FORUMS

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more

Verizon Moto X 2014 Receives Root On Kitkat 4.4.4

The Verizon Moto X 2014 has finally received root, albeit only on Kitkat 4.4.4 … more

Android 5.1.1 Released, Google Cell Service – XDA TV

Android Lollipop 5.1.1 has been released. That and much more news is covered … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] No OS installed on HTC ONE M8! Plz HELP!

3rd June 2014, 09:19 PM |#21  
OP Junior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

The RUU has to be flashed in fastboot using the fastboot commands, so if you're trying to flash it in TWRP it will fail. To flash the RUU, you have to:

fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot flash zip <nameofzip>.zip
First time WILL fail, so then run the same command again - fastboot flash zip <nameofzip>.zip
fastboot reboot

This is ONLY for the RUU ZIP file and not a normal TWRP-flashable ZIP

I put a ROM in my sd card and managed to flash it even thought it failed, but now i got a system going on. Now i can access fastboot!!! I used your method and the RUU u gave is actually what i used!!! And it worked!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much man!!!! I dont even know what to say!!!!!
 
 
11th August 2014, 03:20 AM |#22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Unhappy Htc one m8 no os installed helpp
i accidentally deleted the os system with an advanced wipe and i had just gotten the phone ! its an htc one m8. i don't know what to do its stuck on the htc one load screen and idk what to download on my sd card to install stock rom back. can someone please help. idk what to do i just want my phone to work . custom rom, stock android . idc just something to get my phone working again . nothing I'm trying is working help
30th March 2015, 08:46 AM |#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashyx

Your backup probably failed because it didn't backup correctly. It's happened to me a couple of times wirh TWRP. You should always check your backup works before deleting anything. There are stock backups available on this forum.

So what should I do next??? And what to do with that stock backups? I need your help, urgently.

---------- Post added at 08:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:37 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashyx

Your backup probably failed because it didn't backup correctly. It's happened to me a couple of times wirh TWRP. You should always check your backup works before deleting anything. There are stock backups available on this forum.

what do you think i should do now? i need urgent help.
30th March 2015, 05:53 PM |#24  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,767
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by htconem8 gpe

So what should I do next??? And what to do with that stock backups? I need your help, urgently..

It says right in the stock nandroid thread (Post #3) what to do with the stock nandroid files (see 2nd question under "Questions & Answers"): http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...36&postcount=3

But in short, unpack the nandroid file. Place the files in the correct location. Then Restore with TWRP (or Philz Recovery, if you are using that).

File location is very important, as TWRP will not recognize the nandroid unless its in exactly the right location.

Alternately, you can put a custom ROM on internal memory, or removable SD, and flash it with custom recovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2015, 04:28 AM |#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

It says right in the stock nandroid thread (Post #3) what to do with the stock nandroid files (see 2nd question under "Questions & Answers"): http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...36&postcount=3

But in short, unpack the nandroid file. Place the files in the correct location. Then Restore with TWRP (or Philz Recovery, if you are using that).

File location is very important, as TWRP will not recognize the nandroid unless its in exactly the right location.

Alternately, you can put a custom ROM on internal memory, or removable SD, and flash it with custom recovery.

After backing up and restoring stock nandroid files, will I be able to flash the GPR ROM normally using adb command?
1st April 2015, 02:44 PM |#26  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,767
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by htconem8 gpe

After backing up and restoring stock nandroid files, will I be able to flash the GPR ROM normally using adb command?

If your end goal is to install a GPE ROM, you don't need to restore to stock. Assuming you meet whatever hboot, firmware, and TWRP version requirements of the GPE ROM you are talking about; just flash the GPE ROM.

Restoring the stock nandroid is done with the goal of getting an OS back on the system, and bootable back to stock Sense ROM.
7th April 2015, 07:03 AM |#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

If your end goal is to install a GPE ROM, you don't need to restore to stock. Assuming you meet whatever hboot, firmware, and TWRP version requirements of the GPE ROM you are talking about; just flash the GPE ROM.

Restoring the stock nandroid is done with the goal of getting an OS back on the system, and bootable back to stock Sense ROM.

I was trying to convert my One M8 (GSM, unlocked and S-Off) to GPE but ended in bootloop mode. I've tried flashing the RUU in recovery mode(TWRP) but it kept saying "Unable to mount '/system".
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo on 3-30-15 at 18.43.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	147.7 KB
ID:	3249587  
7th April 2015, 07:26 AM |#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

If your end goal is to install a GPE ROM, you don't need to restore to stock. Assuming you meet whatever hboot, firmware, and TWRP version requirements of the GPE ROM you are talking about; just flash the GPE ROM.

Restoring the stock nandroid is done with the goal of getting an OS back on the system, and bootable back to stock Sense ROM.

I'm really lost on what's going on with this flashing procedure.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 16.20.27.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	160.6 KB
ID:	3249598  
7th April 2015, 08:34 AM |#29  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Halesowen
Thanks Meter: 632
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by htconem8 gpe

I'm really lost on what's going on with this flashing procedure.

your flashing it the wrong way, hence android-info fail, your trying to flash it like firmware, if its a custom rom your trying to flash then you must flash it inside a custom recovery.

which rom are you trying to flash ?

before flashing a custom rom, first learn how to fix it.
Last edited by Seanie280672; 7th April 2015 at 08:40 AM.
7th April 2015, 03:00 PM |#30  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,767
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by htconem8 gpe

I'm really lost on what's going on with this flashing procedure.

I think you have the flashing procedures quite mixed up.

Flashing a ROM.zip from your computer is making it more complex than it needs be. Just put the ROM on the phone, and use TWRP "Install" function to browse to the file and flash it.

RUU is not typically run from TWRP. Although I don't recognize the RUU file name off hand. Where did you get it from?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes