Post Reply

How to update SGH-I747 to UCUFNE4_4.4.2

OP enewman17

21st February 2015, 06:52 PM   |  #431  
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayateyoshida

I already had android 4.3 on SGH-I747 (obviously) and already had TWRP 2.7 on it. I attempted to install your (OP's) custom recovery and it came up with a bunch of error messages stating "command not found" or something along those lines and then failed. I then rebooted and got the AT&T boot screen loop and I now cannot turn my S III back on no matter what I try. It won't even charge - I have multiple batteries and phones, the battery is fine.

I747u or i747m? This only works on i747u & if you were on older firmware than MJB, it won't work, has to be i747u on MJB to flash, if not you more than likely bricked it
22nd February 2015, 04:32 AM   |  #432  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Which custom recovery did you flash? I see no custom recovery in the original post.

He lists them in step 3, I used the Stock + Root one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by canodroid15

I747u or i747m? This only works on i747u & if you were on older firmware than MJB, it won't work, has to be i747u on MJB to flash, if not you more than likely bricked it

I have the I have the AT&T version. It's not the M. 4.3 is MJB.

This is my second time using a process like this to update as I do not like having to reflash Odin back on in order to use OTA. I did a similar one for 4.3 and it worked flawlessly. I'm not sure where I went wrong this time.
Last edited by hayateyoshida; 22nd February 2015 at 04:39 AM.
22nd February 2015, 02:07 PM   |  #433  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Alguien sabe que si cambiando ah esta rooms funciona a el 4g en perfecto estado??? Por ejemplo en Venezuela no me da seņal de 3g solo esta en edge
22nd February 2015, 04:51 PM   |  #434  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,469
 
3,768 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayateyoshida

I already had android 4.3 on SGH-I747 (obviously) and already had TWRP 2.7 on it. I attempted to install your (OP's) custom recovery and it came up with a bunch of error messages stating "command not found" or something along those lines and then failed. I then rebooted and got the AT&T boot screen loop and I now cannot turn my S III back on no matter what I try. It won't even charge - I have multiple batteries and phones, the battery is fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayateyoshida

He lists them in step 3, I used the Stock + Root one.

Step 3 is where the ROM is flashed, not a custom recovery. Sorry, I was confused by your wording.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to audit13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2015, 05:51 PM   |  #435  
Quote:
Originally Posted by hefestto

Alguien sabe que si cambiando ah esta rooms funciona a el 4g en perfecto estado??? Por ejemplo en Venezuela no me da seņal de 3g solo esta en edge

English please! Google translator👍
23rd February 2015, 01:11 AM   |  #436  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Step 3 is where the ROM is flashed, not a custom recovery. Sorry, I was confused by your wording.

My apologies for the confusion.
24th February 2015, 04:58 AM   |  #437  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Ok so I installed this rom without any issues coming from SlimKat to 4.3 to this rom. Everything on the rom seems to work but Im having one issue, I cant write to the internal memory, I cant manually write to it using file managers including ES file manager, I cant create files/ folders, cant copy and paste and apps doesnt seem to have permission to write to it either....no whatsapp doesnt create a folder and so I cannot get or take pictures or get voicenotes in whatsapp, mp3 downloaders cant downloads mp3's and stuff like that... seems to be a permission issue with the rom. What can I do to rectify this behaviour?
p.s. Ive reinstalled slimkat to test if this issue was present since I updated the bootloader to NE4 and the issue was not present, reinstall the Stock Rom and its there again.
Any advice is greatly welcome.




Quote:
Originally Posted by enewman17

This is how I updated to 4.4.2
This is a full firmware update!

I'm not the best at giving directions. I do expect a certain level of knowledge and skill on your end.

Need a device with a custom recovery.
usb debugging turned on.
adb and a rooted device.
proper drivers for phone installed on your pc
Knowledge of flashing and using odin.

Checking the bootloader.
If your not sure what bootloader your on.

Code:
adb shell
getprop ro.bootloader
exit
exit <--- the second exit is to completely terminate the shell connection.
Or in a terminal emulator on your phone.
Code:
su
getprop ro.bootloader
1. In a custom recovery flash MJB bootloaders https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23269279319197285
Reboot phone fully then reboot back into your custom recovery.

2. In a custom recovery flash the MJB to NE4 firmware update. https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23501681358559161

3. Wipe and install UCUFNE4 in custom recovery.
Stock + Root: https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23501681358550126
Stock DeOdex + Root: https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23501681358550125

4. (Optional) Flash the stock recovery in your custom recovery. https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23681161096070493
While working with spagman72 on debricking devices we figured out no amount of ODIN will be as effective as a full wipe in the stock S3 recovery.
A wipe in the stock S3 recovery will also fix any sdcard encryption issues as well.
Now reboot back into the stock recovery and do a factory reset.

5. Use odin and flash your preferred custom recovery again.

Yesterday, 08:07 PM   |  #438  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Bricked
I followed the procedures to the letter and bricked my phone. Started the update and when it went to reboot it was DEAD. Took it to a phone shop and they said the motherboard was bad. Wasn't before doing this update! Just sayin'.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes