Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

External USB storage working with XBMC

20th December 2014, 09:18 PM   |  #21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
thanks for share
29th December 2014, 02:04 AM   |  #22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Anyone know if i can use an external non-powered (WD passport Ultra 2tb) drive? I tried it today without a powered usb hub and the hd just clicked and clicked. I assume not enough power going through the usb cuz i then put it in my windows machine and it opened fine (not damaged). So, can i get a powered hub and have this work? I know a powered external drive works without needing a hub.

If yes, this CAN work, can someone suggest a powered hub that will work? I've heard these android devices can be fickle. If not, i will have to return this drive and get a powered drive

Thanks in advance.
29th December 2014, 08:42 PM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by drumst1x

Anyone know if i can use an external non-powered (WD passport Ultra 2tb) drive? I tried it today without a powered usb hub and the hd just clicked and clicked. I assume not enough power going through the usb cuz i then put it in my windows machine and it opened fine (not damaged). So, can i get a powered hub and have this work? I know a powered external drive works without needing a hub.

If yes, this CAN work, can someone suggest a powered hub that will work? I've heard these android devices can be fickle. If not, i will have to return this drive and get a powered drive

Thanks in advance.

I've got an older WD passport 320GB and wondering the same thing. Mainly, I want XBMC data going to it instead of the fire tv. XBMC takes up well over a gig just for it's library data.
30th December 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #24  
Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
I picked up an Amazon basics powered 4 port USB 3.0 hub that works great powering my hard drive and wireless keyboard.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
1st January 2015, 02:18 PM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by roligov

Yes you need to remount the system with write access...

Code:
su
mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system /system
Check if it was mounted in read-write mode (rw):
Code:
mount | grep system
Should return
Code:
/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system /system ext4 rw,relatime,data=ordered 0 0
Now go make your changes then once done remount it as read-only again:
Code:
mount -o ro,remount /dev/block/stl12 /system

How to check if it's in the read-write mode

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk
12th January 2015, 07:39 PM   |  #26  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbrabble

I picked up an Amazon basics powered 4 port USB 3.0 hub that works great powering my hard drive and wireless keyboard.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Totally bizarre, but I also picked up the amazon basics 4-port powered USB 3.0 hub. I originally had the hard drive issue with my parents' Fire TV. I ordered the hub, sent it to my house, and tried it on my Fire TV with my unpowered USB external HD. I first confirmed that I had the same issue (clicking, but HD not being recognized) without using the Hub. Then, for some reason, i guess just to do things in steps, I tried plugging in the hub and then plugging the hard drive into that, but NOT powering up the hub. Guess what? The hard drive worked fine! ?!?!??!??? No idea why, but it was fine. Now I assume I wouldn't have enough power to power too many more devices, but if it's just the HD plugged into the hub, it works fine UNPOWERED. Very odd. Just thought I'd share the info. I gave the hub to my parents and it worked the same way on theirs.

Odd, but true.

Thanks for the tip
26th January 2015, 10:44 PM   |  #27  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
May I mount a CD or DVD via a USB DVD player using this method? Thank you.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes