Post Reply

Z1 Compact audio quality, post your impressions

OP vboechat

20th July 2014, 10:58 AM   |  #51  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Kitkat ROMs also support USB DACs, so *any* Android device with kitkat without the OTG feature disabled can have the same hi-quality sound.

I've tried my FiiO E7 USB DAC/Headphone Amp with an OTG adapter, and it works like a charm on the Z1 Compact.

I haven't tried any detailed tests with the direct headphone output, the headphone output through the E7 amp, and the E7 in USB DAC mode with my nicer headphones. I did some quick tests at work (that's where I keep my E7) with a set of inexpensive Syba GamesterGear PS3210 headphones and the analog out sounded bassier, than the USB DAC, even with all the digital effects turned off (Walkman App with flat equalizer and no DSP processing.) So I suspect that the analog audio circuit is boosting the bass (not surprising since bud earphones are have terrible bass response.)
22nd July 2014, 04:02 PM   |  #52  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by komedol

Right out of the box, in my opinion (and compared to my old LG O2X) when hooked up with my earphone Z1C is too quiet for my liking. But then I installed the Z1C volume mod, and when paired my favorite music player (PowerAmp) and VIPER4Android the volume level increases significantly without any noticable loss in sound quality.

Why cant i install Viperforandroid? I tried twrp and phils recoverys..
22nd July 2014, 07:49 PM   |  #53  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 388
 
1,386 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
You guys need to try PowerAMP this time. Walkman app is good because it supports ClearAudio+ plus ClearStereo for headphone and ClearPhase plus XLOUD for speaker. However, some apps like PowerAMP does also support all of them and provides same and even better audio quality.

I usually use PowerAMP EQ plus Sony EQ at the same time. They worked together perfectly, you guys just need to get in PowerAMP's Tone/Vol, long press on MusicFX and you can now access to the Sony EQ menu just like in Walkman app, there you can find ClearAudio+, ClearStereo, ClearPhase, XLOUD and also a Dynamic normaliser for loudness volume boost.

My z1c audio quality indeed is good but just the only problem to me is Sony EQ doesn't working very well(but it is acceptable) with my Beats earphone from HTC. They are mainly tuned for Sony's own ear/headphone because I've tested it myself in a local Sony Store(they have put every Sony earphone out and let customer to try). I will need HTC's beats EQ profile to real match my earphone but I have no time to do such mod myself, so I use back my HTC to listen music....lol
23rd July 2014, 03:30 AM   |  #54  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zike47222

Why cant i install Viperforandroid? I tried twrp and phils recoverys..

Did you download the VIPER4Android file from http://vipersaudio.com/blog/?page_id=48? Because it's not a flashable file. Extract the zip file and install the apk like normal app.
13th February 2015, 03:09 PM   |  #55  
pathaniya's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
572 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by komedol

Did you download the VIPER4Android file from http://vipersaudio.com/blog/?page_id=48? Because it's not a flashable file. Extract the zip file and install the apk like normal app.

Am on .157 rooted, Viper doesn't auto pick up settings if I go from speakers to headphones. I've to uncheck speakers to avail headset feature and that too with AGC+ on.
Am on latest Viper4AndroidFX v2.3.3.0 version. I agree to it prowess but it's not behaving optimally.
I've not edited Build Prop. Has anyone did?
14th February 2015, 04:54 PM   |  #56  
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 229
 
906 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pathaniya

Am on .157 rooted, Viper doesn't auto pick up settings if I go from speakers to headphones. I've to uncheck speakers to avail headset feature and that too with AGC+ on.
Am on latest Viper4AndroidFX v2.3.3.0 version. I agree to it prowess but it's not behaving optimally.
I've not edited Build Prop. Has anyone did?

Mine working as usual..

Sent from my D5503
15th February 2015, 04:56 AM   |  #57  
pathaniya's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
572 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolkoushik07

Mine working as usual..

Sent from my D5503

Thanks Koushik, I have reboot evertime for it to fully intergrate between, diffrent music apps or when switching, to and from, speakers to apps.
And yes too good an app.
15th February 2015, 09:16 AM   |  #58  
Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 45
 
457 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quality seems good to me, but loudness is way to low. Loudness is some what good for quiet environment but in noisy environment it is poor. And one more thing forget about headphones even sony headphones sounds too low on this phone. My Razer electra sound ok because of better isolation.
17th February 2015, 08:41 PM   |  #59  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
For me, the audio quality with poweramp and viper4android with the super audio driver seems as good as a rockboxed clip zip. Without viper, the audio quality seems to be worse.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes