Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[08DEC14][Kernel] [GT-I9505] AEL Kernel TW v6.5 {FEATURE PACKED} {STWEAKS}

OP friedrich420

15th January 2015, 09:20 PM   |  #841  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Hi, I'm on 4.4.2 and I noticed a different haptic feedback (like shorter, and so it seems also weaker) with respect to stock kernel. This "problem" come out also with every other kernel that manages vibration intensity via STweaks, while there isn't neither in semi-stock kernel (Adam and Talexop, no vibration intensity management) nor in KT's (management via different app)..
Of course I set the intensity at max, but it feels really different from what I am habituate to
Has anyone noticed this?
20th January 2015, 10:46 AM   |  #842  
Darkwing_X's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,294
 
843 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktm_91

Hi, I'm on 4.4.2 and I noticed a different haptic feedback (like shorter, and so it seems also weaker) with respect to stock kernel. This "problem" come out also with every other kernel that manages vibration intensity via STweaks, while there isn't neither in semi-stock kernel (Adam and Talexop, no vibration intensity management) nor in KT's (management via different app)..
Of course I set the intensity at max, but it feels really different from what I am habituate to
Has anyone noticed this?

Never noticed this, it's a long time ago since i last time used Stock, and Haptic feedback is the first thig i turn off.
Sorry that i can't help you.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Darkwing_X For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd January 2015, 01:14 PM   |  #843  
Mystique's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 379
 
1,395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Hello all and @friedrich420

It seems that stweaks does not present an accurate listing of all available cpu governors.

Trickster shows them just fine.

Latest tw 4.4.4 mainline.

Yank is what I was looking for and was unable to find.

Ael kernel debug lists it as an available governor..

Edit:
Looks like the last four listed are what is not available..
Last edited by Mystique; 22nd January 2015 at 01:20 PM.
22nd January 2015, 02:26 PM   |  #844  
friedrich420's Avatar
OP Senior Member
The Land of Whatever
Thanks Meter: 21,297
 
7,986 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystique

Hello all and @friedrich420

It seems that stweaks does not present an accurate listing of all available cpu governors.

Trickster shows them just fine.

Latest tw 4.4.4 mainline.

Yank is what I was looking for and was unable to find.

Ael kernel debug lists it as an available governor..

Edit:
Looks like the last four listed are what is not available..

You are right my friend its my mistake for forgetting to add them to stweaks. The governors are there.. they just dont show on stweaks but i recommend trickster anyway my man.. i keep forgetting to remove stweaks completely.. theres no need for it. The free version of trickster mod works perfectly with it :thumbup:
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to friedrich420 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd January 2015, 10:46 PM   |  #845  
Mystique's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 379
 
1,395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by friedrich420

i keep forgetting to remove stweaks completely.. theres no need for it. The free version of trickster mod works perfectly with it

Stweaks settings not in Trickster (free or paid)

[CPU]
Cpu Clock Control - MSM / Intelliplug / Hotplug
Intelliplug Additional
Intelli Hotplug Hysteresis

[GPU]
GPU Voltage Control

[MSM Thermal]
CPU Temp Control

[LED and GAMMA]
All those settings are totally different in Trickster.

[SOUND]
All those settings are totally different..

[IO]
Nothing for Internal/External just one

[MISC]
Dynamic FSYNC
Gentle Fair Sleepers
Disable Android Logger (this is a big deal imho)

[MEMORY]
LMK when screen off

[OTHER]
None of these exist in Trickster

[BUG REPORT]
Nothing like this in Trickster

I agree that Stweaks is old, but it does have it's place for kernel tweaking.

Just needs some attention

Thank you greatly for your response.
22nd January 2015, 11:17 PM   |  #846  
Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 208
 
366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystique

Stweaks settings not in Trickster (free or paid)

[CPU]
Cpu Clock Control - MSM / Intelliplug / Hotplug
Intelliplug Additional
Intelli Hotplug Hysteresis

[GPU]
GPU Voltage Control

[MSM Thermal]
CPU Temp Control

[LED and GAMMA]
All those settings are totally different in Trickster.

[SOUND]
All those settings are totally different..

[IO]
Nothing for Internal/External just one

[MISC]
Dynamic FSYNC
Gentle Fair Sleepers
Disable Android Logger (this is a big deal imho)

[MEMORY]
LMK when screen off

[OTHER]
None of these exist in Trickster

[BUG REPORT]
Nothing like this in Trickster

I agree that Stweaks is old, but it does have it's place for kernel tweaking.

Just needs some attention

Thank you greatly for your response.

Stweaks isn't always very reliable applying some changes.
TricksterMod is the way to go for average users.
Faux or Franco kernel app is what's up :thumbup:
Last edited by MohamedN; 22nd January 2015 at 11:20 PM.
23rd January 2015, 12:44 PM   |  #847  
Mystique's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 379
 
1,395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Purchased the faux app last night.

Great app.

Not good with error checking..

Looks like AEL does not have zram, if it does, faux after reboot can not make it work..
The Following User Says Thank You to Mystique For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2015, 03:38 PM   |  #848  
Mystique's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 379
 
1,395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
@friedrich420

Hello sir; sorry to bother..

Having a heck of time trying to figure out what the deal is with zram..

ael.sh looks like it calls:

# zram 700M
if [ "$sammyzram" == "on" ];then
UNIT="M"
/system/bin/rtccd3 -a "$zramdisksize$UNIT"
fi;

root@jfltetmo:/sbin # ls -al /system/bin/rtccd3
/system/bin/rtccd3: No such file or directory
1
root@jfltetmo:/sbin # ls -al /system/bin/rtccd2
-rwxr-xr-x root shell 75328 2008-08-01 08:00 rtccd2

So if I set sammyzram=on and zramdisksize=500 inside my default.profile,

would that set a zram with a 500M size?

trickster will only do 10% and faux123 turns zram off and can do nothing with it

I'm trying to get zram on, so I can look at that little pie chart graph of the reads vs writes that zram has done..

If there is an easier way to see that or a different app; I'm all good..

Literally trying to evaluate the usefulness of zram..

Thanks in advance.

By default it looks like this:

shell@jfltetmo:/ $ free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 1858896 1209964 648932 0 15540
-/+ buffers: 1194424 664472
Swap: 511996 26452 485544

Which looks like a 500M zram drive..

Opening faux and touching 'Set on Boot' in the Memory Manager area breaks everything

Unless there is a different/working way to set that 'Clear vfs cache after boot' and 'Auto fs writeback delay mode'..

Unless those are worthless

Trying to set them seems to be great, until a reboot; then they are all not working..

Again, thank you.

Edit:

Using stweaks and trickster seems to be a win.. basically don't tell faux to do anything.. in zram..

Seems to work
Last edited by Mystique; 23rd January 2015 at 03:52 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes