FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Unable to start the camera.

109 posts
Thanks Meter: 14
 
By Icyman, Senior Member on 28th January 2014, 01:02 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
After replacing my cracked display on my DNA, I'm now getting this error.
I know it's hardware related but I don't know exactly where to look to find either a loose connection or which part to replace.
Has anyone successfully corrected this hardware issue or had this problem after a screen replacement?
 
 
28th January 2014, 01:32 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icyman

After replacing my cracked display on my DNA, I'm now getting this error.
I know it's hardw a r e related but I don't know exactly where to look to find either a loose connection or which part to replace.
Has anyone successfully corrected this hardware issue or had this problem after a screen replacement?


One of the motherboard flex cables ( the cable coming from the top assembly where the camera and power button are, attaches to each side of the main board) are not seated properly
Remove the screws and reseat them.
28th January 2014, 01:26 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Richmond
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by findinghomer

One of the motherboard flex cables ( the cable coming from the top assembly where the camera and power button are, attaches to each side of the main board) are not seated properly
Remove the screws and reseat them.

That's what I was thinking. Do you think it is the ribbon on the same side as the front facing camera?
31st January 2014, 10:57 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Richmond
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I pressed a little harder and the ribbon clicked into place. all good now.
29th October 2015, 06:42 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icyman

I pressed a little harder and the ribbon clicked into place. all good now.

hi,

can you exactly confirm from where i can press the same? i have the 100% same issue as you faced, i replaced my cracked display all okay except camera its giving error "unable to start the camera".
can you show me some guide or picture from where i can press it after open the handset?
i will really appreciate your cooperation.
26th April 2016, 02:27 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deshwani

hi,

can you exactly confirm from where i can press the same? i have the 100% same issue as you faced, i replaced my cracked display all okay except camera its giving error "unable to start the camera".
can you show me some guide or picture from where i can press it after open the handset?
i will really appreciate your cooperation.

I had taken mobo out to replace battery and afterwards camera was giving me same error message. I think it was the long black wire or one of the whiteboards on that side. I didn't have to take the motherboard out again just unscrewed one black tapelike connector, flipped the whiteboards (1 big 1 small), disconnected the long black wire and reseatted them all and it works now! I'm not sure which one did it but they were all on the volume rocker side of the phone.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
camera, dna, htc, screen replacement, unable to start

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes