Samsung Galaxy S4 I9505 is the quad-core Snapdragon … more

Sunday Debate: Corporate Cyanogen Good for Android?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Cyanogen Inc. Come with your opinions and feel … more

AOSP Lollipop 5.1.0 for LG Optimus 4X HD

One of the main rivals of the legendary Samsung Galaxy SIII, the LG Optimus 4X HD has received … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Note pro 12.2 temperatures

9th December 2014, 06:19 PM   |  #11  
{Diemex}'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Germany
Thanks Meter: 92
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
The highest I have ever reached on a tablet was about 53C. But that was while playing an intensive game and charging it at the same time. The 12.2 is very large and should dissipate the heat very well. 60-70 degrees sounds like a hardware fault to me. Could be mediaserver running at 100% because of faulty sd. I would try ticking format in odin to see if its the hardware. If its ok after that it might be a bad app.

Sent from my HTC One X+ using XDA Free mobile app
10th December 2014, 08:37 AM   |  #12  
Thyrador's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leipzig
Thanks Meter: 60
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzzy996

Wow. CPU monitoring software doesn't show anything taking up a lot of CPU time?

No, nothing specific to blame for that behaviour.

See pictures below:














As you can see temperatures are way too high even if I just stay on home screen without any app running in background doing heavy work.


Quote:
Originally Posted by {Diemex}

The highest I have ever reached on a tablet was about 53C. But that was while playing an intensive game and charging it at the same time. The 12.2 is very large and should dissipate the heat very well. 60-70 degrees sounds like a hardware fault to me. Could be mediaserver running at 100% because of faulty sd. I would try ticking format in odin to see if its the hardware. If its ok after that it might be a bad app.

Sent from my HTC One X+ using XDA Free mobile app

Scenario after having the device completely wiped (also internal sd and no external sd mounted) was still the same on last 6 pictures.
No additional apps were installed, except for earth, to show how far the temperature raises when doing some heavy work.
As you can see it still keeps its temperature above 50 degrees even after let it cool down a while.
Only way to get the temperature below 50 degrees was to disable the screen/poweroff the whole device.
Last edited by Thyrador; 10th December 2014 at 08:46 AM.
10th December 2014, 09:09 AM   |  #13  
{Diemex}'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Germany
Thanks Meter: 92
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Return it back to the store, it has to be a hardware defect. I would not use the 12.2 anymore, 70C is far too high for the lithium battery...

Sent from my SM-P900 using XDA Premium HD app
10th December 2014, 10:10 AM   |  #14  
Thyrador's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leipzig
Thanks Meter: 60
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by {Diemex}

Return it back to the store, it has to be a hardware defect. I would not use the 12.2 anymore, 70C is far too high for the lithium battery...

Sent from my SM-P900 using XDA Premium HD app

Yeah, will do that today. It wouldn't bother me if it was like under heavy load for a specific amount of time, but got that even while not using it.
Just hope that it wont take that long to get a replacement :/
Last edited by Thyrador; 10th December 2014 at 10:23 AM.
10th December 2014, 05:47 PM   |  #15  
dodo99x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 78
 
361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by {Diemex}

Return it back to the store, it has to be a hardware defect. I would not use the 12.2 anymore, 70C is far too high for the lithium battery...

Sent from my SM-P900 using XDA Premium HD app

That's showing A15 CPU core temp, not battery temp.
20th December 2014, 12:17 AM   |  #16  
Thyrador's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leipzig
Thanks Meter: 60
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Got a new one as replacement, issue seem to be gone so far.
Got 83C under heavy usage but without causing any reboot.
Temperatures are about 35-45C when idle, depending on what's the temperature of my room.
Seems pretty normal to me now



Sent from my beast called S5!
20th December 2014, 01:49 AM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2014
screen blinks while using and no service
Hey guys its my first question here
while playing games or using multitasks I feel like there something hot under the rear cam then the screen starts blinking and I got no service as if I have been changed to flight mode for about a second or two and it keeps repeating till I close some apps
all of that happens with the power saver on
If I switched off the power saver or even raise the brightness to maximum I won't even be able to watch a movie without screen blinking
I was asking should I get a new one or can it be repaired well and if I should ask for a battery change as well ??
I mean if the battery life time can be affected by that or not ??
23rd December 2014, 05:30 PM   |  #18  
Zugshad's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 349
 
1,494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by anhafez

Hey guys its my first question here
while playing games or using multitasks I feel like there something hot under the rear cam then the screen starts blinking and I got no service as if I have been changed to flight mode for about a second or two and it keeps repeating till I close some apps
all of that happens with the power saver on
If I switched off the power saver or even raise the brightness to maximum I won't even be able to watch a movie without screen blinking
I was asking should I get a new one or can it be repaired well and if I should ask for a battery change as well ??
I mean if the battery life time can be affected by that or not ??

That spot i am pretty sure is the battery. When I'm on a game fire a long time that is the area that gets hot and eventually i get a message that it can't charge due to the battery temperature. .i do not however get anything with my screen boning

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes