FORUMS

Dr.Ketan Brings The S6 Theme Store To The Note 4

Dr.Ketan has submitted a video to the forums showing a functional port of the Galaxy S6 … more

Do You Have Insurance on Your Smartphone?

While affordable smartphones are becoming more available, the majority of high-end flagships … more

Apple Music Will Increase iTunes Match to 100,000 Songs

The battle for music streaming subscription dominance is starting to really heat … more

Xposed Framework Updated to v65

Xposed Framework is an extremely popular modification platform for Android, so much so that we included … more

[Q] Tethering without carrier (3UK) knowing?

11 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Quiver2014, Junior Member on 12th February 2014, 08:00 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
13th February 2014, 07:48 AM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skibadee

Just noticed your paying 15 a month for payg. Your not contract bound so why not pay the same 15 a month for the 1 plan (I'm on)?

It's a 1 yr contract, unless you can't get a contract?

2000 min 5000 text and unlimited data + tethering allowed!

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

As I said above: "Please do not reply to this thread to say "solution: get the one plan"
I have my reasons. This post wasn't helpful.
 
 
13th February 2014, 01:46 PM |#12  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,540
 
Donate to Me
More
Most, if not all UK telecom giants won't offer tethering on PAYG, for whatever reason they don't let us know. - There used to be a few apps around that can get around the tethering but when I tried I got the msg about 30minute disconnect etc. -- While you may have your reasons for not going contract, it would seem the One Plan is the only option that you can actually use for it.
13th February 2014, 03:08 PM |#13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

Most, if not all UK telecom giants won't offer tethering on PAYG, for whatever reason they don't let us know. - There used to be a few apps around that can get around the tethering but when I tried I got the msg about 30minute disconnect etc. -- While you may have your reasons for not going contract, it would seem the One Plan is the only option that you can actually use for it.

There are hacks that work. TetherMe is a classic example but TetherMe is only available on iOS.
My reason for posting this thread were to find out if there was something like TetherMe for Android.
But yes, in terms of native tethering and hacks that don't work properly, yes, tethering is blocked.
14th February 2014, 07:22 AM |#14  
Senior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quiver2014

As I said above: "Please do not reply to this thread to say "solution: get the one plan"
I have my reasons. This post wasn't helpful.

Sorry missed that bit, hope my previous post was more useful

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 07:22 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:20 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quiver2014

There are hacks that work. TetherMe is a classic example but TetherMe is only available on iOS.
My reason for posting this thread were to find out if there was something like TetherMe for Android.
But yes, in terms of native tethering and hacks that don't work properly, yes, tethering is blocked.

Are you using a 3 branded rom or plain btu? Just wondering if that makes a difference

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
14th February 2014, 08:05 AM |#15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skibadee

Sorry missed that bit, hope my previous post was more useful

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 07:22 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:20 AM ----------



Are you using a 3 branded rom or plain btu? Just wondering if that makes a difference

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

It will be a factory unlocked device, not a 3 branded device.
Not sure if that makes a difference, it doesn't usually though.
14th February 2014, 11:31 AM |#16  
Senior Member
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
It's using am iPhone but the same would apply, maybe a fix?

http://phil.lavin.me.uk/2013/02/bypa...sonal-hotspot/

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
16th February 2014, 12:47 PM |#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
illegal
Is this illegal ?
16th February 2014, 01:01 PM |#18  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
No, it's not against the law. But it is against the carrier's TOS.
13th June 2015, 09:23 AM |#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Unhappy tetherme on android?
Quote:
Originally Posted by notegalaxy

Well I've never had an issue tethering anything on Vodafone UK. Android has the functionality built in. But in terms of the block, I'm assuming it's looking at browser user agent. If you spoof your browser, (firefox has addons) that will probably work, if it's looking at protocols, you just won't be able to use bit torrent etc. Don't take my word for it though. Just a few ideas.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk



Have you found a solution?as im in the same boat as you. i was using iphone 4 with tetherme but of the poor signal range of
the iphone 4 i try my wifes old samsung note2 but Three keeps detecting that im tethering from the note 2
before on the iphone 4 tetherme worked no problems.
but with android i tried at least 25 apps but non worked.

---------- Post added at 09:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:19 AM ----------

Have you found a solution?as im in the same boat as you. i was using iphone 4 with tetherme but of the poor signal range of
the iphone 4 i try my wifes old samsung note2 but Three keeps detecting that im tethering from the note 2
before on the iphone 4 tetherme worked no problems.
but with android i tried at least 25 apps but non worked.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes