FORUMS

How to Root the LG G4 and Install TWRP Recovery – XDA TV

A rooting method has finally been found for the flagship LG G4. In this … more

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

[Q] safelink sim in android phone

28 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By gameplayerdo2, Junior Member on 8th January 2014, 07:33 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
hello. has anyone ever been able to get the sim from a SAFE-LINK OBAMA PHONE to work in an unlocked android phone?
my phone is unlocked and i think i should be able to use any gsm sim card in it. but when i put the safelink sim in, it says please put in a valid sim card or something like that.
any help, or answers for this..
Last edited by gameplayerdo2; 8th January 2014 at 07:46 AM. Reason: to add reason and more detail.
 
 
18th June 2014, 08:19 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameplayerdo2

hello. has anyone ever been able to get the sim from a SAFE-LINK OBAMA PHONE to work in an unlocked android phone?
my phone is unlocked and i think i should be able to use any gsm sim card in it. but when i put the safelink sim in, it says please put in a valid sim card or something like that.
any help, or answers for this..

Hello, your simcard is bad...
You need to call safelink and have them seend you a new simcard...
When you get your new simcard in the mail you will install it and call safelink/tracfone and have them activate your phones simcard over the phone..
The Following User Says Thank You to hjason7812 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th January 2015, 06:50 PM |#3  
Purerawenergy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 1,153
 
More
Not sure if anyone's following this thread anymore, but I did some research on this subject and actually spoke to Tracfone and SafeLink reps. This remains untested as of yet but I'm about to commit and buy a device to switch my friends phone from the cheesy old school one they provide. Though grateful as she may be, it is a technologically inferior phone and it's at least worth a try, because devices with the following specs are very cheap.
1. The replacement device MUST BE A TRACFONE.
2. It must have the same size Sim card slot as the one they provided initially, hers is a MINI SIM, so I assume they ALL are.
3. It must be a GSM device as they only provide service specific to their SIM card.
4. It MUST BE A NON-ANDROID device.
So, when I find a gsm Tracfone that's non-android, has a Mini-Sim card slotand doesn't have a touch screen, I'll buy it, call SafeLink to have her service transferred to that device and let you know what happens. According to the reps touch screen devices may or may not work as transferring service doesn't happen everyday. Wish me luck.

Sent from my N9510
3rd February 2015, 06:43 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks for that. im just now seeing this response from you some how. but i am going to try it once i get another android phone.
THANKS AGAIN.
3rd February 2015, 06:48 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
any reason why it must be a non android device? that almost defeats the purpose..
4th February 2015, 10:04 PM |#6  
Purerawenergy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 1,153
 
More
I think they mean Android operating systems. So an older Windows or Samsung phone should work. I'm still looking through the ton of phones that are available and non-android before I commit to buying one. And am still searching databases on the subject just to make sure, but am about to move on it soon. Will post when I do and let you know if it works okay.

Tapatapped it.
26th June 2015, 05:38 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Edmonton. Alberta
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thumbs up SafeLink in Android
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameplayerdo2

hello. has anyone ever been able to get the sim from a SAFE-LINK OBAMA PHONE to work in an unlocked android phone?
my phone is unlocked and i think i should be able to use any gsm sim card in it. but when i put the safelink sim in, it says please put in a valid sim card or something like that.
any help, or answers for this..

Its funny you mention this, I have been using my SafeLink Simcard in an unlocked Android for some time now. Although I am unable to send or recieve MMS messages or access the internet (unless I'm on my wifi) its better than the simple phones they give you. I agree that it is worth checking out though, those phones while simple have excellent battery life.
The Following User Says Thank You to xHilltopCowboyx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2015, 06:01 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by xHilltopCowboyx

Its funny you mention this, I have been using my SafeLink Simcard in an unlocked Android for some time now. Although I am unable to send or recieve MMS messages or access the internet (unless I'm on my wifi) its better than the simple phones they give you. I agree that it is worth checking out though, those phones while simple have excellent battery life.

Can you tell me how you do this?
The Following User Says Thank You to l_e_g_s For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th July 2015, 01:14 AM |#9  
lagoboss's Avatar
Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by l_e_g_s

Can you tell me how you do this?

Did you verify this? If I get one, I'll test and report back.

Sent from my SM-N900 using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
obama phone, safe link, safelink, sim card, unlocked phone
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes