Post Reply

How-To Adblock Without Rooting (mobile data adblock working)

OP phazey12

28th January 2015, 06:56 PM   |  #91  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Installing AdBlockPlus will change your device status from Official to Custom if you have a rooted device.
Last edited by gduong128; 17th February 2015 at 07:15 PM.
28th January 2015, 07:00 PM   |  #92  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gduong128

Installing AdBlockPlus will change your device status from Official to Custom.

gduong128, are you replying to my post or someone else's?
30th January 2015, 06:28 AM   |  #93  
corbycave's Avatar
Member
Flag Durant
Thanks Meter: 3
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
I have a us cellular galaxy s5 g900r4, and I have no APN submenu. Is there a way to activate it?
30th January 2015, 06:56 PM   |  #94  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EliezerB

gduong128, are you replying to my post or someone else's?

I'm not replying to anyone's post, just letting people know a drawback for installing ABP.
Last edited by gduong128; 6th February 2015 at 08:05 PM.
5th February 2015, 05:38 AM   |  #95  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Big thanks to the OP for this. Worked perfectly on my G900T.
17th February 2015, 05:08 AM   |  #96  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gduong128

Installing AdBlockPlus will change your device status from Official to Custom.

Eh?

No it doesn't.
17th February 2015, 02:12 PM   |  #97  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
It does on my rooted S5 G900W8.
17th February 2015, 07:01 PM   |  #98  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gduong128

It does on my rooted S5 G900W8.

You don't think that might have more to do with having rooted it?

My S5 is not rooted and has a working ABP on it and has a device status of official.
17th February 2015, 07:17 PM   |  #99  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
OK, I've updated my post to include for rooted device. My rooted S5 was Official before installing ABP, then became Custom after intalling ABP.
Today, 12:21 AM   |  #100  
IT_Scooter's Avatar
Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 4
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
ABP has problems...
There are websites that this method breaks - one in particular thinks I've disabled cookies when I use this. Also, I couldn't share a video from the TED app to facebook until I disabled ABP. It also wasn't blocking ads in some aps eg File Manager HD.

I've had to uninstall it. I don't want to root my S4 (GT-I9507) as there are certain apps I want that won't work on a rooted device.

when rooted, I was running AdAway - a brilliant, easy solution, pity I can't use it un-rooted
Last edited by IT_Scooter; Today at 12:25 AM. Reason: add more info

The Following User Says Thank You to IT_Scooter For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes