Post Reply

How to manually upgrade/downgrade your Amazon FireTV

OP roligov

2nd March 2015, 08:09 PM   |  #131  
roligov's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Durban
Thanks Meter: 72
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
This guide I posted is well out of date, there are others methods to follow.

Please use http://www.aftvnews.com/tag/guide/ as is it up to date and current.
3rd March 2015, 03:21 AM   |  #132  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Thanks for the quick response. I'll give that a try.
3rd March 2015, 04:38 AM   |  #133  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
592 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Chances are that if you need to downgrade the firmware, you also need to overwrite the recovery partition in order for it to work. Before you do the downgrade, follow the directions at the bottom of the guide to downgrade the stock 51.1.0 recovery partition.

BTW, I use the AFTV guide, but I also use the "Amazon FireTV Utility App" to automate a lot of the processes, like fully unlocking the bootloader, etc.
3rd March 2015, 07:03 PM   |  #134  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I tried again to downgrade and even tried to upgrade using the AFTVNews guide. The result is the same whether upgrading or downgrading. update.zip copies fine Fire TV reboots and stays on white Amazon Logo with yellow light on Fire TV. Probably something I am missing but not sure what. I have rooted and installed custom recovery, unlocked bootloader on other Fire TV so I have a pretty good idea what I'm doing, just not sure what I'm missing on the downgrade
3rd March 2015, 10:10 PM   |  #135  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
51.1.4.0_514006420 back to root??
I had my firetv rooted and everything. Have the updates also switched off.

But then i updated it manually to 51.1.4.0_514006420 version and lost the root.. I can see supersu and towelroot installed but it does not have the option of running.

Experts - Is there a possibility i can go back to the rootable version of sw? What would that version be?
Yesterday, 12:19 AM   |  #136  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
592 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Super SU doesn't open. That's normal. Just do an adb shell and test you have root.
Yesterday, 12:48 AM   |  #137  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sizzlechest

Super SU doesn't open. That's normal. Just do an adb shell and test you have root.

usually superSU shows 'Launch Application'.. which is no longer being shown. its shows as an application but no launch

i connected to FTV and it shows following on command prompt:
C:\FTV>adb connect 192.168.1.3
connected to 192.168.1.3:5555

C:\FTV>adb shell su
root@android:/ #

Does this mean its rooted?
Yesterday, 03:28 AM   |  #138  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
592 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by saudagar

usually superSU shows 'Launch Application'.. which is no longer being shown. its shows as an application but no launch

That's normal. I think it's how the newer SuperSU behaves.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saudagar

i connected to FTV and it shows following on command prompt:
C:\FTV>adb connect 192.168.1.3
connected to 192.168.1.3:5555

C:\FTV>adb shell su
root@android:/ #

Does this mean its rooted?

Yes. If you unlocked the bootloader fully, then even "adb shell" would result in root@android.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes