FORUMS

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

[Q] safelink sim in android phone

28 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By gameplayerdo2, Junior Member on 8th January 2014, 07:33 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
hello. has anyone ever been able to get the sim from a SAFE-LINK OBAMA PHONE to work in an unlocked android phone?
my phone is unlocked and i think i should be able to use any gsm sim card in it. but when i put the safelink sim in, it says please put in a valid sim card or something like that.
any help, or answers for this..
Last edited by gameplayerdo2; 8th January 2014 at 07:46 AM. Reason: to add reason and more detail.
 
 
18th June 2014, 08:19 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameplayerdo2

hello. has anyone ever been able to get the sim from a SAFE-LINK OBAMA PHONE to work in an unlocked android phone?
my phone is unlocked and i think i should be able to use any gsm sim card in it. but when i put the safelink sim in, it says please put in a valid sim card or something like that.
any help, or answers for this..

Hello, your simcard is bad...
You need to call safelink and have them seend you a new simcard...
When you get your new simcard in the mail you will install it and call safelink/tracfone and have them activate your phones simcard over the phone..
The Following User Says Thank You to hjason7812 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th January 2015, 06:50 PM |#3  
Purerawenergy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 806
 
More
Not sure if anyone's following this thread anymore, but I did some research on this subject and actually spoke to Tracfone and SafeLink reps. This remains untested as of yet but I'm about to commit and buy a device to switch my friends phone from the cheesy old school one they provide. Though grateful as she may be, it is a technologically inferior phone and it's at least worth a try, because devices with the following specs are very cheap.
1. The replacement device MUST BE A TRACFONE.
2. It must have the same size Sim card slot as the one they provided initially, hers is a MINI SIM, so I assume they ALL are.
3. It must be a GSM device as they only provide service specific to their SIM card.
4. It MUST BE A NON-ANDROID device.
So, when I find a gsm Tracfone that's non-android, has a Mini-Sim card slotand doesn't have a touch screen, I'll buy it, call SafeLink to have her service transferred to that device and let you know what happens. According to the reps touch screen devices may or may not work as transferring service doesn't happen everyday. Wish me luck.

Sent from my N9510
3rd February 2015, 06:43 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks for that. im just now seeing this response from you some how. but i am going to try it once i get another android phone.
THANKS AGAIN.
3rd February 2015, 06:48 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
any reason why it must be a non android device? that almost defeats the purpose..
4th February 2015, 10:04 PM |#6  
Purerawenergy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 806
 
More
I think they mean Android operating systems. So an older Windows or Samsung phone should work. I'm still looking through the ton of phones that are available and non-android before I commit to buying one. And am still searching databases on the subject just to make sure, but am about to move on it soon. Will post when I do and let you know if it works okay.

Tapatapped it.
26th June 2015, 05:38 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Edmonton. Alberta
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up SafeLink in Android
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameplayerdo2

hello. has anyone ever been able to get the sim from a SAFE-LINK OBAMA PHONE to work in an unlocked android phone?
my phone is unlocked and i think i should be able to use any gsm sim card in it. but when i put the safelink sim in, it says please put in a valid sim card or something like that.
any help, or answers for this..

Its funny you mention this, I have been using my SafeLink Simcard in an unlocked Android for some time now. Although I am unable to send or recieve MMS messages or access the internet (unless I'm on my wifi) its better than the simple phones they give you. I agree that it is worth checking out though, those phones while simple have excellent battery life.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
obama phone, safe link, safelink, sim card, unlocked phone
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes