HTC M9 S-OFF In Less Than 24 Hours – No ETA On Release

HTC devices are no stranger to XDA’s Senior Recognized Developers … more

April Fools Round Up: The Year of Nostalgia

April Fools Day is once again upon us and as usual, tech companies everywhere have not … more

Android 5.1 OTA for Nexus Round-Up

The beginning of April is dominated by April Fools. There are jokes and pranks everywhere, which are … more

Official Lollipop for LG G2 Captured

LG is rolling out the Lollipop update for the LG G2. KDZ images for both 16 GB and 32 GB variants … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Get Firefox and Flash Working! Cricfree.tv = no ads!

18th May 2014, 04:24 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
After horsing around for quite a while side loading various flavors of firefox and flash finally got things to work. The "boat browser" worked with flash but there was no ad block support.Ended up just resetting the box. Here are the instructions to get firefox and flash working. Cricfree.tv plays perfectly with an ad free environment. Using the latest firefox beta for android.

1) Get firefox beta: https://wiki.mozilla.org/Mobile/Plat...d_Firefox_Beta

2) Get flash 11.1.115.47: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2139513

3) Side load and install both apk's. Launch adobe flash then select firefox and choose "always."

4) Once firefox is running click the circular button on the remote with the 3 horizontal lines, to the right of the home button. Choose Settings and Enable Plugins.

5) To block ads, access the Tools Menu (same way) then click Addons.

6) Install Adblock Plus and Bluehell Firewall. Both are required to stop the barrage of ads on cricfree.

7) For a "desktop" environment get the plugin Phony. The default "Request Desktop Site" option in firefox was not reliable.

8) That's it!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Technex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th May 2014, 07:01 PM |#2  
roligov's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durban
Thanks Meter: 72
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Lol the day I setup this up is the day the police decide to shutdown Cricfree.tv. Fantastic
25th May 2014, 05:02 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by roligov

Lol the day I setup this up is the day the police decide to shutdown Cricfree.tv. Fantastic

The old site is offline, but they have a new site up already lol.

cricfree.eu

Can also check out coolsport.tv.
25th May 2014, 07:15 AM |#4  
roligov's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durban
Thanks Meter: 72
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technex

The old site is offline, but they have a new site up already lol.

cricfree.eu

Can also check out coolsport.tv.

Thanks will try those out
24th June 2014, 08:13 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Not to rain the parade (seriously, good on you for figuring it out) but sideloaded XBMC + Sportsdevil add on will parse cricfree (and every other streaming site) and play them directly into your XBMC, no ad block needed as the ads never even factor into the equation. Just saying!
27th August 2014, 01:58 AM |#6  
jamboss's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 243
 
987 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Do you have to use the beta? i just installed probably the normal firefox and the flash player and it worked, i think the flash is working. Many thanks still though for the simple guide.
28th September 2014, 03:59 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by servo386

Not to rain the parade (seriously, good on you for figuring it out) but sideloaded XBMC + Sportsdevil add on will parse cricfree (and every other streaming site) and play them directly into your XBMC, no ad block needed as the ads never even factor into the equation. Just saying!

How did you install the Sportdevil addon? I tried to load it from SuperRepo but it says "incompatible"...
9th January 2015, 10:02 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
Using FF on FireTV
So, I installed firefox from the link you gave and installed adblock. Seems to work ok. No real need for flash. My question is how to control Firefox using a remote? Either a Harmony or the official Amazon FireTV Remote app? Is there documentation for this?
Also, what was the purpose of cricfree or sportsdevil?
Thanks,
SL
18th January 2015, 07:28 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2014
cric.sx
thanks for the info, i managed to get sky sports new working but no other channels work, says browser not compatible? any ideas please. thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Technex

After horsing around for quite a while side loading various flavors of firefox and flash finally got things to work. The "boat browser" worked with flash but there was no ad block support.Ended up just resetting the box. Here are the instructions to get firefox and flash working. Cricfree.tv plays perfectly with an ad free environment. Using the latest firefox beta for android.

1) Get firefox beta: https://wiki.mozilla.org/Mobile/Plat...d_Firefox_Beta

2) Get flash 11.1.115.47: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2139513

3) Side load and install both apk's. Launch adobe flash then select firefox and choose "always."

4) Once firefox is running click the circular button on the remote with the 3 horizontal lines, to the right of the home button. Choose Settings and Enable Plugins.

5) To block ads, access the Tools Menu (same way) then click Addons.

6) Install Adblock Plus and Bluehell Firewall. Both are required to stop the barrage of ads on cricfree.

7) For a "desktop" environment get the plugin Phony. The default "Request Desktop Site" option in firefox was not reliable.

8) That's it!


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes