FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

[TUT][ROOT] AT&T Wifi-Tethering Provision Bypass

9 posts
Thanks Meter: 33
 
By ManniPanni, Junior Member on 23rd June 2014, 08:38 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
13th December 2014, 01:21 PM |#61  
mtnlion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag in the mountains of south east tennessee
Thanks Meter: 334
 
More
You don't need apps to freeze other apps. You can freeze using the package manager commands through terminal emulator. Su first then pm disable packagename
The Following User Says Thank You to mtnlion For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
14th December 2014, 06:00 AM |#62  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I guess I have bigger issue. I have a cricket S5 and it doesn't even have the tethering option in the network menu. I've heard from others that flashing att roms dont work on cricket.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900AZ using XDA Free mobile app
15th December 2014, 07:49 PM |#63  
Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Possible means of removing tetherprovision check
Hi everyone,

Just got an s5 active to complament the Rugby Pro (SGH-i547) I've been using for the last year and a half. Since both devices are part of the same ecosystem, I beileve some of the stuff I've done on the Rugby Pro should work (or at least lead to a viable solution).

orginal source: (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=335)


In a nutshell, the framework-res.apk has a few lines of xml refrencing the tetherprovisioning (under the decompolied framework-res.apk hierarchy res/values/arrays.xml)

Code:
<string-array name="config_mobile_hotspot_provision_app">
     	<item>com.sec.tetheringprovision</item>
     	<item>com.sec.tetheringprovision.TetheringProvisionActivity</item>
	</string-array>
Modified to
Code:
<array name="config_mobile_hotspot_provision_app" />

It is pluasible to beileve that the S5 (and releated varients) also use this as a means (as a network based boolean check) to determine if the account has tethering enabled. If I recall correctly, AT&T routes the tethered data through different APNs then mobile data, text and voice, therefore causing the cease and desist letters to be sent.

Joe
10th January 2015, 08:58 PM |#64  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
As someone who is stuck in hotels almost half the month for work, this is AWESOME. Thank you!!
20th January 2015, 03:43 PM |#65  
Junior Member
Dallas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
This worked out great for me! And the instructions were easy to follow. Thanks for sharing.
9th March 2015, 05:02 PM |#66  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Got it to finally create a wireless hotspot with these instructions! My 4G/LTE network works on my phone now but any device I connect to my phone via the newly established hotspot can't connect to the internet. Any ideas?

Thanks again!
1st April 2015, 05:22 PM |#67  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
On Note 3 lollipop rooted. Is there a way this could work?
30th June 2015, 08:50 AM |#68  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Bigggggggg Thanks !!! :D
Tried this today on my Galaxy S5 Active AT&T (SM-G870A) and i can confirm that it works flawlessly for me A big thanks to OP

I followed the instructions in sequence, although i used ROOT APP DELETER instead of Titanium backup and ES File Explorer (Both free apps). For anyone else looking for a way to bypass provision/Enable wifi hotspot on their galaxy S5 Active At&T, I would recommend this route.

OP: do you mind if I start a new thread for Galaxy S5 active users (Obviously i will link to this thread along with credits) so that any one searching for S5 Active solution might find help sooner than I did

And thanks Once again !!!
Last edited by deejay.shani; 30th June 2015 at 12:49 PM.
2nd July 2015, 07:52 AM |#69  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
it ends here
Quote:
Originally Posted by STraver

Open the Xposed network on your phone and check that the tethering module is activated, and that the xposed network actually installed. You may need to do another step (hint)

this is how the original author should have finished it
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S5 General by ThreadRank