Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Oneplus One Australia thread

OP kuromusha38

27th September 2014, 03:53 PM   |  #41  
wacky.ddw's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney (Australia)
Thanks Meter: 37
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Hi guys,

I'm going to Sydney with a working holiday visa the 26th of November for an unknown period off time. Depending on how I like the country

I sent back my previous Oneplus one because of the touchscreen issue and ordered a new one. Do allot off you experience ghost touches, swipes and unresponsive screen? I noticed It got worse in hotter countries I really do hope that this device will not have this problem since its going to be the only bit off technology I'm taking with me.

Also what provider has the best 4G coverage over the whole country? I use Mobile Vikings here in Belgium.
27th September 2014, 05:38 PM   |  #42  
Kerjifire's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 510
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wacky.ddw

Hi guys,

I'm going to Sydney with a working holiday visa the 26th of November for an unknown period off time. Depending on how I like the country

I sent back my previous Oneplus one because of the touchscreen issue and ordered a new one. Do allot off you experience ghost touches, swipes and unresponsive screen? I noticed It got worse in hotter countries I really do hope that this device will not have this problem since its going to be the only bit off technology I'm taking with me.

Also what provider has the best 4G coverage over the whole country? I use Mobile Vikings here in Belgium.

I can't answer for Sydney coverage, but in Melbourne I find Optus is pretty good.

With regards to the touchscreen issue, it should be fixed in the upcoming OTA or if not, franco kernel seems to solve the problem for most people, including myself.

Have fun in Aus
27th September 2014, 08:13 PM   |  #43  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
I've had my opo for almost 2 months now, I had to switch from optus to telstra as i wasn't getting 3g where i live(Sunshine coast). The weird thing is if i'm in my house, i will only get 2g, yet with my nexus 4 i get 3g. And if i walk outside i get better reception on the opo lol. A friend also has the opo and hasn't had any issues with 4g or 3g in maryborough.
29th September 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #44  
wacky.ddw's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sydney (Australia)
Thanks Meter: 37
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Yea I've heard that Telstra has best coverage before I think I'm going to take that. Thanks!

Yea my previous OPO was made 15/06 and it had huge touchscreen problems. When I was in Hungary or the south of France the thing would not work at all because of the warmer climate 30C to 37C.

But my friends there OPO's only came 2 months later and they don't have the problem at all. I thought they where just bluffing or typed really slow but I tested it myself.

So I waited for a while now in total 14 people I know have the device and of all of them only 3 had the problem they where all made before 15/07/2014 all the ones that came after where fine. So I sent mine back trough Paypal buyers protection and ordered a new one. I should have it tomorrow or the day after I think it was just a faulty batch and that the OTA will not solve anything for those people but I could be wrong tough.


I'm really curious what Aussie is going to be like 58 days left!
3rd October 2014, 01:47 AM   |  #45  
Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 7
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
In suburban Sydney, you won't really have any issues with any of the carriers (aside from the occasional black spot). Being Sydney, it will be very well covered.

I'm on the Central Coast (about 100km north of the Sydney CBD), and I get good 4G with Optus. If they will put it up here, then Sydney will be golden.
24th January 2015, 05:20 AM   |  #46  
Senior Member
Flag Who Cares?
Thanks Meter: 184
 
399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Not to bump a really ols thread..

But I'm getting a OnePlus One 64GB Sandstone black shipped to me from Oppomart in the coming weeks. This means that its the Chinese version which I am totally aware of. I'll just unlock the bootloader, reflash CM11S (44S) and then TWRP and probably root and wait for 12S.

My question is has anyone had any troubles using Optus in the Chinese version of the OnePlus One? I'm currently with amaysim on their unlimited plan (5GB, unlimited calls, SMS and MMS, $44) and I'm not looking to change that, I get service on my Nexus 5 that I am currently using and it seems that the bands are compatible but before I go and order I thought I'd ask.

Thanks!
24th January 2015, 06:07 AM   |  #47  
timmaaa's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 7,964
 
16,286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vekhez

Not to bump a really ols thread..

But I'm getting a OnePlus One 64GB Sandstone black shipped to me from Oppomart in the coming weeks. This means that its the Chinese version which I am totally aware of. I'll just unlock the bootloader, reflash CM11S (44S) and then TWRP and probably root and wait for 12S.

My question is has anyone had any troubles using Optus in the Chinese version of the OnePlus One? I'm currently with amaysim on their unlimited plan (5GB, unlimited calls, SMS and MMS, $44) and I'm not looking to change that, I get service on my Nexus 5 that I am currently using and it seems that the bands are compatible but before I go and order I thought I'd ask.

Thanks!

You won't have any problems. The Chinese model is identical to the international model apart from one LTE band, which doesn't affect Optus coverage.

If you need a guide on unlocking your bootloader and all that I have one here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2839471

Transmitted via Bacon
The Following User Says Thank You to timmaaa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2015, 06:20 AM   |  #48  
Senior Member
Flag Who Cares?
Thanks Meter: 184
 
399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa

You won't have any problems. The Chinese model is identical to the international model apart from one LTE band, which doesn't affect Optus coverage.

If you need a guide on unlocking your bootloader and all that I have one here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2839471

Transmitted via Bacon

Aha! That's what I thought! Just thought it's better to make sure than to be sorry :P So from what I have gathered then flashing 11S via a factory image will then allow me to have full OTA functions of 11S and would be the same as the international One?
24th January 2015, 06:44 AM   |  #49  
timmaaa's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 7,964
 
16,286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vekhez

Aha! That's what I thought! Just thought it's better to make sure than to be sorry :P So from what I have gathered then flashing 11S via a factory image will then allow me to have full OTA functions of 11S and would be the same as the international One?

Yeah that's right, there is a flashable CM11S ROM zip but you're better off flashing the fastboot images because this'll ensure that all your firmware is correct (which flashing the ROM zip won't do).

Transmitted via Bacon
The Following User Says Thank You to timmaaa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2015, 07:55 AM   |  #50  
Senior Member
Flag Who Cares?
Thanks Meter: 184
 
399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa

Yeah that's right, there is a flashable CM11S ROM zip but you're better off flashing the fastboot images because this'll ensure that all your firmware is correct (which flashing the ROM zip won't do).

Transmitted via Bacon

Awesome! Thanks heaps!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes