FORUMS

On Qualcomm’s Damage Control: Marketing and Rumors?

The Heated Snapdragon chronicles seemingly see no end, and 5 months into 2015 … more

Xiaomi Mi Note Pro With SD-810 Goes On Sale In China

The Xiaomi Mi Note Pro, announced on 15th Jan 2015, is Xiaomi’s attempt at … more

Project Fi Invites Are Rolling Out

Google is now sending out the first wave of invites to its new wireless service, Project Fi. … more

Vinsic 20,000mAh Ultra Slim Power Bank Giveaway

We have covered a lot of Android Accessories here on XDA TV. Mostly because we realize … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] No 3G signal

16th January 2014, 04:32 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
So I just got my Note 3 SM N900 a few weeks ago. However the signal received was very weak, so I used Odin to flash a new modem (DXUBMI1, as demonstrated in this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2475714).

After flashing, the voice call and SMS were more stable, I constantly got -51dbm in signal strength. Yet in terms of network connection I could only connect via EDGE (2G). When rebooting, the phone could connect to HSDPA (3G) initially, but after a while, it drops 3G and turns to 2G again, hence I believe the problem is not with the service provider.

Please see the screenshots for more details. My questions are: how do I improve connectivity and are there any other better modem base band to flash on my Note 3 (I bought the phone and currently live in Vietnam).

Appreciate your help. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-16-11-10-29.png
Views:	349
Size:	168.8 KB
ID:	2518910   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-16-11-10-19.png
Views:	81
Size:	131.2 KB
ID:	2519050  
Last edited by bqduy; 16th January 2014 at 06:39 AM.
 
 
16th January 2014, 04:41 AM |#2  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,538
 
Donate to Me
More
Just edit out your IMEI Number from that screen shot first - keep that number to yourself always.

Do you have a case on the phone? Or a bumper?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
16th January 2014, 06:14 AM |#3  
Dahdoul's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Try this go to settings > more networks > mobile network > then change network mode to WCDMA only then reboot your phone.

Hope it helps

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Dahdoul For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2014, 06:43 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

Just edit out your IMEI Number from that screen shot first - keep that number to yourself always.

Do you have a case on the phone? Or a bumper?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thanks. I use an S-View case on my phone (the flip cover one).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahdoul

Try this go to settings > more networks > mobile network > then change network mode to WCDMA only then reboot your phone.

Hope it helps

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

I forced it to WCDMA only and got 3G for a while...then the signal just went out altogether. The phone signal only came back after I switched back to WCDMA/EDGE auto select.

Is there any chance this problem is hardware related?
16th January 2014, 07:33 AM |#5  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,538
 
Donate to Me
More
It is possible that it is hardware yes. However. . For some bizarre reason it may be the case.. take it off and see how it performs then you can reassess

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
17th January 2014, 08:28 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

It is possible that it is hardware yes. However. . For some bizarre reason it may be the case.. take it off and see how it performs then you can reassess

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Tried taking off the case and the problem still doesn't resolve...I have it swapped for a new one. Thank you though.
17th January 2014, 08:30 AM |#7  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,538
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bqduy

Tried taking off the case and the problem still doesn't resolve...I have it swapped for a new one. Thank you though.

Glad you got sorted.
The Following User Says Thank You to radicalisto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st February 2014, 09:21 PM |#8  
vicmora5's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahdoul

Try this go to settings > more networks > mobile network > then change network mode to WCDMA only then reboot your phone.

Hope it helps

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Wow thanks! Sorry for the late reply, but i was having the same issue as OP and I had my settings for GSM only and was only getting EDGE, changed the network mode and I am now getting H+ Thank you!!!
9th April 2015, 09:22 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have note3 n900 imei null/null and unknown baseband
I flashed it n900xxudnc1 4.4.2 now every thing is ok but network not working
I flash the modem file in cp by odin 3.09 after flash modem inein going null and baseband unknown
Plz give any solution and working modem file plz thanks in advance

Sent from my SM-G900F using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes