FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Galaxy S5 USB3 - or not!

106 posts
Thanks Meter: 19
 
By markymarkis, Senior Member on 19th April 2014, 04:37 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,
I've tried using a USB3.0 cable but my system still says its only running at high speed (usb 2) not super speed (usb3)
same results with mac os and windows 8.1

windows: using usbview on windows as documented here :
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/usbcoreblog/...uperspeed.aspx

mac: using system information.

is this a firmware limitation or is it happening with every unit?
 
 
19th April 2014, 04:01 PM |#2  
altimax98's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mulberry, Florida
Thanks Meter: 573
 
More
There should be a setting in the storage area to enable USB 3.0. By default it will always initially connect at 2.0 unless that toggle is flipped

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk
20th April 2014, 12:08 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by altimax98

There should be a setting in the storage area to enable USB 3.0. By default it will always initially connect at 2.0 unless that toggle is flipped

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk

does anyone know where to find that toggle?
20th April 2014, 12:25 AM |#4  
altimax98's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mulberry, Florida
Thanks Meter: 573
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markymarkis

does anyone know where to find that toggle?

Itll be on the USB PC connection screen. Plug your S5 into the PC and tap the notification that should say Connected as MTP. Itll bring you to the screen with the selection. Itll have to be enabled each time you connect the cable from what I know
20th April 2014, 12:31 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by altimax98

Itll be on the USB PC connection screen. Plug your S5 into the PC and tap the notification that should say Connected as MTP. Itll bring you to the screen with the selection. Itll have to be enabled each time you connect the cable from what I know

I've never seen that option, if i plug in the usb cable then go to notifications and click "connected as a media device"
when i tap it i get the option to connect as a media device (mtp) or camera (ptp)
and nothing else.
no other option, no menu.
20th April 2014, 12:47 AM |#6  
altimax98's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mulberry, Florida
Thanks Meter: 573
 
More
You are using a USB 3.0 cable and port with USB 3.0 drivers installed?

Especially the driver part

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
20th April 2014, 12:51 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by altimax98

You are using a USB 3.0 cable and port with USB 3.0 drivers installed?

Especially the driver part

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

of course.
22nd April 2014, 02:51 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markymarkis

of course.

ok i have found the reason.
the Australian firmware (straight from samsung, not carrier related) is severely crippled.
it has usb 3 disabled completely.

i flashed the taiwanese firmware on my device and now under windows when i plug it in i get the usb3 option on the phone, when activated it works perfectly. mac osx doesn't work.

i can't believe how crippled the Australian firmware is, no auto rotate in gallery, not able to turn off shutter sound in camera, can't modify the dock. no camera on lock screen, no usb3 support, and probably more...
The Following User Says Thank You to markymarkis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2015, 01:38 PM |#9  
Nightlight's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Babylon 5
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markymarkis

ok i have found the reason.
the Australian firmware (straight from samsung, not carrier related) is severely crippled.
it has usb 3 disabled completely.

i flashed the taiwanese firmware on my device and now under windows when i plug it in i get the usb3 option on the phone, when activated it works perfectly. mac osx doesn't work.

i can't believe how crippled the Australian firmware is, no auto rotate in gallery, not able to turn off shutter sound in camera, can't modify the dock. no camera on lock screen, no usb3 support, and probably more...


I know this is an old thread but at least you managed to find a firmware that worked. I have a G900F with a USB3 port that I cannot use
cheers all!
Night...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes