FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[patch] hdmi multichannel

27th May 2014, 09:25 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
Donate to Me
More
with this patch you can have multichannel output over hdmi, it is based on ffmpeg to decode the multichannel sound and send it as pcm. Also Apollo can bitstream the sound file (dts/ac3 wav files, maybe flac too as multichannel pcm).
on my AVR the center is swapped with LFE, please test and let me know if is working for you.
the sourcecode is on cyanogenmod gerrit but until now is no merged so I compiled the files, this patch also contains ffmpeg 2.2.2 vs 2.1.4

01.07.2014 - updated for cm nightlies 4.4.4, still LFE bug

Regards
Attached Files
File Type: zip multichannel.zip - [Click for QR Code] (5.71 MB, 89 views)
File Type: zip multichannel-4.4.4.zip - [Click for QR Code] (5.72 MB, 103 views)
Last edited by lucize; 1st July 2014 at 12:39 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lucize For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
28th May 2014, 07:36 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Thanks lucize...amaizing!!! I'll try it this weekend!
24th June 2014, 01:37 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hello, I have a Motorola atrix 2 running an unofficial version of slimkat. based on android 4.4.3, and I have two questions

1. have you fixed the swapped center/lfe channels yet?

2. did you mean cyanogenmod that is 4.4.2 based or an older version.

I'm gonna test it now, I've got backups of my system already, gonna flash it seeing that the droid 4 is the same chipset and slightly faster. I'll report back whether or not multichannel partially works, if at all.
24th June 2014, 09:18 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizoid1337

Hello, I have a Motorola atrix 2 running an unofficial version of slimkat. based on android 4.4.3, and I have two questions

1. have you fixed the swapped center/lfe channels yet?

2. did you mean cyanogenmod that is 4.4.2 based or an older version.

I'm gonna test it now, I've got backups of my system already, gonna flash it seeing that the droid 4 is the same chipset and slightly faster. I'll report back whether or not multichannel partially works, if at all.

is for images that already have ffmpeg in them (i made the patch small, didn't include all the files so it would be functional for earlier versions), if hdmi is working the multichannel should work, didn't had the time to investigate further about center/LFE but I think ffmpeg extractor is the fault.

I'll make a 4.4.4 patch ASAP

Regards
1st July 2014, 04:39 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Dois Córregos
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucize

is for images that already have ffmpeg in them (i made the patch small, didn't include all the files so it would be functional for earlier versions), if hdmi is working the multichannel should work, didn't had the time to investigate further about center/LFE but I think ffmpeg extractor is the fault.

I'll make a 4.4.4 patch ASAP

Regards

Thanks for great work
4th August 2014, 05:09 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
Donate to Me
More
so based on this
http://www.spinics.net/lists/linux-omap/msg108750.html
quote: " Also there is still probably something wrong with
speaker mapping of multi-channel streams."
there is hope that channel mapping will be fixed sometime in the near future.

Regards
The Following User Says Thank You to lucize For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2015, 11:34 PM |#7  
93fuelslut's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 364
 
More
so will this patch let me use my hdmi cable from my droid 4 to my tv running a aosp rom?
7th April 2015, 09:43 AM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
the patch isnt required
edit: cm11 m12 has working hdmi already, didnt test cm12 but im assuming it does as well
Last edited by Puppymang; 7th April 2015 at 09:45 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Puppymang For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes