FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Galaxy S5 locked on Reactivation Lock?

1 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By rolozcar, Junior Member on 6th May 2014, 01:59 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello I bought my verizon galaxy s5 yesterday on craigslist knowing verizon phones now come factory unlocked and intended to use it with my T-mobile sim. When I tested the phone everything worked fine but later on when I got home I decided to factory reset it to clean it up and now I am stuck with a "reactivation locked" window asking me for the owners samsung id, I then tried contacting the seller and now he wont respond so I am stuck with it. I have now made research and know that its a security new method on verizon phones. Is there a way to fix/disable this? any input will be greatly appreciated, thanks.
 
 
6th May 2014, 06:17 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
verizon phones now come factory unlocked??

This is news to me.

Kies or Odin might allow you to install a new image.
6th May 2014, 06:39 PM |#3  
Dennisg34's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 661
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolozcar

Hello I bought my verizon galaxy s5 yesterday on craigslist knowing verizon phones now come factory unlocked and intended to use it with my T-mobile sim. When I tested the phone everything worked fine but later on when I got home I decided to factory reset it to clean it up and now I am stuck with a "reactivation locked" window asking me for the owners samsung id, I then tried contacting the seller and now he wont respond so I am stuck with it. I have now made research and know that its a security new method on verizon phones. Is there a way to fix/disable this? any input will be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Pretty sure you're screwed...it's an anti-theft security measure.

http://www.techtimes.com/articles/52...t-features.htm

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Free mobile app
6th May 2014, 10:49 PM |#4  
jcollier's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Woodlands, TX
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pego99

verizon phones now come factory unlocked??

This is news to me.

This has been the case with 4G phones. It is sim unlocked, as in you can use other carrier's sim cards, not with an unlocked bootloader in case that is what you were thinking.
7th May 2014, 12:07 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 280
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolozcar

Hello I bought my verizon galaxy s5 yesterday on craigslist knowing verizon phones now come factory unlocked and intended to use it with my T-mobile sim. When I tested the phone everything worked fine but later on when I got home I decided to factory reset it to clean it up and now I am stuck with a "reactivation locked" window asking me for the owners samsung id, I then tried contacting the seller and now he wont respond so I am stuck with it. I have now made research and know that its a security new method on verizon phones. Is there a way to fix/disable this? any input will be greatly appreciated, thanks.

You will have to get it from the seller.

It likely wasn't done maliciously nor may they remember even setting it.

IIRC when setting up the phone it is an option that you can enable. Chances are it may be a password they use for many things and my not want to divulge it?

Unfortunately you will have to get ahold of them as only they know the password.

The only other thing I can think of is flashing the ODIN tar. Not sure that this will reset it anyways as when you enable this option there is a message saying that Reactivation lock must be disabled before sending your phone in for service.
7th May 2014, 04:55 AM |#6  
deron37129's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Murfreesboro, TN
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
9/10 guy probly screwed u for a claim because that feature would have to been activated it wont activate on a reset as it would have asked for password prior to reset and the fact that its asking for the Samsung id is evidence to the fact

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Free mobile app
5th May 2015, 01:21 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolozcar

Hello I bought my verizon galaxy s5 yesterday on craigslist knowing verizon phones now come factory unlocked and intended to use it with my T-mobile sim. When I tested the phone everything worked fine but later on when I got home I decided to factory reset it to clean it up and now I am stuck with a "reactivation locked" window asking me for the owners samsung id, I then tried contacting the seller and now he wont respond so I am stuck with it. I have now made research and know that its a security new method on verizon phones. Is there a way to fix/disable this? any input will be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Try this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0&postcount=51
5th May 2015, 05:00 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 586
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by garsax

Try this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0&postcount=51

This is the second thread you've done this in. Stop finding year old dead threads and posting a link to the solution that was found a year ago. If you want to get your post count up, try posting something useful (like me) in a thread you can contribute to
The Following User Says Thank You to ldeveraux For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ldeveraux Ad-Free
18th August 2015, 10:47 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Red face Breakthough!!!! glitch found
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolozcar

Hello I bought my verizon galaxy s5 yesterday on craigslist knowing verizon phones now come factory unlocked and intended to use it with my T-mobile sim. When I tested the phone everything worked fine but later on when I got home I decided to factory reset it to clean it up and now I am stuck with a "reactivation locked" window asking me for the owners samsung id, I then tried contacting the seller and now he wont respond so I am stuck with it. I have now made research and know that its a security new method on verizon phones. Is there a way to fix/disable this? any input will be greatly appreciated, thanks.

I found a way to access the devices of my sm-g900v with the build OE1 with this problem. So the bug i found is not complete but, i know that someone could do something with this info. All you need is blue-tooth headset mines are the lg HBS750. First you have to call 911. turn the bluettooth on and Quickly disconnect the call... you should be on the searching for devices.. At this point you connect you headsets and connect to wifi.. and press the speak/call button on the headset. S-voice should pop-up and ask you to connect to wifi (if you didnt follow my directions) if you did, you should be able to open settings are any stock app... i tired to disable from the settings but, it keep re-checking itself. Maybe someone could find out use this access to disable the reactivation lock.
22nd June 2016, 01:10 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
have you find any solution to the reactivation lock?
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolozcar

Hello I bought my verizon galaxy s5 yesterday on craigslist knowing verizon phones now come factory unlocked and intended to use it with my T-mobile sim. When I tested the phone everything worked fine but later on when I got home I decided to factory reset it to clean it up and now I am stuck with a "reactivation locked" window asking me for the owners samsung id, I then tried contacting the seller and now he wont respond so I am stuck with it. I have now made research and know that its a security new method on verizon phones. Is there a way to fix/disable this? any input will be greatly appreciated, thanks.

if you find anything that WORKS, plz can you post it here, i have the same problem, I bought a G900V, later upgrade to PD1 android 6.0.1 and find the surprise
27th June 2016, 10:09 PM |#11  
GeTex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 774
 
Donate to Me
More
I've got some phones with a reactivation lock as well. I'll look into above. Any chance you could bring up adb? If so I can give you the adb input commands to force a hard reset via a bug, it may work and bypass reactivation lock as it is a full wipe, but no promises. Otherwise I have a theory for disabling it via a script that can be pushed via adb and executed. I need to see if I have time, cause it needs to be done

Thanks for getting me that far!!!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes