FORUMS

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

[APP][2.3+]AppConfig free 1.4

10 posts
Thanks Meter: 28
 
By aaro, Junior Member on 14th April 2014, 12:03 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
29th April 2014, 12:00 AM |#31  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndroidDeveloperLB

1. Doesn't it mean that it uses CPU all the time while the screen is on

Not very much. It doesn't even show in my S4's battery stats. Just did a test and ran piece of code responsible of identifying topmost app as many times as it would run if you had your screen on 24h. Longest run was under 2 minutes tested it on Galaxy S, Galaxy Nexus and Galaxy S4. Of course system will take some time of it's own when it's switching from process to process, but haven't seen any battery drain.

Quote:

2. Doesn't it mean there is a delay between the time you go to an app and the time that the settings apply?

Maximum of 1.5 seconds, so it feels pretty smooth.

Quote:

3. What happens when there are multiple apps running on front, like those with floating stuff (AirCalc for example), and the multi-window feature apps (as used on Samsung devices) ?

I have tested Samsungs multi-windowing one time and it reports program you last touched to be topmost, so it's settings are applied.

Quote:

Also, BTW, the link on the first post isn't clickable.

I don't have enough posts to link outside xda.

Quote:

I also have a suggestion: please allow GPS enable/disable, so that when I open Waze it will be enabled, and when I close it, it will close it.
I know it was possible via a hack, but now it's possible using root, as used on "Condi" app.

That's the most requested feature. I will start looking how to implement it after few simpler functions.
 
 
29th April 2014, 12:09 AM |#32  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
There's new version with Spanish translation and setting to change language when app starts. It also contains some bug fixes. Changing language on Android 4.2 and newer needs you to give AppConfig a permission to do it, there's intructions in first post.
3rd May 2014, 07:28 AM |#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
Is it possible to have the option to keep the settings enabled even if the app is in background? (until the App is really closed)
For example I'd like to have Bluetooth turned on when I launch the Media player and keep it on while playing some songs in the background.
Thanks!
4th May 2014, 11:11 AM |#34  
Junior Member
Flag Rouen
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
GPS on/off
Hi,

GPS on/off will be great.

Thanks

P Bonamy
3rd June 2014, 05:04 PM |#35  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Sorry for long delay...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tacchan23

Is it possible to have the option to keep the settings enabled even if the app is in background? (until the App is really closed)
For example I'd like to have Bluetooth turned on when I launch the Media player and keep it on while playing some songs in the background.
Thanks!

Nice idea, thanks. I'll add it to my to-do list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbonamy

Hi,

GPS on/off will be great.

Thanks

P Bonamy

Added in newest version. Check first post for more information.

Here's the change list for this new version:
  • Added: Location settings
  • Added: Alphabet scrolling
  • Changed: UI
  • Changed: Use devices real minimum as 0 brightness
  • Changed: Change language alternative method
  • Fixed: Changing Wi-Fi state crash on some devices
  • Fixed: KitKat killing background service and not restarting it
  • Fixed: Other fixes
The Following User Says Thank You to aaro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th December 2014, 10:25 AM |#36  
hiyachi-32's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag İZMİR
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaro

AppConfig lets you configure system settings on per-app basis. Settings are automatically applied when you use your applications and restored when you leave them. It'll show notification on status bar with currently applied settings and clicking on it takes you straight to settings for current app for easy manipulation.

Settings you can configure are:

  • Brightness - auto/manual and dimming for both
  • Screen orientation - landscape/portrait/sensor based orientations
  • Screen timeout - time/never
  • Media volume
  • Mobile data - on/off
  • Wi-Fi - on/off
  • Bluetooth - on/off
  • Location - off/networks/GPS/GPS and networks
  • Language
Location and language settings won't work on all devices! Language settings work on Androids older than 4.2, but location settings always need rooted device or you to grant permissions to AppConfig manually.
  • Android 4.1.1 or newer ROOTED:
    If AppConfig recognizes that you have root permissions and your package manager supports granting permissions, it will show menu item for requesting permissions. Click on it and when your system asks grant root permissions and settings will appear in AppConfig.
  • Android 4.1.1 or newer without root:
    If your device isn't rooted but package manager supports granting permissions you need to manually grant permissions to AppConfig with adb:
    - - - - - - - -
    adb shell
    pm grant fi.aarosoft.appconfig.free android.permission.CHANGE_CONFIGURATION
    pm grant fi.aarosoft.appconfig.free android.permission.WRITE_SECURE_SETTINGS
    - - - - - - - -
    First one is for language settings and second one is for location settings.
  • Android older than 4.1.1:
    On older devices if you copy AppConfig as system app and reboot, then it can change location settings. I take no responsibility if you brick your device in the process. You have been warned.
Will Verduzco's review on the XDA Portal
TK's review on XDA TV

You can get it from Google Play

I bought pro version. since I install 4.4.2 ANJ1 i cant open gps automaticly by your app.
any suggest?
28th March 2015, 08:09 PM |#37  
mourad75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
Donate to Me
More
Any support for Lollipop ??
28th March 2015, 09:50 PM |#38  
Ticklefish's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 4,901
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mourad75

Any support for Lollipop ??

Have you tried it?

---------------------------------
Sent from Tapatalk
------------------------------
7th April 2015, 08:05 AM |#39  
mourad75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ticklefish

Have you tried it?

---------------------------------
Sent from Tapatalk
------------------------------

Sorry for the late (i didn't see my XDA notifications )

Yes, it's always detecting (and reacting) only with the launcher Application, even if i switch (run) an other program (witch is already selected and customized in AppConfig) then when i pull-down the notification screen i always found AppCofig notification showing me that it sticks with the launcher !!
I've Galaxy Note 3 & I'm on this ROM : Note 4 port (Lollipop 5.0.1) - DarkLord rom v2.2

[When i return to KitKat 4.4.4 , all is back to normal : the Appconfig is running OK]
Last edited by mourad75; 7th April 2015 at 08:12 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, configuration, management, settings, tool
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes