Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,079 Members 51,133 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Tutorial] Update YOUR Facebook Status (HTC Sense)

Tip us?
 
Agent Zach
Old
(Last edited by Agent Zach; 15th May 2010 at 07:07 PM.)
#1  
Agent Zach's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 535
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sterling, IL
Thumbs up [Tutorial] Update YOUR Facebook Status (HTC Sense)

NOTICE:: This thread is for HTC Sense 2.1 & 2.5 Users who use Facebook hourly/daily.

Well, I know quite a few of the Custom HTC Sense 2.5 ROM users have downloaded & installed the Facebook Tab for Sense [Found Here], and have noticed that, at this moment, it is not possible to update your OWN status with the Tab.

Edit: May 15, 2010: meltwater looks to be on the road to success with the Tab implementing a way to update your status... He hasn't released much information about it YET, but there is a brief explanation and a small Teaser Pic HERE. Looks like we may have a new replacement for the "via HTC Sense".


1.) Slide to your Contacts Tab
2.) Select "All People"
3.) If you haven't already, setup YOUR Contact Card [Named: "Me"]
4.) Be sure to Link your Facebook Profile, if you haven't yet.
5.) Once you have done so, go back to your Contact Card.
6.) Scroll ALL the way down to your Facebook Link, and tap it:


7.) Once you Tap it, you'll see the following screen:


8.) This is your "Status Update" screen.
9a.) For WVGA Resolutions, the "Share" button will be visible right there.
9b.) For VGA Resolutions, you'll notice the thin Gray Scroll bar on the FAR Right. Scroll down to see the "Share" button.
10.) Enter your Status Update into the Box, then click Share.
11.) Go to your Facebook Tab in Sense and tap "Update Now".

[BUG FOUND-VGA:: With some ROMs, in the Landscape view of the Status Update page, You may notice a glitch while trying to type.]
**I'm currently looking for a full solution {For Hardware Keyboard Users :: Touch Pro/Fuze, etc..}**

And there you go! Instant Facebook Status Update without the need of any Apps or a mobile browser.

Just for the record, I used the Forum Search function to see if something like this has been posted before, and the results of the search have influenced me to create this thread. Also, I wasn't sure how many people might actually know about this.. so.... yeah..

If this thread helped you, or you simply appreciate the Tutorial, please don't hesitate to say "Thanks!".

- Agent Zach

.
♦ Finally HOME! Mission Complete ♦

Moto Razr→Moto Q9c→HTC Touch Dual→HTC Fuze→HTC HD2→HTC HD7→HTC Titan→HTC Hero S→HTC Windows Phone 8x
 
orb3000
Old
#2  
orb3000's Avatar
XDA Portal Team / Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 3029
Posts: 22,275
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: T r a v e l i n g Likes: HTC & XDA Dislikes: apples...

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks for sharing!!
orb


HTC One M8 - HTC Butterfly S - HTC Universal

XDA is about developing and is for developers. Any user that recognizes that will gain the most benefit from this site


 
This is and always will be a site for developers, pure and simple. Without them we are nothing, without them there would be no reason for XDA Developers to exist; we should never ever forget that. Without them this place would not be called XDA-Developers but something else, e.g Mobile Phone User Support Services For Ungrateful Nerds.

Previous devices: HTC: Treo 650 - Excalibur - Diamond - Diamond 2 - Maple - HD2 - Rhodium - Desire Z - Desire HD - Vivid - Sensation - One V - One X - Titan II - One X+ - DNA - Butterfly
 
barbapappa_86
Old
(Last edited by barbapappa_86; 26th April 2010 at 08:48 AM.)
#3  
barbapappa_86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 1,370
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Umeň

 
DONATE TO ME
Would be nice with an app that simply directly goes to this in sense:



Ithink its to many "klicks" to get to the "uppdate youre facebook status". I get it to 4 klicks and one scroll down Not to smooth imo.
If you like my work, or helped you in some way. Please consider:

 
Agent Zach
Old
#4  
Agent Zach's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 535
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sterling, IL
I think Meltwater is planning on Re-Directing the "Your Profile" area of the Tab to this area, but, honestly, I can't speak for him, as I'm not 100% sure on WHAT he'll be doing.

And I understand it's not the easiest way to do it, but hey, it works without the use of of any Apps or a Mobile Browser. It's a good way for a Bare-bone Sense ROM.

.
♦ Finally HOME! Mission Complete ♦

Moto Razr→Moto Q9c→HTC Touch Dual→HTC Fuze→HTC HD2→HTC HD7→HTC Titan→HTC Hero S→HTC Windows Phone 8x
 
Henz77
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jan 2010
wow. now i got another people who know about updating via htc sense.

coz weeks ago i posted a bug update failure via htc sense on cell pro v 8.2 rom n no body understand wat i am talking about. they told me to open via apps mobile web.

i am pleased somebody realised this n hope meltwater will be doing something really useful for updating status without have to do the several click n scrolling.

waiting for the result ^^
 
Agent Zach
Old
#6  
Agent Zach's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 535
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sterling, IL
Trust me, when Meltwater updates the Tab to do such a thing, I'll be sure to update this thread with the results.

.
♦ Finally HOME! Mission Complete ♦

Moto Razr→Moto Q9c→HTC Touch Dual→HTC Fuze→HTC HD2→HTC HD7→HTC Titan→HTC Hero S→HTC Windows Phone 8x
 
l3it3r
Old
#7  
l3it3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 612
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Washington DC
Thanks for the quality post. HTC has a way of hiding these things until they're 100% ready for the 'limelight' so to speak. I'm sure that Sense 3.x will be a lot more friendly on the social side.
(SOLD)ATT 8525
(SOLD)T-Mobile G1
ATT Tilt (LOST!! )
(SOLD) ATT Fuze | NATF v5.6B ROM | Kinoma Play | SPB Mobile Shell 3.5 | 2 GB | ZAGG Fullbody

(SOLD) ATT Tilt II | EnergyROM "LEO" | 16GB | Kinoma Play | Android | Ubuntu
[CURRENT] iPhone 4 | JailBroken | Netflix | Hulu+ | etc
Use Google Voice and Google Sync for free text messaging!
SKIN KINOMA PLAY!!

Chris L. of Mobility Digest
 
Fuze1969A
Old
#8  
Fuze1969A's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 284
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sunny Florida
Tested this on my Tilt2 with Sergio's 76 rom and it worked. Funny the function was out there but never thought to try it. Thanks for letting us know, now I can bypass the app and use the facebook tab and the contacts.
Work Phone = AT$T Tilt2
ROM - NRG Sense 2.5 CHT Dinik Glass, 7/10
OS-23569
Radio - 4.49.25.91
MicroSD - 8G, Class 6

 
Agent Zach
Old
#9  
Agent Zach's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 535
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sterling, IL
Yeah, I'm sure if & when they Update HTC Sense, it will rely upon Social Networking...

And not a problem m8. Bypassing the use of the Web & the App does save a bit of time. :P

.
♦ Finally HOME! Mission Complete ♦

Moto Razr→Moto Q9c→HTC Touch Dual→HTC Fuze→HTC HD2→HTC HD7→HTC Titan→HTC Hero S→HTC Windows Phone 8x
 
sq1
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 28
Join Date: Dec 2006
Thank you! Never had noticed that

Tags
facebook, htc, manila, sense, tab
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...