Team Win Recovery Project for Tornado 348

more

PhotoMath: A Math Beginner’s Dream App

more

Leaked Galaxy S6 Apps Hit the Forums

more

Fix Untinted Recent Panels on Lollipop

more
Post Reply

ZTE Reef (Virgin Mobile)

OP Tarrnation

19th March 2014, 09:26 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Any chance of getting this phone rooted before it becomes completely obsolete?
29th April 2014, 08:57 AM   |  #2  
Nightwolf769's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Croydon
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Talking ZTE Reef N810 has been rooted!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarrnation

Any chance of getting this phone rooted before it becomes completely obsolete?

I just rooted my girlfriend's Reef in about 2 mins. I haven't yet messed with roms or recoveries yet, however, that will be a project for tomorrow. It's a pretty simple procedure, make sure your phone is set to allow apps from unknown sources, Google "Framaroot 1.4.1" from your phone's browser, then download the apk. Also make sure that if you have anti-virus on your phone, clear the defaults, as the apk will not install if you have it set to autoscan before install. Click the download in the notification bar when it is done, then install with "package installer". When done, open the program, install with "Superuser" (which is the default option at the top). My phone rooted with the "Gandalf" exploit. Reboot your device. Verify that "Superuser" shows in the app drawer, I also verify root with "Root Checker" by joeykrim.
29th April 2014, 10:56 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightwolf769

I just rooted my girlfriend's Reef in about 2 mins. I haven't yet messed with roms or recoveries yet, however, that will be a project for tomorrow. It's a pretty simple procedure, make sure your phone is set to allow apps from unknown sources, Google "Framaroot 1.4.1" from your phone's browser, then download the apk. Also make sure that if you have anti-virus on your phone, clear the defaults, as the apk will not install if you have it set to autoscan before install. Click the download in the notification bar when it is done, then install with "package installer". When done, open the program, install with "Superuser" (which is the default option at the top). My phone rooted with the "Gandalf" exploit. Reboot your device. Verify that "Superuser" shows in the app drawer, I also verify root with "Root Checker" by joeykrim.

Awesome, thanks! Will give this a try soon. Any reason for not using the latest version of Framaroot?
29th April 2014, 05:56 PM   |  #4  
Nightwolf769's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Croydon
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
No specific reason, you could try the latest version if you so desire, that is just the one that I used.

Sent from my SGH-T699 using XDA Free mobile app
30th May 2014, 11:56 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Thanks!
Finally got around to playing with this device. Rooted successfully with framaroot 1.9.2 same method as you described.

Got any optimization tips?
17th September 2014, 07:28 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
created cwm recovery for it it works but when I go in to recovery it is destorted I can make selections but cant see what im selecting. any ideals? Display settings or anything. thanks
Last edited by gpjavan; 18th January 2015 at 01:45 AM.
15th February 2015, 11:51 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpjavan

created cwm recovery for it it works but when I go in to recovery it is destorted I can make selections but cant see what im selecting. any ideals? Display settings or anything. thanks

I have been trying a lot to find the stock recovery image but all the methods listed pretty much everywhere have failed. How did you manage to extract the recovery.img?

My Reef is rooted and I have spent more than a week trying to extract recovery.img but no luck
25th February 2015, 06:37 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2015
Post cwm recovery
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpjavan

created cwm recovery for it it works but when I go in to recovery it is destorted I can make selections but cant see what im selecting. any ideals? Display settings or anything. thanks

Mind sending me the recovery? I recently bootlooped my phone and I'm trying to fix it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes