Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,421 Members 39,092 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

-=BG Tweak v0.5 for Sense UI 2.5=- Transparent bars/HQ/B4ALL -- WVGA/VGA --

Tip us?
 
volDeus
Old
(Last edited by volDeus; 26th May 2010 at 05:36 PM.)
#1  
volDeus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 540
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Default -=BG Tweak v0.5 for Sense UI 2.5=- Transparent bars/HQ/B4ALL -- WVGA/VGA --

This is a combination Sense UI MOD and background management utility with some nice features so far and much more to come.

Follow my progress on Twitter


Features:
  • True transparency for task-bar and menu-bar in both orientations. No stretching.
  • Opacity level control for bars. (256 levels of opacity, from completely transparent to completely opaque.)
  • Backgrounds on all Sense UI tabs.
  • Higher image quality for backgrounds than standard Sense UI background.
  • Separate portrait and landscape backgrounds. No stretching.
  • Crop/resize GUI ... Use any size image instead of them having to match your device's resolution ahead of time.
  • Compatible with most other Sense UI mods. (most notably Co0kie's home tab)
  • MaxManila 3.0 (beta) compatible version available.
  • Same .cab works with WVGA or VGA.
  • Fully un-installable .cab.





Requirements:
(If you don't use Sense UI and just want to use my opacity adjustment tool and task/menu-bar refresher ... check post #2 and #3)
  • HTC Sense 2.5.2012 (only build I have tested so far, If you have success with other Sense UI builds please let me know so I can update this statement)
  • .NET CF 3.5
  • MOST IMPORTANT: Stock (unchanged) copies of "shell32.exe" and "aygshell.dll" for your WM build... Any 6.5.X build must also be "timebomb patched" (detailed instructions for patching -HERE-). Check post #2 for details on how/where to obtain them.


Instructions:
  1. Copy your stock shell files ("shell32.exe" and "aygshell.dll") to the root of your storage card ("\Storage Card\") .. If they are somewhere else you will be prompted for the location when you adjust your opacity level.
    (Check post #2 for details on how/where to obtain them)
  2. Un-install any previous versions and install the cab file attached at the end of this post. PLEASE NOTE: MM Versions are for use with MaxManila 3.0 (beta) only!!
  3. Run the "BG Tweak" program from your start menu.
  4. Choose your opacity levels and tap "Set opacity ......." for each element.
  5. Tap "Set background" and choose an image for your background.
  6. Tap "Portrait / landscape" to choose which orientation to apply your image to.
  7. Use the scrollbar at the bottom of the screen to adjust the size of the cropping rectangle and drag the rectangle to move it.
  8. Tap accept to crop and resize the image.
  9. Tap "Soft reset device".
  10. Admire your changes.
To change backgrounds just run the "BG Tweak" program and repeat steps #5 through #8.


Notes:
  • "MM" Versions are for MaxManila 3.0 (beta) only!!
  • The required shell files CAN NOT be copied from your Windows folder, you MUST obtain them in one of the ways previously mentioned.
  • This mod depends on your today screen background, the "BG Tweak" program sets it automatically and aligns everything correctly for you.
  • At the moment, the start menu background does not update until you soft-reset. Everything else updates instantly.
  • BACK UP YOUR DATA!!! The task and menu-bar opacity setting option is a low-level hack and if there is a problem or you make a mistake, YOU MAY HAVE TO HARD-RESET!!! (it's worth it though )


Version history:

Version 0.6b4 - 4/20/2010 (recommended)
  • Manual crop and resize implemented.
  • Added "fake" transparency mode as a temporary fix for people having problem with the shell hack (boot failures). Only works for portrait mode.
  • Minor bug-fixes.
Version 0.5 - 4/18/2010
  • Re-wrote entire MOD to incorporate a new method for higher quality background images.
  • One .cab works for both resolutions WVGA and VGA.
  • Fancy new icon thanks to milski.
Version 0.4 - 4/10/2010
  • Misalignment issue corrected for VGA.
  • Minor bug fixes and error checking.
Version 0.3 - 4/10/2010
  • Fixed misalignment issue in WM 6.5.x builds .. Now works correctly in 6.5 and 6.5.x (WVGA only, VGA will come tomorrow).
Version 0.2 - 4/9/2010
  • VGA version now available thanks to mwalt2!
  • Minor bug-fix and method update.


Planned changes:
  • Lower memory consumption and higher stability for background refresh process.
  • Integrate into standard Sense UI menus.
  • Automatic background cycling from an album.
  • Thumbnail view when choosing backgrounds.
  • Task and menu-bar skin/color management (for interesting effects when using intermediate opacity levels).
  • Brightness/contrast adjustment and rotation support for images.
  • Different images for different Sense UI tabs.
  • Support for MaxSense UI when it is released (hopefully!).
  • Open to suggestions.

Thanks: mwalt2, milski, c0okiemonster, ham3r, scout7, reeg420, papichulothrawn, antaed, erdoke, anyone I missed

If you find my contribution useful, please consider donating.
If you decide to donate, please let me know what features you would most like to see added next, and I will try to focus on them.


Check post #3 for older versions.
 
volDeus
Old
(Last edited by volDeus; 26th May 2010 at 05:47 PM.)
#2  
volDeus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 540
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Default Stock shell files

I will upload as many stock shell files here as I can .. If anyone has working stock files for a build that I haven't included yet, please let me know and I will add them here.

To find your build number, navigate to Settings>System>Device Information>Software Information>OS Version ... or Settings>System>About>Version ...Your build number is the 5 digit number after "5.2." or "Build" ...
For example, the build number in the following screenshot is 23554.




Files surrounded in parentheses "(...)" have been confirmed as working by users.


20757
21054 21055 21056 21647
21869 21874 21876 21882 21884 21887 21888 (21889) 21890 21891 21895 (21898) (21899) (21901)
23014 23088 23113 23506 23511 23517 23518 23529 23533 23541 23542 23544 23547 23549 23551 (23554) (23557) (23559) (23562) (23563) (23566) (23568) (23569) 23639 23640
24001
25006 25009
28002 28004 28005 28011 28014 28205 28232


If stock files for your build are not present here
There are multiple ways to obtain stock files for your build .. Please do not ask me to find them for you until you have tried to obtain them yourself.
(Most of these methods are fairly easy to understand and there are vast amounts of information on them in the forum, so I will only give brief explanations.. I will post all the tools that I mention)

If you are using a newer 6.5.X ROM, you will need to make sure your shell32.exe file has been "timebomb patched" or your device will be disabled after the beta time-limit has expired. You can ask the chef of your ROM to provide the patched files or you can try patching them yourself with THIS TOOL created by joojoobee666. (You must have "module" versions of your shell files to use the tool. Using the reversemode tool can produce them from regular files.) My good friend antaed has posted detailed instructions -HERE-.
  1. Extract the files from your device with ROMExtractor.
    This is the easiest method but is not fool-proof.

    This program runs on your device and extracts files from it's ROM, saving them to it's storage. This works well on some devices/ROMs but fails on others.
  2. Extract the files from your custom rom with HTC ROM Image Editor.
    This is also very easy, but does not work correctly if your ROM was built with bepe's platformrebuilder.

    If you have flashed a ROM to your device, then you will have it's .nbh file. With many ROMs, the .nbh file will be in an archive with other files required for flashing. With self-extracting ROMs (any ROM that is a single .exe file), you will need to extract the .nbh file from the executable with a program like WinRAR. You can also start the ROM update program and once it has extracted itself (the folder that it was run in fills up with files), copy the .nbh file to another location and then cancel the update. Once you have your .nbh file, open it in HTC ROM Image Editor and navigate to OS>IMGFS>SYS>MSXIPKernel .. There you will find your stock shell files and you can extract/save them for copying to your device. If the result is a folder with files names "s000", "s001", etc; use the recmod tool, as mentioned in the next option.
  3. Copy the modules from a kitchen or SYS for your build and compile them with RecMod.
    This is not difficult but you may have a hard time finding a kitchen or SYS if your build is not popular.

    If you can find a kitchen or SYS (component required for cooking ROMs) for your build, look for the folders "shell32.exe" and "aygshell.dll" and drag/drop them on to the RecMod tool... RecMod will add your shell files into those same folders and you can copy them from there to your device.
  4. Dump your device's rom.
    This is difficult and I consider it a last resort ... You are better off flashing a newer ROM and using option #2 than attempting this.

    This is a device dependant process and you will have to research it on your own.
  5. Ask your ROM's Chef for copies of the files.
    Self-explanatory.

If you use one of these methods to obtain your files please check the file size. If your shell files are not approximately 750-850kb for shell32.exe and 350-450kb for aygshell.dll THEY ARE CORRUPT! and will cause your device to fail at boot.
Attached Files
File Type: zip RecMod.zip - [Click for QR Code] (34.1 KB, 783 views)
File Type: zip ROMExtractor.zip - [Click for QR Code] (9.0 KB, 899 views)
File Type: zip HTC ROM Image Editor.zip - [Click for QR Code] (554.8 KB, 1275 views)
File Type: zip reversmode.zip - [Click for QR Code] (6.5 KB, 524 views)
 
volDeus
Old
(Last edited by volDeus; 18th April 2010 at 11:51 PM.)
#3  
volDeus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 540
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Default Older versions and stand-alone opacity adjustment tool

Here are previous versions..

volDeus Transparent task and menu bar solution (VGA) v0.4.cab

volDeus Transparent task and menu bar solution (WVGA) v0.4.cab

volDeus Transparent task and menu bar solution (VGA) v0.4MM.cab

volDeus Transparent task and menu bar solution (WVGA) v0.4MM.cab


If you don't use Sense UI/Manila and you just want to use my opacity adjustment tool, I've included it here.

Your stock shell files are still required (check post #2) .. Place them in the root of your storage card and then run "Set Opacity" in the "volDeus" folder of your start menu.

I have included two cabs here ... One with my task-bar refreshing program and one without. If your task-bar and menu-bar show graphics errors when you rotate your screen, use the copy WITH the refresh app.
 
millski
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 1,262
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ross Vegas
Well done putting it all together volDeus I'll do some testing myself, but have you tried it with MaxManila yet?
 
volDeus
Old
(Last edited by volDeus; 9th April 2010 at 08:27 AM.)
#5  
volDeus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 540
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by millski View Post
Well done putting it all together volDeus I'll do some testing myself, but have you tried it with MaxManila yet?
Thanks man I haven't tried it with MaxManila but if anyone is interested I will ... If they don't mesh up well I'm sure I can do a bit of tweaking and make a seperate cab that will work.

I didn't assume many people would be very interested in using this solution with MaxManila since it has fullscreen options already.

EDIT: I just glanced at the ***_manila files in the MaxManila cab .. It will definately be a seperate cab to be compatible ... I'll work on it tomorrow if you want
 
milinko81
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 55
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default shell32.exe???

Canīt find thise files "shell32.exe" and "aygshell.dll"!! I read somewhere that they are in the Windows file but can not find them ...HELP...

Beginner

HTC HD Touch

1.14.24011...
 
millski
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 1,262
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ross Vegas
Quote:
Originally Posted by volDeus View Post
Thanks man I haven't tried it with MaxManila but if anyone is interested I will ... If they don't mesh up well I'm sure I can do a bit of tweaking and make a seperate cab that will work.

I didn't assume many people would be very interested in using this solution with MaxManila since it has fullscreen options already.

EDIT: I just glanced at the ***_manila files in the MaxManila cab .. It will definately be a seperate cab to be compatible ... I'll work on it tomorrow if you want
Thought that might be the case. MaxManila's fullscreen uses a workaround to get softkeys and taskbar working, I'd prefer to just make those areas transparent and use the original bars. Mostly though I've been cooking roms with the transparency built in. Your app (especially if you can get it to call from the manila wallpaper settings) would make it simpler for people to use and easier for me to explain lol, but I don't want to alienate any MaxManila users who like my rom
 
volDeus
Old
#8  
volDeus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 540
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by milinko81 View Post
Canīt find thise files "shell32.exe" and "aygshell.dll"!! I read somewhere that they are in the Windows file but can not find them ...HELP...

Beginner

HTC HD Touch

1.14.24011...
Find out what build you are running (Settings>System>Device Information>Software Information>OS Version) and download the matching file set from post #2.
 
volDeus
Old
#9  
volDeus's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 540
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by millski View Post
Thought that might be the case. MaxManila's fullscreen uses a workaround to get softkeys and taskbar working, I'd prefer to just make those areas transparent and use the original bars. Mostly though I've been cooking roms with the transparency built in. Your app (especially if you can get it to call from the manila wallpaper settings) would make it simpler for people to use and easier for me to explain lol, but I don't want to alienate any MaxManila users who like my rom
I'll take a crack at it tomorrow morning
 
carm0033
Old
#10  
carm0033's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 44
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
I am a noob at this and have been following the old thread . I really appreciate your work on this, however I cannot get it to work. I am using 6.5 build 21889 and copied the shell32.exe and aygshell.dll files from the zip file you have labeled 21889 to my storage card. I ran the .cab file and did a soft reset when it prompted me to do so. I then ran set opacity from the volDeus folder in my start menu. I left the values at zero and did a soft reset. The phone would not boot up afterwards. I got the "this device is unable to boot because it was not shut down properly or you have installed an unsafe application, etc.etc." I did a hard reset and reloaded the 6.5 ROM update from HTC's website that I was using previously. I tried to follow the same steps but it ended up crashing the phone again, requiring another hard reset. Any suggestions? Again, I am a complete noob at this. Thanks very much!!

Tags
bg4all, manila, sense, taskbar, transparent
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes