FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[Tutorial] Update YOUR Facebook Status (HTC Sense)

535 posts
Thanks Meter: 15
 
By Agent Zach, Senior Member on 26th April 2010, 07:35 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
NOTICE:: This thread is for HTC Sense 2.1 & 2.5 Users who use Facebook hourly/daily.

Well, I know quite a few of the Custom HTC Sense 2.5 ROM users have downloaded & installed the Facebook Tab for Sense [Found Here], and have noticed that, at this moment, it is not possible to update your OWN status with the Tab.

Edit: May 15, 2010: meltwater looks to be on the road to success with the Tab implementing a way to update your status... He hasn't released much information about it YET, but there is a brief explanation and a small Teaser Pic HERE. Looks like we may have a new replacement for the "via HTC Sense".


1.) Slide to your Contacts Tab
2.) Select "All People"
3.) If you haven't already, setup YOUR Contact Card [Named: "Me"]
4.) Be sure to Link your Facebook Profile, if you haven't yet.
5.) Once you have done so, go back to your Contact Card.
6.) Scroll ALL the way down to your Facebook Link, and tap it:


7.) Once you Tap it, you'll see the following screen:


8.) This is your "Status Update" screen.
9a.) For WVGA Resolutions, the "Share" button will be visible right there.
9b.) For VGA Resolutions, you'll notice the thin Gray Scroll bar on the FAR Right. Scroll down to see the "Share" button.
10.) Enter your Status Update into the Box, then click Share.
11.) Go to your Facebook Tab in Sense and tap "Update Now".

[BUG FOUND-VGA:: With some ROMs, in the Landscape view of the Status Update page, You may notice a glitch while trying to type.]
**I'm currently looking for a full solution {For Hardware Keyboard Users :: Touch Pro/Fuze, etc..}**

And there you go! Instant Facebook Status Update without the need of any Apps or a mobile browser.

Just for the record, I used the Forum Search function to see if something like this has been posted before, and the results of the search have influenced me to create this thread. Also, I wasn't sure how many people might actually know about this.. so.... yeah..

If this thread helped you, or you simply appreciate the Tutorial, please don't hesitate to say "Thanks!".

- Agent Zach
Last edited by Agent Zach; 15th May 2010 at 07:07 PM.
 
 
26th April 2010, 08:41 AM |#2  
orb3000's Avatar
XDA Portal Team / Retired Senior Moderator
Flag T r a v e l i n g Likes: HTC & XDA Dislikes: apples...
Thanks Meter: 3,055
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks for sharing!!
26th April 2010, 08:45 AM |#3  
barbapappa_86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Umeň
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
Would be nice with an app that simply directly goes to this in sense:



Ithink its to many "klicks" to get to the "uppdate youre facebook status". I get it to 4 klicks and one scroll down Not to smooth imo.
Last edited by barbapappa_86; 26th April 2010 at 08:48 AM.
26th April 2010, 11:12 PM |#4  
Agent Zach's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sterling, IL
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
I think Meltwater is planning on Re-Directing the "Your Profile" area of the Tab to this area, but, honestly, I can't speak for him, as I'm not 100% sure on WHAT he'll be doing.

And I understand it's not the easiest way to do it, but hey, it works without the use of of any Apps or a Mobile Browser. It's a good way for a Bare-bone Sense ROM.
27th April 2010, 04:10 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
wow. now i got another people who know about updating via htc sense.

coz weeks ago i posted a bug update failure via htc sense on cell pro v 8.2 rom n no body understand wat i am talking about. they told me to open via apps mobile web.

i am pleased somebody realised this n hope meltwater will be doing something really useful for updating status without have to do the several click n scrolling.

waiting for the result ^^
27th April 2010, 05:05 AM |#6  
Agent Zach's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sterling, IL
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Trust me, when Meltwater updates the Tab to do such a thing, I'll be sure to update this thread with the results.
27th April 2010, 11:32 AM |#7  
l3it3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for the quality post. HTC has a way of hiding these things until they're 100% ready for the 'limelight' so to speak. I'm sure that Sense 3.x will be a lot more friendly on the social side.
27th April 2010, 03:42 PM |#8  
Fuze1969A's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sunny Florida
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Tested this on my Tilt2 with Sergio's 76 rom and it worked. Funny the function was out there but never thought to try it. Thanks for letting us know, now I can bypass the app and use the facebook tab and the contacts.
27th April 2010, 03:45 PM |#9  
Agent Zach's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sterling, IL
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Yeah, I'm sure if & when they Update HTC Sense, it will rely upon Social Networking...

And not a problem m8. Bypassing the use of the Web & the App does save a bit of time. :P
27th April 2010, 04:36 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thank you! Never had noticed that
27th April 2010, 05:57 PM |#11  
awliyah's Avatar
Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thank you very much...really useful tutorial.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
facebook, htc, manila, sense, tab
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes