Sunshine Compatible with HTC One M9

Two Senior Recognized Developers jcase and beaups officially released a new version of Sunshine. … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for YU Yureka

YU Yureka recently received an official Cyanogen OS 12S update. If you prefer to use a newer revision of … more

Open War for Open Android: Antitrust for Cyanogen?

Android and openness is something we talk about all the time, but the recent … more

What Do You Do with All of Your Old Photos?

Smartphone cameras have advanced so tremendously over the past few years that they have … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Can't use IR Blaster without HTC TV app?

1st June 2014, 07:36 AM |#1  
S1L3nTShaDoWz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 74
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
No IR blaster apps work to control my TV or any TV's other than the TV app which came with the phone? Is this normal and if so how can I use external apps to control my IR blaster? e.g power on or off TV

ROM: Android Revolution HD
Kernel CHECKM8
S-OFF W unlocked bootloader & TWRP
MNumber: HTC6525LVW
 
 
1st June 2014, 08:16 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by S1L3nTShaDoWz

No IR blaster apps work to control my TV or any TV's other than the TV app which came with the phone? Is this normal and if so how can I use external apps to control my IR blaster? e.g power on or off TV

ROM: Android Revolution HD
Kernel CHECKM8
S-OFF W unlocked bootloader & TWRP
MNumber: HTC6525LVW

I've used this app Smart IR Remote on my phone to control different TV's, fans, A/C's without an issue.

Are you getting any error messages? Anything else we can use or know to help figure out your issue?
1st June 2014, 09:14 AM |#3  
S1L3nTShaDoWz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 74
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by totaman

I've used this app Smart IR Remote on my phone to control different TV's, fans, A/C's without an issue.

Are you getting any error messages? Anything else we can use or know to help figure out your issue?

No errors & I just tried that and no luck. It's a Vizio TV which I'm testing on. I've tried on another Vizio TV and a Samsung one with no luck too. I know it works or at least worked on the Samsung TV but now it's not working at all on my Vizio TV and I doubt even the Samsung one. (havent tried samsung again yet) Also I put my S4 and M8 beside each other and tried using the same app to turn on my TV and where the M8 failed multiple times the S4 turned it on within half a second first try. I even took off my Otterbox case to try and see if it was somehow blocking it and it still wouldn't work. Could this be some sort of hardware problem or could it be software?
1st June 2014, 09:30 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by S1L3nTShaDoWz

No errors & I just tried that and no luck. It's a Vizio TV which I'm testing on. I've tried on another Vizio TV and a Samsung one with no luck too. I know it works or at least worked on the Samsung TV but now it's not working at all on my Vizio TV and I doubt even the Samsung one. (havent tried samsung again yet) Also I put my S4 and M8 beside each other and tried using the same app to turn on my TV and where the M8 failed multiple times the S4 turned it on within half a second first try. I even took off my Otterbox case to try and see if it was somehow blocking it and it still wouldn't work. Could this be some sort of hardware problem or could it be software?

From what I've read, the IR port is the power button too. So make sure you are pointing that end at the tv. That Otterbox is quite bulky, so make sure the power button area flap is up while trying remotes out.

I don't think it would be a hardware issue if you are able to use the stock tv app to control the tv.
1st June 2014, 07:54 PM |#5  
andybones's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 10,867
 
10,761 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
What ROM are you using?
1st June 2014, 10:00 PM |#6  
S1L3nTShaDoWz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 74
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by totaman

From what I've read, the IR port is the power button too. So make sure you are pointing that end at the tv. That Otterbox is quite bulky, so make sure the power button area flap is up while trying remotes out.

I don't think it would be a hardware issue if you are able to use the stock tv app to control the tv.

I know and I did, still wouldn't work. I'm also having an issue getting 4G in areas where my friends can get it and their using Verizon too so maybe i have some type of firmware issue and I need to flash a stock RUU as suggested in my thread about that. I'll edit this or post again with the results whenever I try it.
1st June 2014, 10:04 PM |#7  
S1L3nTShaDoWz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 74
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones

What ROM are you using?

ROM: Android Revolution HD
2nd June 2014, 03:07 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by S1L3nTShaDoWz

I know and I did, still wouldn't work. I'm also having an issue getting 4G in areas where my friends can get it and their using Verizon too so maybe i have some type of firmware issue and I need to flash a stock RUU as suggested in my thread about that. I'll edit this or post again with the results whenever I try it.

Oops, I didn't see that you had a custom Rom. I'm guessing software issue now.
28th March 2015, 07:24 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I'm also facing the same issue with Sprint m8, but my wife verizon m8 works with other apps too , I'm on stock ruu , not rooted, no s off , basically I'm on lollipop without any modification .
Quote:
Originally Posted by totaman

Oops, I didn't see that you had a custom Rom. I'm guessing software issue now.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes